#BlogTour: MIDNIGHT LIES (Detective Mariner #9 by Chris Collett #NEWRELEASE #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020 @crime_crow

Today I am sharing my review of MIDNIGHT LIES by Chris Collett as part of the Blog Tour.  This is book 9 in the bestselling Detective Mariner series and is a brilliant read.

MIDNIGHT LIES (Detective Mariner book 9)

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date – 21st February 2022
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Chris Collett

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

Discover an utterly addictive new crime mystery from a No. 1 bestselling author.

“Collett is a wonderful writer. Subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.” Yorkshire Post

Secrets, lies, bodies. Nothing stays buried forever . . .

It starts on an abandoned campsite in Norfolk.

Developers unearth a human skeleton. The remains of an eighteen-year-old girl.

Robina Scanlon — a blast from the past that shocks Detective Tom Mariner to his core.

First love. Last breath.

In the sweltering summer of 1976, the teenage Mariner fell for Robina instantly.

He thought she was the one who got away. Now he realizes she never even left.

She was murdered back at the campsite where they met, all those years ago.

Mariner drives to Norfolk, his head so full of ghosts he can barely think straight.

What happened to his holiday romance?

The mystery of her death becomes a dangerous obsession. Distracting him from a perplexing murder case on his home turf of Birmingham.

As midnight approaches, someone out there will do anything to keep the past buried . . .

A nail-bitingly tense crime mystery with a stunning climax that will keep you turning the pages into the midnight hour. Perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean, Caro Ramsay, Helen H. Durrant, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT MIDNIGHT LIES:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Five star mystery cleverly spread over 40 years. Great plot twist for starters! Very enjoyable read!” Paul

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A gripping story which kept me guessing until the end. Would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good thriller.” Barbara

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow! What a brilliant book, so many stories woven into it but not once was I confused with the characters. Very cleverly written.” Janet

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and think it was one of Chris’s best yet.” Carole

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.


My Review

Detective Mariner is back in this brilliant addition to the series.

This is a very intriguing complex book with 3 separate cases all running in tandem alongside several personal issues for Mariner.

The story begins with a tragic accident that sees Mariner being investigated.  When the remains of a missing girl from Mariner’s past are found Mariner takes some leave to go and help the team investigating and give the internal investigation time to run its course.

Meanwhile his team are investigating an unidentified body.  Vicki Jesson is in charge while Mariner is away but she also has personal problems to deal with.

A very gripping, adrenaline pumping read with so much going on and very few leads the intrigue starts at the beginning and ramps up all the way to the totally shocking ending.  The book ends on a cliffhanger that left me hoping the next book isn’t far away.

The author has brilliantly written the personal lives of the characters into the story while building the depth of the characters at the same time.  An absolutely brilliant read.  Definitely 5 stars from me.


CHRIS COLLETT

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). After leaving school she trained, in Liverpool, as a teacher for children with learning disabilities, including autism. Now a recently retired university lecturer, Chris is married with two grown up children and lives in Birmingham, UK on DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

BOOKS BY CHRIS COLLETT

DETECTIVE MARINER MYSTERY SERIES:

  • DEADLY LIES
  • INNOCENT LIES
  • KILLER LIES
  • BABY LIES
  • MARRIED LIES
  • BURIED LIES
  • MISSING LIES
  • DARKEST LIES
  • MIDNIGHT LIES
  • DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-3 BOX SET
  • DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-7 BOX SET

STANDALONE NOVELS:

  • THE TRUTH ABOUT MURDER

FOLLOW CHRIS ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS


I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.