BLOG TOUR WRAP UP – The Lying Game by Maxine Barry #romanticsuspense #TheLyingGame @joffebooks @Faith.Martin_nov

Thank you to all the awesome Bloggers, readers and reviewers who helped with the launch of THE LYING GAME.  Your help is very much appreciated.

What the bloggers thought

Beyond the Books

Maxine has definitely got me in suspense, the will they, won’t they and the intrigue of Oriana’s quest to find the murderer marry well together.

Sue Wallace Site

This was a very good read. I do like Faith Martin. Although this one she is using Maxine Barry. I liked some of the characters. I liked the story.

Bookish Jottings

Faith Martin is one of the best-loved writers of crime fiction and police procedurals writing today, but in The Lying Game – written under the pseudonym of Maxine Barry – she has penned a captivating romantic thriller rich in intrigue, passion, secrets, lies and passion.

Ginger Book Geek

Now something a little different for you.  I have been a huge fan of Faith Martin’s work for ages now,  She does writes cracking mystery stories.  What I hadn’t realised until relatively recently was that she writes romantic suspense novels, under the pen name of Maxine Berry.  ‘The Lying Game’ has recently been released by Joffe Books.


The Lying Game by Maxine Barry

Author – Maxine Barry

Publisher – Joffe Books romantic suspense and thrillers

Genre – Romantic Suspense

Publication Date – 31st March 2020

Available from AMAZON

Read more on GOODREADS

ROMANCE, JEALOUSY AND MURDER FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BEST-SELLING AUTHOR FAITH MARTIN, WRITING AS MAXINE BARRY

SHE SERVED HER TIME, NOW SHE WANTS TO FIND THE REAL KILLER

Oriana Foster spent thirteen years in prison for a murder she didn’t commit.

Now she’s out and returns to her home village in Oxfordshire. She has one goal: to find the real killer of Rollo Seton.

While inside, a mysterious benefactor has put £2 million in trust for her. She uses the money to buy the Manor House in Nether Dene, the tiny village she grew up in.

THE VILLAGE DOESN’T WANT HER BACK.

She hires Connor O’Dell, a good-looking bodyguard. He’s there in case things get rough. But it’s Lowell Seton, the younger brother of Rollo and the love of Oriana’s life, who quickly becomes the greatest danger . . . to her heart.

And when Connor falls for Mercedes Seton, Oriana’s former best friend, things threaten to totally fall apart.

THE REAL KILLER WILL STRIKE AGAIN TO PROTECT THEIR SECRETS

Don’t miss this gripping and enjoyable romantic suspense novel perfect for fans of Danielle Steele, Josephine Cox, Nora Roberts or Jackie Collins.

WHAT READERS SAY ABOUT TWO-MILLION-SELLING FAITH MARTIN WRITING AS MAXINE BARRY

Perfect romance and mystery!” M. Adlington

“A great read and a fast paced romantic adventure.” Laura T.

“An enjoyable book. Romance with a little intrigue too.” Alexandra

“Totally loved it.” Yona

“When you reach the end you will wish there was still more.” Reader


My Review

This is a romantic suspense by Maxine Barry (aka Faith Martin)

Oriana has been in prison for 13 years after being found guilty of a murder she didn’t commit.  The story begins with her being released and she begins her mission to find the real murderer.

It is rare that a genre fits a book perfectly but romantic suspense is the perfect fit for The Lying Game.  As Oriana employs a bodyguard, Connor, and begins her investigation the reader becomes gripped by the relationships, love, hate and revenge that all play a part in this book.

I liked Oriana from the start she could be embittered by her experience after all she was only 16 when she went to trial so she has lost her teenage years but she comes accross as a person who accepts the hand fate has dealt and regroups to pick up the pieces.  One of those pieces is a large amount of money left in trust for her by an unknown benefactor.  This unexpected windfall gives her the means to put her plan into action with nothing standing in the way.

Mercedes and Lowell are brother and sister and both were very good friends with Oriana until the fateful day that their brother Rollo was killed and Oriana charged with his murder.  Mercedes and Lowell have every reason to hate Oriana but when they come face to face with her they both realise they are now unconvinced of her guilt.

The story moves along and the relationships become entangled with Connor and Mercedes unable to deny the chemistry between them.  Lowell and Oriana the couple that should have been but never was and then there is Lowell’s girlfriend to add in to the mix.

A very intriguing pageturner.


Faith Martin author bio

Faith Martin was born in Oxford, and has spent all her life within twenty miles of the university city, even working at Somerville College for five years before turning to writing full-time. The author of the popular DI Hillary Greene novels, she also writes more classic-style ‘whodunits’ under the pen name Joyce Cato, but began her writing career as Maxine Barry, winning an award for penning romance novels! A popular writer for over 25 years, she has had nearly 50 novels published so far. Her hobbies include walking her now ageing dog, wildlife-watching, reading and (reluctantly) gardening.

Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100019047572005

Twitter: @faithmartin_nov

 

Leave a Reply