BLOG TOUR WRAP UP: Murder in the Meadow by Faith Martin

Faith, Joffe Books and myself would like to say a very big THANK YOU to all the wonderful #bloggers on the #blogtour for MURDER IN THE MEADOW you helped promote another book to the top of the Amazon ratings.  Thank you for all your help you are AWESOME!

Black Books Blog

With the main plot being the murder investigation I thought it was really well written and kept me guessing all the way through to the end as there are so many potential suspects, and very little to go on.  Through the story there are lots of little twists and red herrings to keep the reader on Hilary guessing and double guessing themselves with who the murderer is.  Read more here


Linda Strong’s Reviews

Angry husbands, jealous girlfriends, a disapproving family, there are plenty of people who wanted him dead. Greene will have to work hard to dig through the lies and secrets.  Read more here


Daisy White’s Wicked Words

A feel-good murder mystery series with some great descriptive writing, slick character portrayal, and not too much gore to keep you up all night.  Read more here


Donna’s Book Blog

The book is written at a steady pace and that was ideal for this story – I liked the introduction of the new DS to the series and look forward to seeing more interactions between her and Hillary in future books.  Read more here


Joanna Larum’s Reviews

I cannot find the superlatives to describe Faith Martin’s writing. I can only say, if you like crime/mystery stories, this is a book you shouldn’t miss. Faith Martin is a Queen of Crime.  Read more here


Ginger Book Geek

As with every other book by Faith Martin that I have read, I absolutely loved ‘Murder In The Meadow’.  The story hit the ground running and maintained pace throughout.  Read more here


On The Shelf Reviews

Hillary is still as feisty as ever. She’s still living on a canal boat but is now in a relationship with Mike Regis, a fellow officer in the Vice squad but her boss DCI Danvers also has an eye on her. Gemma Fordham makes an interesting addition to Hillary’s team, weirdly I like her even though she’s seems a bit dodgy.  Read more here


Books from Dusk till Dawn

This has certainly been my kind of read. A very entertaining murder mystery, with an extremely likable DI and the promise of a bubbling and festering secret that will erupt spectacularly probably in the next book.  Read more here


The Quiet Geordie

As is always the case, there is so much more to the book than the main case. This time, the secondary story focuses on the new Detective Sergeant, Gemma Fordham. She seems perfect, which makes Hillary suspicious as to why she wanted to be seconded specially to her team. She’s more used to training and difficult cases given to her.  Read more here


Mystery Thriller Week

If you haven’t started the DI Hillary Green series then you’re missing out. I always find it fascinating to peer into the point of view of protagonist Hillary. She investigates the mysterious death of a young Casanova who’s left by the river with red heart pinned to his chest. Who had the motivation to kill him? A former lover? A jealous one?  Read more here

 


 

MIM cover jpg.png

MURDER IN THE MEADOW by Faith Martin

Available from

Amazon UK  Amazon US   Amazon Australia   Amazon Canada

#hillarygreene #murderinthemeadow #netgalley @joffebooks #booksnall #5stars

Looking for a brilliant best-selling murder mystery with a feisty female detective?

Meet DI HILLARY GREENE, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch criminals.

Wayne Sutton is found dead by a stream in a beautiful meadow. His head has been bashed in and a red paper heart left on his body. The handsome young artist had a reputation as a ladies’ man.

DI Hillary Greene discovers that there were many wealthy married women buying his paintings and taking ‘private’ art lesson from him. It appears that several of them might have wanted him dead.

Hillary also has a new detective sergeant, Gemma Fordham. Seemingly efficient and pleasant, she harbours a secret agenda.

Can Hillary get to the bottom of a complex case involving jealousy, love, and cold-blooded murder?

This is a crime mystery full of well-observed characters, which will have you gripped from start to finish.

MURDER IN THE MEADOW is the seventh in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.
Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE LOCATION
The pretty iron stone village of Deddington. Not far from the market town of Banbury (noted for its famous Banbury Cross of the nursery rhyme “Ride a cock horse to Banbury Cross, to see a fine lady upon a white horse, with rings on her fingers and bells on her toes, she shall have music wherever she goes.”) It has an attractive and unusual church, antique shop and hotel, and several pubs known locally for their cuisine. Although not a tourist spot as such, it is a picturesque spot. Water meadows, such as the one where the body is found, are a feature of valleys in the area, and regularly flood in the winter time, adding nutrients to the soil, making them especially lovely in the spring and summer, when they can flower quite spectacularly.

THE DETECTIVES

DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, ‘Mellow’ Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence.

DCI Philip ‘Mellow’ Mallow
Mel appreciates Hillary’s first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn’t happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he’s determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BESIDE A NARROW STREAM.”

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES
BOOK 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
BOOK 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
BOOK 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
BOOK 4: MURDER IN THE VILLAGE
BOOK 5: MURDER IN THE FAMILY
BOOK 6: MURDER AT HOME
BOOK 7: MURDER IN THE MEADOW
Books 8-11 coming soon!


My Review

 


Author photoAuthor Bio

Faith Martin has been writing for over 25 years, in four genres and under four different pen names. She was born in Oxford and sets most of her crime novels within sight of the city of dreaming spires. A real nature lover and afficionado of the countryside, descriptions of wildlife and native flora often find their way into her manuscripts. Right now, JOFFE BOOKS are re-issuing the first eleven of the DI Hillary Greene novels in new updated editions! And the first of these, MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL. MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY, MURDER OF THE BRIDE, MURDER IN THE VILLAGE, MURDER IN THE FAMILY and MURDER AT HOME are available now. Books 8-11 coming soon!

Her romance novels, written under the name of Maxine Barry, are now available from Corazon Books. IMPOSTERS In PARADISE, and HEART OF FIRE are both out, and others will very quickly become available in the future.

Her first foray into writing ‘spooky’ crime, (and written under the pen name of Jessie Daniels) comes out in November 2017. THE LAVENDER LADY CASEFILE is published by Robert Hale, an imprint of Crowood Press.

As Joyce Cato, she writes more classically-inspired ‘proper’ whodunits. So if you like an amateur sleuth, plenty of clues and red herrings, plus a baffling murder mystery to solve, these are the books for you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s