Blog Tour Wrap Up: BLOOD ON THE ISLAND (DI Liam O’Reilly #1) by Stewart Giles #crimefiction #newrelease #Bloodontheisland @stewartgiles

A massive THANK YOU  to all the bloggers, reviewers and readers who helped with the launch of BLOOD ON THE ISLAND you are all absolutely awesome and we cant thank you enough xx

What the reviewers thought:

Nicki’s book blog A good solid plot line and that something more about the characters to give them that well rounded feel. A brilliant highly entertaining read.

Linda Strong Book Reviews There’s lot of action, plenty of bad guys abound, and O’Reilly finds himself facing one of the most depraved killers he’s ever come across.

Donna’s Book Blog I was completely hooked by the story and it was a real page turner for me, I flew through the story and finished it the same devening I started the book – there was nothing stopping me from finishing this one,

Sue Wallace Site

The Word is Out  I absolutely loved this start to the new series and I hope to be reading more about O’Reilly and the rest of the team on Guernsey very soon. 5*

Beyond the Books The storyline is a solid one with all the suspense, twists and turns you expect when reading a thriller. Well done Stewart, I am going to love Liam too!

On The Shelf Reviews Blood on the island is written in Stewart Giles’ usual fast paced style featuring a whole plethora of flawed and fiendish characters.

Debbie Hipster I found this hugely engaging, new characters, new style plots, new locations, it’s fresh exciting and dramatic.

Ginger Book Geek For me, ‘Blood On The Island’ is a tightly plotted book, which hit the ground running and maintained a fairly fast pace throughout.  I was gripped by the story and on the edge of my seat throughout.

Black Books Blog The book is really well written as you would expect from Stewart and the suspense kept me hooked all the way through the book.

Blood on the Island (DI Liam O’Reilly mysteries Book 1) by Stewart Giles

Format: Kindle
Publisher – STILL Books
Publication Date – 30th June 2020
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Stewart Giles

Available from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

From # 1 bestselling author: Stewart Giles, comes a new detective series set on the idyllic island of Guernsey.
What deadly secrets does the peaceful island of Guernsey hold?
Detective Inspector Liam O’Reilly has recently transferred to the island of Guernsey from the Special Detective Unit in Dublin and in this first installment we see him hitting the ground running.

He has barely set foot on the island when the body of a man is washed up on the shore. There is no indication of where the man came from – his hands and teeth have been removed and he has a crude tattoo of a dragon on his back.

When another similarly mutilated body is found, O’Reilly and his new team realise they’re on the hunt for a deranged killer.

O’Reilly is getting closer to the truth when the case is suddenly taken away from him. The Guernsey Border Agency, headed up by the arrogant DCI Franklin Urban has their own ideas as to who is behind these brutal murders and argue that the jurisdiction is now theirs.

O’Reilly left Dublin behind but his past soon catches up with him in the form of a Belfast thug employed by a man O’Reilly owes money to. When O’Reilly’s daughter is threatened by these people he persuades her to join him on the island so he can keep an eye on her. Soon he’s faced with a choice – he can either do what these people tell him and risk everything he has, or he can defy them and spend the rest of his life looking over his shoulder.

Meanwhile, as DCI Urban and the Border Agency believe they’re getting closer to the truth, O’Reilly has his own theories and as these suspicions are proved correct he comes face to face with one of the most depraved killers he’s ever come across.

My Review

Detective Liam O’Reilly has escaped Dublin to begin a new life on Guernsey.  He arrives at the airport to find his luggage has gone missing, this doesn’t bode well for his ‘new start’.  He is met at the airport by DC Owen holding a board with his name on which is spelled incorrectly so he isn’t feeling very optimistic about his future.

Guernsey is a small peaceful island but if O’Reilly was expecting a nice cushy ride he is to be disappointed the dead bodies are there to meet him.  Trying to find his feet as he hits the ground running he could have really done without his murky deeds of the past following him.  Can O’Reilly break ties with the bad guys and move on?

The murder cases are intriguing and the inter-department fighting over who is in charge of the case brings a realistic hint of humour to the book.  Unidentifiable bodies with all the markings of drug lord killings would make it appear to be cut and dried but O’Reilly isn’t buying that theory and finding a way to keep hold of the case he continues chipping away at the clues.

I love Stewart’s books but this is a new series it took me a while to get to like the characters, especially O’Reilly but he grew on me so I found that as I reached the jaw dropping ending I was totally into the series and I am now looking forward to more.


Book 0.5-Phobia
Book 1-Smith
Book 2-Boomerang
Book 3-Ladybird
Book 4-Occam’s Razor
Book 5-Harlequin
Book 6-Selene
Book 7-Horsemen
Book 8-Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl (coming soon)

Medusa (coming soon)

The Divide

Blood on the Island


After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye will be published in February 2020.


Twitter: @stewartgiles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *