Blog Tour: Secrets on the Fens – #NikkiGalena #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Very excited that it is my turn on the Blog Tour for SECRETS ON THE FENS by the brilliant JOY ELLIS.  This is book 12 in the bestselling Nikki Galena series and is an absolutely stunning read, probably her best yet.

SECRETS ON THE FENS (NIKKI GALENA #12)

Format – Kindle
Publisher – JOFFE BOOKS
Publication Date – 18th February 2021
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Joy Ellis

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

FROM TWO-MILLION SELLING AUTHOR JOY ELLIS COMES ONE OF THE MOST EAGERLY AWAITED MYSTERIES THIS YEAR.

One moonlit night, the bodies of two young people are discovered lying entwined on a blanket in the woods. The young man is clutching a red rose. It appears to be a lovers’ suicide pact . . .

Until Detective Nikki Galena and DS Joseph Easter look more closely. Romeo and Juliet, as they decide to call them, were murdered somewhere else and brought to the woods. But why?

Then another young couple are found dead, again beautifully posed as lovers. And Nikki knows they have a twisted serial killer on their hands. Who are the next victims?

EVERYONE HAS SECRETS. BUT SOME PEOPLE WILL KILL TO KEEP THEM.

This totally gripping mystery is perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Peter May, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, JM Dalgliesh, Elly Griffiths or Ann Cleeves.

What readers are saying about JOY ELLIS

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Just wonderful to read.” Carole

Holds the reader’s attention from the first word to the last.” Nicki R.

“Compulsive reading, I loved it.” Viv

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Riveting tale from start to finish.” Lynne

“Absolutely engrossing.” Olga

“Brilliant book which kept me gripped from page 1.” Barbara

THE DETECTIVE
DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she’s seen a girl die in her arms and her own family destroyed. She’s tough on criminals but fiercely loyal to her team.

THE SETTING
The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen.


My Review

Joy Ellis just gets better and better and Nikki Galena is a series that just keeps giving so I was very excited to read this new addition to the series.

This book has a lot going on there are 2 stories running in tandem which makes it all the more gripping.  In addition there are stories around minor characters that bring added suspense to the stories.  Bent coppers, lies, mysteries and murder all add to the adrenaline pumping action and then a missing person, one very close to both Nikki and Joseph.  Can the team juggle all the goings on and find the clues that will lead to the cracking of the case?

I love all the characters in this series but most of all Nikki.  She comes accross as hard but inside is a heart of gold and there is nothing she wouldn’t do for the people she cares about and that includes the team.

The case is a hard one there are few clues and the murders are ‘arranged’ to confuse and they do that brilliantly.  Before the team can start to move forward with finding the murderer they must find out what they can about the victims who all seem to be living secret lives.  Brilliant story just brilliant.

And then in the background we have the case of the missing artist which is being investigated by Eve and Wendy and you can be sure to smile where this dynamic duo is concerned.

Laughter, tears, intrigue, suspense, secrets, evil and of course murder this book has it all and it is all wrapped up in an ending that will leave you gobsmacked.  Absolutely brilliant read.


JOY ELLIS

UK #1 BEST SELLER WITH THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS, DARKNESS ON THE FENS, THE FOURTH FRIEND, BEWARE THE PAST, FIRE ON THE FENS, AND THE GUILTY ONES

OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, a highly decorated retired police officer, and our four barking mad Springer spaniels. If I do get any spare time, which is rare these days, my one relaxation is painting, especially using soft pastels. We have been here for twenty years now and although I’ll never be a true ‘Yeller Belly’, a native born to this county, I have adopted it as my own. I love the mists, the big skies and the endless waterways. All my books are set here on the Fens, and why not? The location is perfect for murder!”

BOOKS BY JOY ELLIS

DI NIKKI GALENA SERIES:
CRIME ON THE FENS
SHADOW OVER THE FENS
HUNTED ON THE FENS
KILLER ON THE FENS
STALKER ON THE FENS
CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
BURIED ON THE FENS
THIEVES ON THE FENS
FIRE ON THE FENS
DARKNESS ON THE FENS
HIDDEN ON THE FENS
NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 1-3
NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 4-6
NIKKI GALENA BOX SET, BOOKS 7-9

JACKMAN & EVANS SERIES:

THE MURDERER’S SON
THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
FOURTH FRIEND
THE GUILTY ONES
THE STOLEN BOYS
THE PATIENT MAN

MATT BALLARD SERIES:
BEWARE THE PAST
FIVE BLOODY HEARTS

STANDALONE NOVELS:
GUIDE STAR

FIND JOY ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.