#BlogTour: THE SCARECROW (Detective Jason Smith #18) by Stewart Giles #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @StewartGiles @booksnall2020

Today I am closing down the Blog Tour for THE SCARECROW by Stewart Giles.  This is book 18 in the Detective Jason Smith series and is an adrenaline pumping read that keeps you on the edge of your seat all the way through.


Format – Kindle
Publisher – STILL Books
Publication Date – 29th July 2022
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

The Scarecrow (Detective Jason Smith #18) by Stewart Giles

How do you stop a psychopathic killer when they’re always one step ahead of you?

A new kind of murderer has caught the attention of the people of York. His attention is focused on the low-lifes and the bottom-feeders of society.

He calls himself The Scarecrow.

The citizens of York are calling him a hero – a killer ridding society of the undesirables, but Detective Jason Smith can’t accept this.

And when he finds himself first on the scene of this maniac’s first horrific murder, and sees for himself what this self-proclaimed deterrent to crime is capable of, he takes it upon himself to stop The Scarecrow at any cost.

But as the brutal murders continue, Smith finds himself wondering if this is a fight he can actually win.

The Scarecrow refuses to be stopped.

Is this the first killer Smith is unable to beat?

What readers are saying about The Scarecrow

Classic Stewart Giles, an engrossing fast paced murder mystery. This is no ordinary killer. We have a dead man dressed as a scarecrow and a fake police officer! The interesting saga/drama of Smith’s personal life continues. I enjoyed the vivid descriptions of the crime scenes. Read it in one sitting and loved it!. – Carol

Every riveting chapter keeps you on the edge of your seat. Intense turmoil develops as surprising information comes to light leading to a shocking conclusion. THE SCARECROW IS A MUST READ!.– Eileen

It is a very easy to read book with a few red herrings and I really enjoyed it. The characters are easy to like too and it is great to have a bit of the family life of Jason and Erica as well. Would recommend it. – Maureen


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island
Book 3 – Fear on the Island
Book 4 – Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests


An adrenaline pumping book that grabs the reader from the first page and doesn’t let go until the very end.  Just what I expect from Stewart Giles and an addition to the Detective Jason Smith series.

Smith and Whitton have taken in Lucy, the daughter of a friend who was murdered.  Now they are discussing making the situation permanent by adopting her when the phone rings.  As usual it is bad news, someone has died and once again Smith’s life is put on hold as he dedicates his time and effort into tracking down another psychopathic killer.  But this case is a difficult one and as the bodies stack up the team find they still have no clue who this vigilante murderer is.

Smith, in his desperation to move the case forwards, finds himself looking at everyone as though they are a suspect and that could be clouding his judgement.  Could this be the case that beats the brilliant DS Smith?

The characters created for the story bring their own personalities to the book while our old friends continue to develop.  Bridge appears to be growing up, albeit slowly but it is good to see he still maintains the cheeky persona we all love.  Although I don’t like Superintendent Smythe I have to confess I did miss the buffoon and his antics in this story but I am sure he will be back.

Overall another absolutely gripping read and I love the little teasers about Lucy, I am sure she will bring interest to the future books in this series.  I love how the books are getting a little darker as the series progresses bringing more intrigue and suspense to the stories.  Absolutely brilliant read – love it.


After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow with book 17 now available. In addition, I have a new series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey. The first 7 books in the Detective Liam O’Reilly series are now available. There are also 3 stand alone novels.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *