#BlogTour: TRICK OF THE NIGHT (Matt Ballard #5) by Joy Ellis #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am delighted to be kicking off the Blog Tour for TRICK OF THE NIGHT by Joy Ellis.  This is book 5 in the brilliant MATT BALLARD MYSTERIES series and is a brilliant read, I loved every page.

To celebrate the launch of this fantastic book there will be a Facebook Launch Party, Thursday 16th June 2022 18:30-20:30 GMT.  Everyone is welcome to attend just click the link: https://www.facebook.com/events/710624833417196

TRICK OF THE NIGHT

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date – 16th June 2022
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Joy Ellis

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

A GRIPPING NEW CRIME THRILLER FROM BESTSELLING AUTHOR AND BRITISH BOOK AWARDS CRIME & THRILLER OF THE YEAR NOMINEE JOY ELLIS.

From two-million-selling author Joy Ellis comes one of the most highly anticipated mysteries this year.

Matt and Liz may have retired from the police, but that doesn’t guarantee a quiet life.

A deserted building. A face in the window. A face that shouldn’t be there.

Photography student Toby Unsworth has found the perfect location for a night-time shoot. A cobbled street in the old part of Fenfleet. Later, when he looks at the images on his laptop, he thinks he sees a woman’s face in the window of an old, disused building. He asks his housemate Alex to come and take a look . . .

Two days later, Toby and Alex are dead. Carbon monoxide poisoning. An unfortunate accident. But Alex’s mother doesn’t believe it. She hires Matt and Liz to find out the truth.

Meanwhile, nine-year-old Simon is missing. He was staying with his Aunt Jessie in a cottage on the edge of the marsh. And his older sister Kellie is increasingly worried.

Matt and Liz’s investigations reveal that something very big and very dangerous has descended on the small market town of Fenfleet. And if they don’t get to the bottom of it, more deaths will follow.

DISCOVER A TOTALLY ENTHRALLING CRIME THRILLER.

This utterly gripping crime thriller is perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Peter May, J.D. Kirk, Angela Marsons, J.M. Dalgliesh, Elly Griffiths or Ann Cleeves.

READERS LOVE TRICK OF THE NIGHT:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A great read.” Terri H.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Simply the best.” Booklover Bev

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow! Joy Ellis supreme storyteller at her best!” Carol S.

“A strong mystery.” Louise G.

Suspense, intrigue, action, and great detective work!” Debbie B.

“A nail-biting and exciting novel.” Paromjit

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Highly addictive and couldn’t wait to finish it” Jane

THE SETTING
England’s rural fenland is a strange place, with its never-ending fields, winding tracks, and long straight droves (the old livestock routes) that lead to nowhere. The lonely lanes are flanked either side by deep drainage ditches and are, for a good part of the year, filled with tall, whispering reeds. Closer to the Wash, high seabanks form a barrier between river and marsh, and the richly fertile soil of the drained land. But when the mists come down, as they so often do, perspective is destroyed and all sense of direction lost, and then the fens become a rather frightening place of mystery and danger. Somewhere that you do not want to be at night.


Review

Another great addition to this series which is different to Joy Ellis’ other series’ : Nikki Galena & Jackman and Evans, but no less gripping for that.  The books work perfectly as stand alone.

Matt and Liz had to leave the Police service for health reasons after a very traumatic case and now run a Private Detective business.  But their friendships and contact with the Police Department continues.

In this book we see the pair trying to help David, a relative who has had lifetime dreams of joining the Police only to fail the exercise tests due to a childhood illness.  With his dreams in tatters can Liz and Matt help him find a new direction for his career?  I am hoping to find out more about David in future books.

The story is a complex one with several different stories that had me wondering if they all tied together and if so how.  But that said the book pulled me in right from the beginning and I was turning page after page and ‘just one more page…..’

The case for Matt and Liz is 2 young men studying at university, both talented photographers but found dead in their room from carbon monoxide poisoning.  A faulty boiler was to blame but was it?  Alex’ mother doesn’t think so and asks them to investigate.

All the stories that make up this very intriguing book have so much going on it makes for an absolutely stunning read one that is impossible to even start to guess what is going to happen.  Multiple red herrings and false leads, missing people, psychopaths and dotty old ladies.  This book has it all.  Add in the brilliantly developed characters and what you have is an absolutely stunning read that anyone who likes crime fiction will absolutely love.


JOY ELLIS

UK #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE JACKMAN & EVANS AND DI NIKKI GALENA SERIES; SHORTLISTED FOR BOOK OF THE YEAR FICTION: CRIME & THRILLER AT THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS 2021

OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD!

Joy grew up and lived in Kent, trained in floristry in Mayfair and ran her own highly successful floristry business in Weybridge for many years. In the mid-1990s, she followed her lifelong love of books, first as the manager of an independent bookshop in Leatherhead, Surrey, then as a writer. When she retired, Joy and her partner Jacqueline and their two spaniels settled in a village just outside Boston, captivated by the Lincolnshire Fens.

Joy’s happy home life is far removed from her storylines, however, and while she loves living in the misty Fens, the area provides a remote and eerie backdrop to her novels. Joy is also able to add the authenticity vital to any crime thriller by drawing on Jacqueline’s inside knowledge, to confirm procedures and the reality of tackling brutal crime and criminals in a modern police force.

BOOKS BY JOY ELLIS
THE BESTSELLING NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS
Book 8: THIEVES ON THE FENS
Book 9: FIRE ON THE FENS
Book 10: DARKNESS ON THE FENS
Book 11: HIDDEN ON THE FENS
Book 12: SECRETS ON THE FENS
Book 13: FEAR ON THE FENS

JACKMAN AND EVANS
Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON
Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND
Book 4: THE GUILTY ONES
Book 5: THE STOLEN BOYS
Book 6: THE PATIENT MAN
Book 7: THEY DISAPPEARED
Book 8: THE NIGHT THIEF

DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD
Book 1: BEWARE THE PAST
Book 2: FIVE BLOODY HEARTS
Book 3: THE DYING LIGHT
Book 4: MARSHLIGHT
Book 5: TRICK OF THE NIGHT

STANDALONES
GUIDE STAR


I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.