#BlogTour: CHAOS ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly book 9) by Stewart Giles #DetectiveLiamO’Reilly #ChaosontheIsland #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @stewartgiles @booksnall2020

Today I am thrilled to be sharing my review of CHAOS ON THE ISLAND as part of the Blog tour.  CHAOS ON THE ISLAND is book 9 in the brilliant Detective Liam O’Reilly series by Stewart Giles and is a gripping read that is perfect for anyone who likes Crime Fiction.

You can buy this from Amazon for just £1.99/$1.99.

CHAOS ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly book 9)

Format – Kindle
Publisher STILL Books
Publication Date – 27th January 2023
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS


If there’s one thing Detective Liam O’Reilly hates, it’s bombs.

The Irishman transferred to the peaceful island of Guernsey to escape that kind of thing.

So, when random explosions start taking the people on the island by surprise, O’Reilly wonders if moving to Guernsey was such a good idea.

It soon becomes clear that the bombs are a smokescreen for something else. Something more sinister is going on, and when a gang of masked men enter the equation, O’Reilly realises this has nothing to do with blowing things up.

A team of armed men, dubbed the Fab Four Robbers by the press, soon capture the hearts of the people of Guernsey, and chaos hits the island.

O’Reilly is facing the worst dilemma of his career.

Many residents of the island are championing these thugs.

This new breed of criminals disguised as John, Paul, George and Ringo are about to educate O’Reilly in the fine art of chaos.

What readers are saying about CHAOS ON THE ISLAND
‘An explosive ending and I very much look forward to the next in the series. Stunning’.- Misfits Farm

‘The plot is quite intricate, with a few moving parts and I like the way it comes together. This is a series I would recommend, and Chaos on the Island is a great addition.’ – Maureen

‘There are many twists and turns as the team find the answers may lay in cases from over a decade ago. The suspense ramps up all the way through and the ending – well that was one great big curve ball I didn’t see coming.’ – Reading Addict

My Review

Detective Liam O’Reilly is back in this gripping addition to the series.

Being Irish O’Reilly really doesn’t like bombs and a small peaceful Island like Guernsey is the last place he would expect a bomb to go off.  It is April 1st so everyone is sure it is a joke but they soon realise this is no joke and things are about to get a lot worse.

It soon becomes clear that the bombs are only the start as a gang of masked men start to create chaos on the Island.  To make matters worse they are regarded by the Islanders as some kind of robin hood type heroes.

What is going on?  Who are these ‘Fab Four’?  And more important what is their end game?

At the start the Fab Four make sure nobody is hurt but then people start dying and it becomes clear that someone is funding this Chaos but will the team be able to work out what their goal is before anyone else dies?

This is a very unusual and gripping story that had me turning page after page.  I can honestly say out of all the hundreds and hundreds of crime books I have read this story is one that will stay with me.  It is unique the characters are well drafted and fit the plot brilliantly it is a stunning read.

As the case begins to get to O’Reilly he finds his personal life is also becoming chaotic.  This adds to the intrigue and suspense.

All in all an absolutely brilliant read and well worth the 5 stars.

Stewart Giles author bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow
Book 19 – The Bluesman
Book 20 – The Librarian
Book 21 – The Viaduct
Book 22 – The Twin

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island
Book 3 – Fear on the Island
Book 4 – Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island
Book 9 – Chaos on the Island
Book 10 – Sadness on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *