Book Tour Wrap Up – THEY DISAPPEARED (Detectives Jackman and Evans #7) by Joy Ellis #crime Fiction #detective #netgalley @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Joy, Joffe Books and I would like to say a massive THANK YOU to all the wonderful reviewers who helped with the Blog Tour for THEY DISAPPEARED you are all awesome xx

What the reviewers thought

The Word is Out This story has a host of brilliant characters that the reader can warm to immediately, such as pathologist Professor Rory Wilkinson, assistant Spike and his new recruit “Cardiff” Erin. I love the humour and the great feeling of camaraderie within the team of detectives, and makes the story all the more enjoyable. The plot is clever and superbly delivered, the characters wonderfully described, and the scenery and setting of these books is perfect. This series just gets better and better! 5*

Herding Cats  Ellis has written a fast paced and thrilling crime novel that kept me rivetted until the end.

Ginger Book Geek In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘They Disappeared’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Joy’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board has to be 5* out of 5*.‘Linda Strong Book Reviews As with all the books in this series, this is well-written, with twists and turns that rival a roller coaster ride. The suspense starts on the very first page and doesn’t let up until the last sentence on the last page. I really enjoyed how the author brought in urban exploration of old buildings, in the middle of the night … added suspense on top of suspense.

Nicki’s book blog I love Joy’s books. There’s a very comforting feeling in settling down with one of them. An excellent very well thought out plot and characters you can’t help but take to. A mystery to keep the grey matter active and nothing untoward too grisly and ghastly (other than the odd murder!). A stunning read, I thoroughly enjoyed it- possibly the best of Joys books to date- and the rest are all 5*! Nicki’s book blog (nickibookblog.blogspot.com)

Beyond the Books I enjoyed finding out about Orlac and Evans as well. Joy has in this book decided it is time we have some more back story and I think this adds to the series as I can empathise more with these characters I have read about in seven books. As always, a cracking read and one, as I say, that keeps getting better as she goes.

Loopy Laura There is a naturalness to the characters which draws in the reader as we feel an affinity with them. I was a little disappointed that pathologist Rory didn’t shine as prominently as previous books. This time it was Orac who held centre stage as we discover more about her astonishing past, both personal and professional.

Bookish Jottings Cancel your plans and bolt your doors because Joy Ellis’ They Disappeared is a spine-chilling and heart-pounding thriller that is absolutely impossible to put down. Dark, tense and twisted, this terrifying page-turner continues to cement Joy Ellis’ standing as one of crime fiction’s most talented and most ingenious writers who keeps her readers on the edge of their seats and turning the pages late into the night way past their bedtime.

Turn The Page Blog
Nicki`s Life Of Crime
What Emma Did Next
Sue Wallace Site


THEY DISAPPEARED (Detectives Jackman and Evans #7)

Format – Kindle
Publisher – JOFFE BOOKS
Publication Date – 28th November 2020
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Joy Ellis

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

FROM #1 BEST-SELLING AUTHOR JOY ELLIS, A TOTALLY ABSORBING CRIME THRILLER FULL OF STUNNING TWISTS AND TURNS.

Discover the author who’s sold over two million books globally.

THE MOST GRIPPING CRIME THRILLER OF 2020 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
“It’s a non-stop page turner.”
“Brilliantly exciting, nail-biting read.”
“I didn’t see the end coming.”

Detectives Rowan Jackman and Marie Evans are told that their IT boss has disappeared. They soon suspect foul play. Orla Cracken, known as Orac, is no ordinary techie; she was once a field agent traveling abroad undercover, working for the government.

Meanwhile DC Robbie Melton discovers that two people, both urban explorers, have mysteriously disappeared while out exploring abandoned buildings. One went missing at a disused airfield, but was it a military base, or was it civilian?

The gruesome discovery of their decaying bodies found hanging in ancient church ruins bursts the case wide open, and Jackman and Evans are under pressure to find the killer.

It soon becomes clear that the murderer is targeting urban explorers, but why is he determined to track down and torture these innocent people, and how is the case connected to Orac’s mysterious past, still shrouded in secrecy?

THE LATEST CRIME THRILLER BY JOY ELLIS, SET IN THE LINCOLNSHIRE FENS, WILL KEEP YOU GUESSING — AND YOUR PULSE RACING — UNTIL THE VERY END.

What readers are saying about Joy Ellis

“Another breathtaking thriller from Joy.” Carole

Great read from start to finish.” Nerys

“Just a wonderful enjoyable read.” Nicki

“A hugely compelling police procedural, with twists and turns that raise tension and suspense.” Paromjit

“All the twists and turns kept me reading.” Viv

“Another great book from Ms Ellis.” Barbara

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE DETECTIVES
DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS
JACKMAN & EVANS
Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON
Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND
Book 4: THE GUILTY ONES
Book 5: THE STOLEN BOYS
Book 6: THE PATIENT MAN
Book 7: THEY DISAPPEARED

THE BEST-SELLING NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS
Book 8: THIEVES ON THE FENS
Book 9: FIRE ON THE FENS
Book 10: DARKNESS ON THE FENS
Book 11: HIDDEN ON THE FENS

DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD
Book 1: BEWARE THE PAST
Book 2: FIVE BLOODY HEARTS
Book 3: THE DYING LIGHT

STANDALONES
GUIDE STAR


My Review

I am always ready to smile when a Joy Ellis book is released as I am guaranteed a good read and I wasn’t disappointed with this one.

Now the books do work well as stand alone but you will enjoy this book more if you have read the earlier books to understand the hell Alistair Ashcroft put the team through.  However, you will really enjoy this book either way.

Strangely, I had never heard of Urbexing (or decay photography) before reading Guide Star (which is another Joy Ellis book) so I was very excited to realise that characters from that book were making an appearance.

Urbexers are disappearing and Stella turns to her old partner, Robbie to help.  The problem is the deaths are not in Jackman’s area so his hands are pretty tied.  However, it is fairly quiet at present so Jackman gives Robbie the go ahead to do some investigating.  Then another Urbexer disappears and this time it is on Jackman’s patch so the whole team are tasked with investigating.  Urbexers are harmless individuals who creep around derelict buildings taking photos and damaging nothing so why would someone abduct them?  And how does a person simply disappear?  This is the conundrum that faces the team and as we know Jackman’s team like nothing more than a tangled web to slowly untangle.

I love the way Jackman takes a back seat in this investigation with Robbie and Orac being more of the focus.  I also love the way Joy has described the ‘Bimbles’ with such skill that I could really envisage these places which really helped with the realism of the story.

A lot of intrigue, secrets from the past, military cover-ups, a hunt for a missing sister and so many more strands make up this very intriguing and gripping book that had me turning page after page all the way to the jaw-dropping ending.

Absolutely brilliant!


Author Bio

JOY ELLIS

UK #1 BEST SELLER WITH THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS, DARKNESS ON THE FENS, THE FOURTH FRIEND, BEWARE THE PAST, FIRE ON THE FENS, AND THE GUILTY ONES

OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, a highly decorated retired police officer, and our four barking mad Springer spaniels. If I do get any spare time, which is rare these days, my one relaxation is painting, especially using soft pastels. We have been here for twenty years now and although I’ll never be a true ‘Yeller Belly’, a native born to this county, I have adopted it as my own. I love the mists, the big skies and the endless waterways. All my books are set here on the Fens, and why not? The location is perfect for murder!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.