#BlogTour: SADNESS ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly book 10) by Stewart Giles #DetectiveLiamO’Reilly #SadnessontheIsland #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @stewartgiles @booksnall2020

Today I am thrilled to be opening the Blog Tour for SADNESS ON THE ISLAND with my review of this brilliant book.  SADNESS ON THE ISLAND is book 10 in the brilliant Detective Liam O’Reilly series by Stewart Giles and is a gripping read that is perfect for anyone who likes Crime Fiction.

You can buy this from Amazon for just £1.99/$1.99.

SADNESS ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly book 10)

Format – Kindle
Publisher STILL Books
Publication Date – 29th June 2023
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

SADNESS ON THE ISLAND Detective Liam O’Reilly #10) by Stewart Giles

Detective Liam O’Reilly has reached a low point in his life.

The love of his life has just been diagnosed with a life-threatening illness and his daughter is about to move out of the apartment they’ve shared for the past year.

Even his cats are bringing him down, and he doesn’t think life can get much worse.

But then everything is suddenly put into perspective when news of a horrific incident comes in.

A man has arrived home to find his entire family slaughtered. His wife and children have been brutally murdered. The family dog has also been viciously attacked.

O’Reilly soon forgets his own woes and throws himself headlong into the case. His own sadness can wait.

But soon, O’Reilly realises things are rarely as they appear to be. Not all sadness is real. Sometimes there is something much deeper running beneath the surface, and as he gets closer to the truth, his own misery is forgotten when he comes face to face with an evil so dark, he starts to wonder if sadness is destined to be the norm from now on.

What readers are saying about Sadness on the Island
I was absolutely overcome by all the sadness and the references to cats, chess and cancer. I don’t want to give any spoilers, this is 5 star, the best in the series.’ – Carol
‘It’s a great plot, incredibly well crafted as ever with twists and turns and also the subplot of Liam’s personal life. It’s an unusual plot, one centred very cleverly around chess , the chess master vs the detective. Loved this, and wow! What an ending. Can’t wait for the next one!’ – Misfits Farm
‘Liam also has a couple of major personal issues he needs to come to terms with as well as being at war with his cats which brings a bit of humour into the story. I really enjoyed this and always look forward to a new book in the series.’ – Maureen

My Review

Detective Liam O’Reilly is back in another adrenaline pumping addition to the series.  The last book ended with O’Reilly and Victoria reeling from the results to tests that confirmed Victoria has cancer and that story is picked up and developed in the background to this story.

The story is very intriguing it has a bit of a locked room mystery going on and tragedy from many years ago rears its head to play its part in the story.  It begins with the murder of a mother and her 2 children it appears to be cut and dried but then things change.  As with all the books in this series I was guessing and changing my mind all the way through.  So many twists and turns to keep me gripped and turning page after page.

The characters continue to have something more to give as their personalities develop further and relationships and family dynamics evolve bringing interest to the story.

Got to love the endings this author writes I never know quite what is going to happen in the epilogue but it is always something I really wasn’t expecting.

An absolutely brilliant read, 5 stars from me.

Stewart Giles author bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow
Book 19 – The Bluesman
Book 20 – The Librarian
Book 21 – The Viaduct
Book 22 – The Twin

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island
Book 3 – Fear on the Island
Book 4 – Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island
Book 9 – Chaos on the Island
Book 10 – Sadness on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *