BLOG TOUR – Deadeye (Detective Jason Smith #12) by Stewart Giles #Deadeye #crimefiction #detective #bookstagram @stewartgiles

DEADEYE (Detective Jason Smith #12)  AMAZON GOODREADS

Author – Stewart Giles

Publisher – STILL Books

Genre – Crime Fiction

Publication Date – 29th February 2020

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series.

When a man is shot dead in a park not far from where Detective Jason Smith lives, Smith takes it personally.

The man was killed in a precise and cold manner.

Then, when another victim turns up – also killed with absolute precision, Smith realizes he’s on the trail of a killer who will stop at nothing.

Fighting against his team, Smith will have to dig harder than he’s ever dug before to stop the worst killer York has ever seen.

My Review

I am loving how Stewart Giles is keeping these books coming each one seems to be better than the previous one so I was expecting a fantastic read and I wasn’t disappointed.  Jason Smith a man who has had more bad luck than good.  He has lost so many people and still he picks himself up and carries on catching the bad guys.  Along with his team he has earned a reputation for solving every case and that reputation is well known up and down the country.  He does have his own way of doing things and while his methods are effective they do not always comply with the rules.  This brings humour to the stories making these books different in a very good way.

Smith made a massive mistake in the previous book and is now living with the consequences of his actions.  He is not a happy man but he has had a wake up call and is now determined to repair the damage.

I have to say something about Superintendent Smythe.  I don’t know how he got to be a superintendent the man is an idiot and is inclined to annoy his subordinates but Smith just has no time for the man but to make the situation worse the pair have totally different priorities.  Smith is all about cracking cases and Smythe is all about appearances and statistics.  Sparks are bound to fly and they often do but Smythe is here to stay.  So when Smith finds out that the new DI is Smythe’s nephew he is not a happy man.

So on to the story.  Smith is walking the dogs in the park when he hears screaming.  A man has been shot.  So another day off has been cancelled and it is back to work.  However, this is no ordinary case.  As the victims stack up the team are unable to find any link between them.  Someone appears to be randomly killing people with a long range rifle.  With no crime scene to reveal evidence and nothing to link the victims will this turn out to be the first case Smith is unable to crack?

Intrigue, suspense, revenge, betrayal, love, hate and war all come together in this fast paced, totally gripping page turner.  Another 5* winner for me.

At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.

DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures. However, he does get results.
I so enjoyed every single page. Well done again for an excellent read, these characters are starting to feel like friends to me, amazing, I loved reading them all and want more. – Booklover Bev
I thoroughly enjoyed it. An intelligent, compelling drama with hard hitting twist. – Carol
Intrigue, suspense, revenge, betrayal, love, hate and war all come together in this fast paced, totally gripping page turner. Another 5* winner for me. – I Love Books


Book 0.5-Phobia
Book 1-Smith
Book 2-Boomerang
Book 3-Ladybird
Book 4-Occam’s Razor
Book 5-Harlequin
Book 6-Selene
Book 7-Horsemen
Book 8-Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone


Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results. I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye will be published in February 2020.

Twitter: @stewartgiles

You may also like:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *