#BlogTour: MURDER NOW AND THEN (Hillary Greene #19) by Faith Martin #murdernowandthen #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am thrilled to be closing the Blog Tour for MURDER NOW AND THEN this is another brilliant addition to the extremely popular DETECTIVE HILLARY GREENE series by Faith Martin.

MURDER NOW AND THEN (Detective Hillary Greene #19)

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date – 23 September 2021
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Faith Martin

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

ONE OF THE WORLD’S FAVOURITE DETECTIVES RETURNS.

BRAND-NEW MYSTERY FROM THE TWO-MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR.

Former Detective Hillary Greene and her cold case team are taking a fresh look at the unsolved murder of Michael Beck, found bludgeoned over the head and dead in a river near his home in 2012.

Just twenty-two at the time, he’d recently finished a history degree and had his whole life ahead of him. Everyone said he was a pleasant sort of lad with a passion for the past, quietly living with his parents until he could afford a place of his own. But it quickly turned out that there were at least two people who might have wanted him dead.

The first, his recently-jilted girlfriend Mia de Salle, hadn’t taken the break-up well. The second, his former tutor Dr Timothy Durning, had been accused of sexual harassment by Michael. But the original team could find no forensic evidence linking either of their prime suspects to the crime, nor witnesses placing them in the area when Michael was killed.

Hillary, however, is determined to find fresh leads. But while she and her team get to work, in the city of Oxford two men from the city’s criminal underbelly have been viciously murdered in the last six months.

Are the recent murders and her own cold case linked? More than a decade later, has the same killer struck again? And if so, what’s the connection between the mild-mannered young man and the underworld criminals?

It’s up to Hillary to stop a killer getting away with murder — both now and then.

Perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, Agatha Christie, L.J. Ross, T.E. Kinsey, J.R. Ellis, Helen Cox, M.C. Beaton, or Clare Chase.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE BESTSELLING SERIES:

“So glad Hillary is back – absolutely loved the other books in the series and really enjoyed this one too.” Nerys

“Would give more than 5 stars if I could.” Barbara

“The plotting is perfect, as always, with plenty of twists and red herrings.” Amanda

“Once I started reading her newest cold case, I was once again hooked.” Renee

“I love Faith Martin and enjoy every book that I read from her, and this book definitely ranks high on my list.” Robin

THE DETECTIVE
DI Hillary Greene: An attractive, single woman just over fifty, Hillary Greene was a police officer of many years’ experience (earning the rank of DI) and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knew how the system worked, and was always fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. Forced to retire early through no fault of her own, she has now returned to the force as a civilian consultant on cold cases.

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES
Book 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
Book 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
Book 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
Book 4: MURDER IN THE VILLAGE
Book 5: MURDER IN THE FAMILY
Book 6: MURDER AT HOME
Book 7: MURDER IN THE MEADOW
Book 8: MURDER IN THE MANSION
Book 9: MURDER IN THE GARDEN
Book 10: MURDER BY FIRE
Book 11: MURDER AT WORK
Book 12: MURDER NEVER RETIRES
Book 13: MURDER OF A LOVER
Book 14: MURDER NEVER MISSES
Book 15: MURDER AT MIDNIGHT
Book 16: MURDER IN MIND
Book 17: HILLARY’S FINAL CASE
Book 18: HILLARY’S BACK!
Book 19: MURDER NOW AND THEN


My Review

Hillary Greene is back in this 18th book in the very popular series.  The books do work perfectly as stand alone.

Hillary Greene is a brilliant detective with a reputation for solving cases second to none.  She is now a civilian working cold cases using her skills to solve the cases that were unsolved years ago.

The case that is handed to Hillary is the murder of a young man a decade ago.  Michael was a likeable young man with no known enemies so the team have their work cut out trying to find a motive and leads to his killer.

As with all these books there are several things going on that keeps the reader interested and the adrenaline pumping.

There is a back story that involves Graham, and ex-soldier who has recently joined the team.  This brings a human element to the story.

The characters continue to develop and mature with characters from the past putting in an appearance.

All in all a very interesting book that I would recommend to anyone who likes crime fiction.


FAITH MARTIN

OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD AND 400 MILLION PAGES READ ON KINDLE UNLIMITED!

Faith Martin was born in Oxford, and has spent all her life within twenty miles of the university city, even working at Somerville College for six years before turning to writing full-time.

Faith has been writing for nearly 30 years under four different pen names and has had nearly 50 books published so far. She began writing romantic thrillers as Maxine Barry, which Joffe Books are in the process of re-releasing as brand new eBooks. Then she turned to crime, and as Joyce Cato wrote classic-style whodunits, since she’s always admired the golden-age crime novelists.  But it was when she created her fictional DI Hillary Greene, and began writing under the name of Faith Martin, that she finally began to become more widely known.  Her latest literary characters WPC Trudy Loveday, and city coroner, Dr Clement Ryder, take readers back to the 1960’s and the city of Oxford. Having lived within a few miles of the city of dreaming spires for all her life, both the city and the countryside/wildlife often feature in her novels. Although she has never lived on a narrow boat (unlike DI Hillary Greene!) the Oxford canal, the river Cherwell, and the flora and fauna of a farming landscape have always played a big part in her life – and often sneak their way onto the pages of her books.

Her hobbies include walking her now ageing dog, wildlife-watching, reading and (reluctantly) gardening.

BOOKS BY FAITH MARTIN

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES:

  • MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL

  • MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY

  • MURDER OF THE BRIDE

  • MURDER IN THE VILLAGE

  • MURDER IN THE FAMILY

  • MURDER AT HOME

  • MURDER IN THE MEADOW

  • MURDER IN THE MANSION

  • MURDER IN THE GARDEN

  • MURDER BY FIRE

  • MURDER AT WORK

  • MURDER NEVER RETIRES

  • MURDER OF A LOVER

  • MURDER NEVER MISSES

  • MURDER AT MIDNIGHT

  • MURDER IN MIND

  • HILLARY’S FINAL CASE

  • HILLARY’S BACK!

  • HILLARY GREENE BOX SET, BOOKS 1-3 BOX SET

  • HILLARY GREENE BOX SET, BOOKS 1-5 BOX SET

JENNY STARLING MYSTERY SERIES:

  • THE BIRTHDAY MYSTERY

  • THE WINTER MYSTERY

  • THE RIVERBOAT MYSTERY

  • THE CASTLE MYSTERY

  • THE OXFORD MYSTERY

  • THE TEATIME MYSTERY

  • THE COUNTRY INN MYSTERY

  • THE JENNY STARLING MYSTERIES BOOKS 1-4 BOX SET

MONICA NOBLE DETECTIVE SERIES:

  • THE VICARAGE MURDER

  • THE FLOWER SHOW MURDER

  • THE MANOR HOUSE MURDER

  • THE COMPLETE MONICA NOBLE MURDER MYSTERIES BOX SET

STANDALONE NOVELS:

  • THE LAVENDER LADY

BOOKS BY MAXINE BARRY

  • THE LYING GAME

  • AN OXFORD REVENGE

  • AN OXFORD SCANDAL

  • AN OXFORD ENEMY

  • AN OXFORD SECRET

  • AN OXFORD FRAUD

  • AN OXFORD TRIAL

  • AN OXFORD INHERITANCE

  • AN OXFORD SUSPECT

  • IMPOSTERS IN PARADISE

  • HEART OF FIRE

  • HIDDEN RAINBOWS

  • CARIBBEAN FLAME

  • ISLAND DAZE

  • AN OXFORD MYSTERY & ROMANTIC SUSPENSE FIVE-BOOK BOX SET

FOLLOW FAITH ON

FACEBOOK
TWITTER
GOODREADS

 


 

I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Reviewers who would like the opportunity to review advance copies: https://mailchi.mp/269c6ce3e0d7/stewart-giles-advance-readers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.