#BlogTour: STONE COLD DEAD (Inspector Drake Book 11) by Stephen Puleston #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @stephenpuleston @booksnall2020

I am thrilled to be sharing my review of STONE COLD DEAD by Stephen Puleston as part of the Blog Tour.  Stone Cold Dead is book 11 in the brilliant Inspector Drake series and is a gripping read full of suspense and intrigue.

STONE COLD DEAD (Inspector Drake Book 11) by Stephen Puleston

Format – Kindle
Publisher – Puleston Publishing
Publication Date – 19th October 2023
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Stephen Puleston

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

A journalist’s brutal murder stuns a small community…But unravelling his life unearths surprises not even DI Drake could expect.

When a journalist is found pinned to a bowling green with croquet hoops, his head caved in, DI Drake and his team must unravel the man’s life.

The reporter was working on exposing the dark and sinister side of a cult led by a charismatic individual who Drake identifies as being their prime suspect. But the dead man’s private life isn’t what it appears to be and soon the detectives identify other persons of interest.

But who would want to murder the respected journalist? There are plenty of persons of interest with motive to kill the man and while Drake focuses on the cult and it’s leader another death forces a new approach.

When facing the startling truth Drake and his team are forced to protect the innocent no matter what the cost and the face a race against time to prevent more deaths.

Stone Cold Dead is the eleventh novel in the Inspector Drake crime series. Perfect for fans of JM Dalgiesh, JD Kirk, Damien Boyd, LJ Ross, Rachel McLean and Simon McCleave.

My Review

Another brilliant addition to the Inspector Drake Series.

Ian Drake is called to a murder scene, a body has been pinned to the ground with Croquet Hoops.  A very bizarre way to leave a body.  Initial investigations into the victim seem to indicate he was a likeable man with a very complicated life.  Obviously someone, somewhere disliked him enough to end his life.  But who?

It turns out to be a very complex case that has Drake and his team scratching their heads in the search for clues and reasons for the murder.  When another body is found it appears the murders are linked to either the Peel Foundation or a school.  Either way getting information proves to be very difficult.

Intrigue and suspense fills every page and the red herrings are many.  Certainly a book that keeps the reader gripped all the way through.

A brilliant read that is perfect for anyone who loves Crime Fiction.


Stephen Puleston was born in Holyhead/Caergybi, Ynys Môn, in Wales. After leaving university he trained and practised as a lawyer.

He is now a full time author presently writing two crime series. Both are based in Wales, a country rich in history and spectacular scenery.

The Inspector Ian Drake books involve a detective inspector based in North Wales, the area where he was born and raised, who faces his own demons while solving gruesome murders.

The Inspector John Marco series follows the adventures of John Marco an inspector based in Cardiff, the capital of Wales. He’s from a Welsh-Italian family catching the killers at large in the bustling city of Cardiff.
All the novels in the Inspector Drake and Marco series are available as audiobooks. All are narrated by experienced professional actors.

Stephen lives with his family in Ynys Môn/Anglesey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *