#BlogTour: MURDER IN PEMBROKESHIRE (Tyrone Swift #8) #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am thrilled to be sharing my review of this brilliant book as part of the Blog Tour

MURDER IN PEMBROKESHIRE 

Format – Kindle
Publisher – JOFFE BOOKS
Publication Date
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Gretta Mulrooney

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐”Will keep you guessing right up to the end.” Booklover Bev

Looking for your next unputdownable mystery? Meet Detective Tyrone Swift. He takes the cases that the police have given up on.

An isolated community.
No Wi-Fi, no phone signal.
No witnesses.

Detective Tyrone Swift is invited to stay with Afan Griffith, an old friend living in a small community in rural Wales. Cut off from the rest of the world, with no phone signal or Wi-Fi, something’s got Afan worried.

But when Swift arrives, Afan has disappeared. The next day, Swift discovers Afan’s body on a lonely stretch of the nearby coastal path — stabbed to death with a screwdriver.

Secrets run deep beneath the surface of this idyllic spot.

And someone will kill to keep them.

Can Tyrone uncover who murdered his friend? Or will the murderer strike again?

Murder in Pembrokeshire is a seamlessly crafted, twisty crime thriller that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

Perfect for fans of Tana French, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith, Ann Cleeves or Elly Griffiths.

What readers are saying about GRETTA MULROONEY

“An exceptional read.” Carole

“5 Stars — Brilliant.” Barbara

“A really page-turning book.” Viv

I really love this series. ” Hannelore

‘Mulrooney has a real gift for dialogue, the words and phrases ring true and make her characters wonderfully real . . . A tenderly funny and genuinely moving piece. I loved it.’ Fiona Morrow, Time Out, on Araby

‘A beautifully observed study of reconciliation, Araby makes astute points about conflict and shifting values between generations.’ James Eve, The Times, on Araby

THE DETECTIVE
Tyrone Swift is an ex-police detective who now works privately. He’s survived a stabbing and his fiancée running off with another man. Swift’s personal life is complicated, to say the least.

THE TYRONE SWIFT DETECTIVE SERIES
BOOK 1: THE LADY VANISHED
BOOK 2: BLOOD SECRETS
BOOK 3: TWO LOVERS, SIX DEATHS
BOOK 4: WATCHING YOU
BOOK 5: LOW LAKE
BOOK 6: YOUR LAST LIE
BOOK 7: HER LOST SISTER
BOOK 8: MURDER IN PEMBROKESHIRE


My Review

I was looking forward to a gripping session with Ty and I wasn’t disappointed.  I do love this series.

Ty sets off on a trip to Pembrokeshire to catch up with Afan, a good friend from his past.  However, his enjoyment is marred when he arrives and Afan seems to have disappeared.

Afan is living in a remote community that aims to be self sufficient growing their own food and making goods for resale.  Remote in every sense of the word, no mobile signal or broadband.

With no sign of Afan Ty sets off for a walk to find an area with mobile signal but finds much more than that, the body of his friend.  As the police arrive he finds an injured detective with a broken arm and sprained ankle with a very ineffectual constable to ‘help’.

All the clues point to one of the community being the murderer but who and why?  Ty buckles down coping with cold showers and a journey to make a phone call as he tries to uncover the events that led to his friend’s death.

There are many secrets to uncover within this strange group of people but are any of them relevant to the murder?

I loved reading this book the investigation was intriguing and had me guessing all the way through.  I loved how Gretta built in descriptions of the area and the people so that I could envisage the scene and character but without including big chunks of descriptive text.

A stunning read that had me guessing all the way through – well worth the 5 stars.


Author Profile

GRETTA MULROONEY

Gretta Mulrooney was born in London of Irish parents and did an English degree in Derry. She has been published for over twenty-five years; children’s books, short stories, literary fiction which won critical acclaim and crime fiction. She has also written for the BBC and Radio Four.

Gretta has always been an avid reader of crime fiction and decided, in retirement, to turn to crime. She has written seven novels featuring a London based private detective, Tyrone Swift: She has also started a new police-based series featuring DI Siv Drummond, set in the fictional Sussex town of Berminster.

BOOKS BY GRETTA MULROONEY

THE TYRONE SWIFT DETECTIVE SERIES:

  • THE LADY VANISHED
  • BLOOD SECRETS
  • TWO LOVERS, SIX DEATHS
  • WATCHING YOU
  • LOW LAKE
  • YOUR LAST LIE
  • HER LOST SISTER
  • THE COMPLETE TYRONE SWIFT MYSTERY BOX SET

DETECTIVE INSPECTOR SIV DRUMMOND

  • THESE LITTLE LIES
  • NEVER CAME HOME

STANDALONE NOVELS:

  • OUT OF THE BLUE
  • LOST CHILD
  • COMING OF AGE

FOLLOW GRETTA ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.