BlogTour: ORPHANS OF WAR by Syliva Broady #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am closing the Blog Tour for ORPHANS OF WAR.  This is a brilliant historical fiction written by the talented Sylivia Broady.  I hope you enjoy reading my review.

ORPHANS OF WAR

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date – 14th November 2021
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Sylvia Broady

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

AN ABSOLUTELY HEARTBREAKING AND UPLIFTING WARTIME STORY OF HARDSHIP AND HOPE.

Kingston Upon Hull, 1941.

German bombs are raining down on the city. Racing to the nearest air-raid shelter, Charlotte hears an almighty explosion. Her mother’s haberdashery shop has taken a direct hit, reducing the shop to a pile of rubble — and killing her mother outright. Suddenly sixteen-year-old Charlotte is all alone in the world.

But then mysterious Aunt Hilda comes forward — an aunt Charlotte never knew she had — and offers her a home in the sleepy Yorkshire village of Mornington where she runs the local pub with her husband George.

Charlotte doesn’t mind helping out in the pub, but she can’t understand why her Aunt Hilda seems to resent her so. Nor why her mother never revealed she had a sister.

Everything changes when a group of French orphans are brought to live in the big house. Charlotte volunteers to help look after them — and finds a new purpose in life.

Then a band of Free French soldiers is billeted in the village, including a handsome young officer with the deepest brown eyes . . . But Emile has a tragedy in his past — and Charlotte must uncover both his and her own family’s secrets if they are to have a chance of happiness.

Fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court, Freda Lightfoot, Anna Jacobs, Rosie Clarke, Tania Crosse, Dominic Luke, Sheila Riley, Lizzie Lane and Catherine Cookson will devour this emotional wartime saga.

READERS LOVE ORPHANS OF WAR:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Truly heartbreaking, leaves a big lump in your throat . . . An excellent read.” Booklover Bev

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A rollercoaster of emotions . . . Really pulled at the heartstrings. Will appeal to readers who enjoy novels written by Catherine Cookson.” Mary

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A good storyteller. The characters are very realistic and their lives are believable.” Janet

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “An absolutely heartrending read but such a gripping one that I had to keep reading.” Books ‘n’ All Promotions


Review

This is a gripping book perfect for anyone who loves historical fiction.

It is 1941 Charlotte is living in Hull helping her mother with her haberdashery business when there is an air raid that destroys her home and business but more heartbreaking her beloved mother.  An Aunt she didn’t know existed comes to take her back to their home in a quiet Yorkshire village.  She soon realises she is just cheap labour working hard in the pub she befriends 3 old ladies who brighten her life.

A chance meeting with a lady in a pony and trap sees her volunteering to help with evacuated French children and she realises that this is where her heart lies.  When the love of her life, Emile, goes off to fight she throws herself into her work with the children.

This is very emotional as the reader is given an inside, detailed view of what life was like in those war years.  The traumatised orphans and injured soldiers are just a small part of the overall picture and this is an absolutely heart rending read but such a gripping one that I had to keep reading.

If you like historical fiction this is a must read it ticks so many boxes for me I absolutely loved reading it.


SYLVIA BROADY

Sylvia Broady was born in the city of Kingston upon Hull, a city full of diversities and history, as is the beautiful surrounding East Yorkshire and where her books are set. From early childhood, she became an avid reader and developed her passion for writing, graduating from short stories, serial, novellas and now novels. She is published in hardback, paperback, ebook, large print and audio. She has set stories in the 19th century and contemporary, and now she writes historical sagas set from 1930-1960. She loves to hear people’s stories of incidents, funny or sad that they remember and the feed-back from readers is invaluable, and her research is always ongoing. One of her favourite TV programmes is Long Lost Families.

When not writing, she welcomes visitors from all corners of the world to the Magnificent Beverley Minster, and sings in the choir of the Beverley Singers.

Family is important to her and she has a daughter and her family close by, and in Australia is her son and his family, so travelling is often on her agenda.

BOOKS BY SYLVIA BROADY:

STANDALONES:

  • ORPHANS OF WAR

FOLLOW SYLVIA ON:
TWITTER
FACEBOOK


I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

BlogTour: #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am

TITLE

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

 


Review

 


BIO


I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *