Book Tour – Lies on the Island (Detective Liam O’Reilly #2) by Stewart Giles #crimefiction #detective @stewartgiles @booksnall2020

Happy Publication day to Stewart Giles.  Today is the launch of LIES ON THE ISLAND the second book featuring the unique Irish detective: Liam O’Reilly.  This is a brilliant series set on Guernsey.

Lies on the Island (Detective Liam O’Reilly #2)

Format – Kindle
Publisher – STILL BOOKS
Publication Date – 15th December 2020
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

Lies on the Island: A Detective Liam O’Reilly mystery.
From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes the second book in the brilliant Detective Liam O’Reilly series.
Detective Liam O’Reilly is bored. Life on the peaceful island of Guernsey is quiet, but it’s too quiet for his liking. In the middle of an insurance fraud investigation he confides in his daughter and tells her he’d give anything for a juicy murder case to sink his teeth into.
‘Be careful what you wish for, Dad.”
Her words are still fresh in his mind when O’Reilly stumbles upon two dead bodies while investigating a fire at a container depot. The bodies have been burned beyond recognition and nobody seems to know how they ended up inside the container.
Soon it becomes very clear that something sinister is happening on the sleepy island and O’Reilly is thrown into the depths of lies and deception as he delves deeper into the lives of one particular family.
Everywhere he turns, he’s met with lies but O’Reilly is determined to find out the truth behind these gruesome murders even if by uncovering the lies means he’s putting his own life on the line.

Perfect for fans of Joy Ellis and LJ Ross.

What readers are saying about Lies on the Island
‘A great read and look forward to more from Liam and Assumpta in the future.’ – Diane
‘I loved this book it’s so good and gives you the run around of who is the killer right till the end.’ – Booklover Bev
‘The baffling mystery deepens as the serpentine plot travels through a maze of endless twists and turns and riveting, heart stopping suspense. Arriving at the answer to this mind-boggling conundrum would be nothing short of genius.’ – Eileen
‘The second instalment in the Liam O’Reilly series is even more gripping and fast-paced with interesting characters that are continuing to develop. The storyline is well thought out and pulls you in making it very hard to put down! Definitely recommend this series if you like crime thrillers’ –Kirsty
‘As always, absolutely loved it and I didn’t guess the ending! Stewart: I don’t know how you do it, consistently writing to the same high standard. Your stories never disappoint.’ – Carol

Blood on the Island
Lies on the Island
Book 0.5-Phobia
Book 1-Smith
Book 2-Boomerang
Book 3-Ladybird
Book 4-Occam’s Razor
Book 5-Harlequin
Book 6-Selene
Book 7-Horsemen
Book 8-Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl


The Divide

My Review

Liam O’Reilly is back so I settled down for another good read from the brilliant Stewart Giles.

Liam has moved to Guernsey from Ireland and persuaded his daughter to move there to be with him but he hadn’t reckoned on a stray cat sharing their new home. The love/hate relationship with the cat brings a humour and realism to the story.

Life is pretty slow after the last case and O’Reilly is wishing for something to happen.  Be careful what you wish for…..  Soon the bodies are stacking up and O’Reilly’s team is struggling to find suspects and clues.

A container is burned and 2 bodies are found among the charred remains who are they?  What were they doing in the container?  These are just the beginning of a list of questions requiring answers.

As secrets are uncovered the team is still struggling to find a motive and suspect and people are still dying.  Will this case beat O’reilly?

This is a brilliant story full of twists and turns and an ending I wasn’t expecting.

The characters continue to develop into complex but very human personalities and they fit perfectly with the story.

A very gripping read, well worth the 5 stars

Author bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.  Medusa is coming soon

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye was published in February 2020.


Twitter: @stewartgiles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *