#BlogTour: INTO DEADLY STORMS (DS Sara Hirst #2) by Judi Daykin #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020 @norfolknovelist

Today I am thrilled to be sharing my review of this brilliant book as part of the Blog Tour

INTO DEADLY STORMS (Detective Sara Hirst #2)

Format – Kindle
Publisher – JOFFE BOOKS
Publication Date
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – 

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

Into Deadly Storms (Detective Sara Hirst #2)

DETECTIVE SARA HIRST RETURNS IN THIS CRACKLING, TWISTY THRILLER SET WITHIN THE MYSTERIOUS BEAUTY OF NORTH NORFOLK.

The half-naked body, wrapped tightly in an old groundsheet, is a bit too long to fit comfortably in the back seat of the car. But he manages to shove it in anyway. Too risky to dump in the sea. There’s a wood nearby. No one will be around right now. Won’t be found till morning.

Anyway, no one will care if the kid doesn’t show up to school. Not some little piece of scum like this . . .

A missing troubled teen.

A body in the woods.

Too many leads.

Detective Sara Hirst faces her toughest case yet in Into Deadly Storms.

Fans of Joy Ellis, J.M. Dalgliesh, Matt Brolly,Rachel Lynch and Angela Marsons, get ready for your next favourite detective.

READERS CAN’T GET ENOUGH OF JUDI DAYKIN:

“OMG, this was one of the best first books I have ever read.” Denise

“I loved this first book.” Greta

“A really good read.” Barbara

“Sara Hirst is a great character.” Nerys

“What an astonishing debut crime novel.” Hazel

THE DETECTIVE
In her mid-thirties, DS Sara Hirst has left a successful career in London’s Metropolitan Police Force and taken a new post in Norfolk Police’s Serious Crimes Unit. Unfortunately, her welcome on the team is far from warm, and Sara will have to work hard to prove herself when the discovery of a body on her first morning leads to all kinds of difficulties.

THE SETTING
A patchwork of tiny rural villages, with quaint coastal seaside resorts and peppered by farms, on a bewildering network of small back lanes. There are no motorways here, and sometimes it feels like your nearest neighbour lives in Holland.

Bounded on one side by the Norfolk Broads and the Wash on the other, its greatest feature is the boundless skies. The weather changes before your eyes. To many, it seems like a fairytale, a cherished memory of childhood holidays. In reality, these are small hard-working communities, where people tend to mind their own business, and it’s easy to keep a dark secret.

ALSO BY JUDI DAYKIN
DS SARA HIRST SERIES
Book 1: UNDER VIOLENT SKIES
Book 2: INTO DEADLY STORMS


My Review

This is book 2 in the Sara Hirst series and is even better than the first.

The body of a young man is found and Sara and her team  find this case is going to be far from easy beginning with the struggle to identify the body and then to find out what happened to him.

It seems everyone has a secret.

This is a gripping story with a lot going on.  Drugs and their devastating effect on lives, a drug lord with no conscience and caught up in the middle is a young man who just wants to help everyone.

Love the characters they are all different but Lisa London is uniqueness wrapped up in a very believable character.  The characters from the first book continue to grow and there are difficulties thrown in as when people turn out to be different than first thought.

All in all this was an absolutely stunning read that I couldn’t put down and I am looking forward to more from Judi.


Author Profile

JUDI DAYKIN

Yorkshire born, Judi has lived, worked and made theatre in Norfolk for the last forty years. She completed her MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) at the University of East Anglia (UEA), and her debut novel was shortlisted for the Little, Brown UEA writer’s prize in 2019.

‘I love the beautiful, vast skies and watery landscapes of Norfolk. Our home in a village on the north coast can feel wonderfully remote, even though the nearest town is only a few miles away. I can’t imagine living anywhere better than this.’

Judi is also a working actor, and has been known to twiddle the knobs on the sound desk for the variety shows at Cromer Pier. She runs her own theatre company, Broad Horizons, specialising in commissioning new plays recovering and retelling women’s stories.

BOOKS BY JUDI DAYKIN

UNDER VIOLENT SKIES

FOLLOW JUDI ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.