#BlogTour: THE EVIDENCE (Detective Helen Carter #2) by Jodie Lawrance #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020 @jodiecreates

Today I am closing down the Blog Tour for THE EVIDENCE by Jodie Lawrance with a review spot.

THE EVIDENCE (Detective Helen Carter #2)

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date – 5th August 2021
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Jodie Lawrance

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

SHE’S OUT OF UNIFORM BUT SHE’S STILL IN THE LINE OF FIRE.

Discover a thrilling new Scottish crime series starring Detective Helen Carter.

Detective Helen Carter is called to a crime scene: a barmaid, Tina French, has been strangled. Murdered on her way home from work to look after her sick son.

Meanwhile, Moira McKenzie leaves her lover’s townhouse and gets home to find her abusive husband, Reggie, washing blood from his hands. Later, in their garden shed, she finds incriminating photos, keepsakes and newspaper cuttings about old murder cases.

When the police are called to their home, they find a pool of blood and a shattered glass table, but no sign of Moira . . .

Helen knows what it’s like to be victimized. She’s still recovering from her last case and avoiding her fiancé’s calls. Now she needs to stop the person terrorizing the women of Edinburgh.

Fans of Ashes to AshesCaro Ramsay, Helen H. Durrant, J.D. Kirk, Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean, Val McDermid and Alex Gray will love this retro Scottish crime series set in the 1970s.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT JODIE LAWRANCE’S DEBUT NOVEL, THE UNIFORM:

“[Jodie Lawrance] is a writer to take note of right now. In terms of style and content it will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid and Christopher Brookmyre, but there is something else going on. With the action starting at a rapid pace from the off, and not letting up till the last page, you could read it as a straightforward crime novel and you will not be disappointed.” Scots Wae Hae magazine

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Such a great debut story. I loved it and can’t wait till the next one . . . Recommended for anyone who wants a new detective story to get into.” Michelle

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A promising start from an exciting new author. It’s a police procedural based in Scotland, set in the 1970s. Featuring newly promoted Detective Helen Carter, it’s well researched into attitudes towards women at that time. An addictive read, cleverly plotted. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.” Carol

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow! I devoured this book in literally one sitting. This was a fast-paced thriller. With amazing characters. I’m so excited to have another book to look forward to reading! I’m hoping it’s released sooner than later! Can’t wait!” Rubie

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “This is a good start to a new series and I am already looking forward to the next book in the series.” Barbara

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I thoroughly enjoyed The Uniform, which is a good start to a new series.” Elaine

MEET THE DETECTIVE
Detective Sergeant Helen Carter is used to getting a rough time of it at work. As one of the few women officers around, she has heard it all before: she’s only there as a box-ticking exercise, or she only got the job because of her father, who was a detective inspector. But she can handle it. She knows she can hold her own against any man on the force. The only thing she can’t handle, however, are the constant fights with her fiancé, Ted.

THE SETTING
Edinburgh CID in the 1970s is on the third-floor of the ugly, modern concrete lump that is the police station. On a sunny day, you can look right out to Arthur’s Seat. And on any day, you can see spotty-faced, bored teenagers coming and going from the local high school across the road. With its historic cobbled streets and fair share of deprivation, Edinburgh police are up against every type of criminal imaginable.

DETECTIVE HELEN CARTER SERIES
Book 1: THE UNIFORM
Book 2: THE EVIDENCE


My Review

This is book 2 in the Detective Helen Carter series but they do work well as stand alone.

This series is set in the 1970s when female Police Officers were underrated and had to work extra hard to make their views heard.  The time period is important when reading this book as you have to think back to what life was like back then in terms of forensic evidence, technology etc.

Helen is still recovering from the previous case and is fragile emotionally and physically and her relationship with Ted is over.  However, she is determined to continue to do her job to the best of her ability and deal with the demons in her head another time.

Other members of the team also have relationship problems and having this personal side brought into the story humanises the characters and adds depth to them.

Women are being killed for no apparent reason and there are few clues they are battered so badly and violently that even identifying the weapon is difficult.  The team have their work cut out trying to make progress and this becomes even more difficult when work and personal lives become entangled.

This was a gripping and interesting read with many twists and turns.  If you like detective stories you will love this series.


Author Profile

JODIE LAWRANCE

Jodie graduated from Manchester Metropolitan University in 2018 with an MA in Creative Writing. When not writing, she is also an actress and has appeared in a variety of television, stage and film.

She’s also a contributor for BBC The Social.

BOOKS BY JODIE LAWRANCE

DETECTIVE HELEN CARTER SERIES

  • THE UNIFORM

  • THE EVIDENCE

FOLLOW JODIE ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM


I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Reviewers who would like the opportunity to review advance copies: https://mailchi.mp/269c6ce3e0d7/stewart-giles-advance-readers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.