Copy of #BlogTourWrapUp: EVIL ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly #12) by Stewart Giles #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @stewartgiles @booksnall2020

Today I am closing the Blog Tour for THE LONER by Stewart Giles.  This is book 27 in the brilliant Detective Jason Smith series and is available from Amazon for £1.99/$1.99


Format – Kindle
Publisher – STILL BOOKS
Publication Date – 3Oth April 2024
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Jason Smith series.

Sometimes, it’s the quiet ones you need to be careful of.

Detective Jason Smith has always considered himself to be a bit of a loner. His colleagues would agree with him.
But Smith has no idea that another solitary soul is about to give him the worst nightmares of his life.
Another loner is killing people in York, and this one isn’t about to stop until he’s caught.

He kills indiscriminately, and he’s extremely good at it.

It’s going to take a loner to catch a loner, and Smith is the only man who can stop the worst serial killer York has ever seen.

What readers are saying about THE LONER:

It’s a bit gruesome in parts but completely gripping and unpredictable. I found the plot to be highly original and wonderfully thought out. Absolutely brilliant! – CAROL

I love Stewarts books as I know I will quickly get into the story and have a wonderfully entertaining read. It’s one you can settle down with and despite the subject matter feel comfortable and at home with. A thrilling roller coaster of a read I really didn’t want to end. A huge 5* – MISFITS FARM

Stewart Giles has a vivid imagination and the books he writes certainly keep me entertained. Highly recommended. – MAUREEN

Stewart Giles has done it again. Another absolutely unique story which had me hooked from the first chapter. – AMAZON REVIEWER

My Review

Stewart Giles has done it again.  Another absolutely unique story which had me hooked from the first chapter. THE LONER is book 27 in the Detective Jason Smith series but they work very well as stand alone.

A young woman planning to enjoy a few hours with a new man friend realises she has invited evil into her home a few seconds before she is brutally murdered.  The York detectives are soon on the scene but the killer has left no clues.  The victim appears to have no enemies and while the team are trying to work out the motive there is another murder.  It soon becomes clear that York has a serial killer at large the likes of which have never been seen.  This murderer is clever, plans meticulously and leaves no evidence behind.  Will this be the one that got away?

The book is set during the Covid pandemic and the author has used this to his advantage.  With lockdown looming the killer has a short time frame to carry out his evil plan and Smith and his team are in a race against time to catch him before more people die.  To add to his problems Smith’s adopted daughter, Lucy, is 5 months pregnant and Smith and Whitton need to step outside their comfort zone to do what is best for the whole family.

As always the characters are unique and well defined.  They bring their own interest to the story.  I loved how The Loner’s personality was the main thread in the story.  It made the whole story work so well.  PC Griffin is a new addition and I am looking forward to seeing where the clash between him and Smith will go in future books.

I have read all this series from the early days when Smith was a young impulsive detective with a lot to learn.  He has had a hard time growing up and still has a way to go but I really love the more mature Smith.  I also like how his family life integrates so perfectly with the books adding a softness to offset the darkness.

Another big hit for me.  Keep them coming.

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.


Twitter: @stewartgiles



Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow
Book 19 – The Bluesman
Book 20 – The Librarian
Book 21 – The Viaduct
Book 22 – The Twin
Book 23 – The Dogwalker
Book 24 – The Flytrap
Book 25 – The Electrician
Book 26 – The Cellar
Book 27 – The Loner
Book 28 – The Painter

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island
Book 3 – Fear on the Island
Book 4 – Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island
Book 9 – Chaos on the Island
Book 10 – Sadness on the Island
Book 11 – Danger on the Island
Book 12 – Evil on the Island
Book 13 – Fire on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *