#BlogTour: THE CELLAR (Detective Jason Smith #26) by Stewart Giles #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @stewartgiles @booksnall2020

Today I am thrilled to be kicking off the Blog Tour for THE CELLAR.  This is book 26 in the brilliant Detective Jason Smith series and is an absolutely stunning read that had me on the edge of my seat all the way through.


Format – Kindle
Publisher – STILL BOOKS
Publication Date – 31st December
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Jason Smith series.

Something nasty is happening in York.

When the bodies of three men are discovered in the cellar of a house it soon becomes clear that their deaths were not peaceful.

Detective Jason Smith is itching to get back to work after a case that almost killed him and he soon realises he’s dealing with something he’s never come across before.

With a global pandemic looming, nobody in the city is paying much attention to the homeless people who are mysteriously vanishing from the streets.

But Smith senses there is something more to this.

Something else is happening here, and he’s not wrong.

A horror, far worse than he imagined is happening in a dark place somewhere in his city and Smith is going to have to face his deepest fears to stop it.


As well as being a murder investigation I liked the thrill and drama of it being a live race against time to rescue three missing men and also liked the vivid descriptions of their captivity. – Carol S

There’s a plot line that hooks the reader from the start and characters that bring the whole thing to life so vividly. I’m in awe of Stewart. He’s a prolific author and each and every time, there is a cracking plot that has me totally engrossed and the adrenaline flowing.  – Misfits Farm

As the story unfolds and we approach the ending I was on the edge of my seat in shock as the truth was revealed. – Amazon reviewer


Detective Smith is back in another ‘edge of your seat’ thriller.  Wow what a brilliant read it was.

The bodies of three men are found in a Cellar in York.  Smith is still on sick leave but the team needs him to try to work out why the three men had been locked in and left to die.  BUT that is not the end of the deaths and Smith soon realises that evilness is walking the streets of York again.  Can he work out what is going on and stop it before more people die?  This one has the team struggling to work out a motive or even find a suspect.  A previous case has come back to haunt them and the clock is ticking before the next person dies.

As I expect from Stewart’s books this one grabs the reader from the very first page and doesn’t let go.  The story is gripping, adrenaline pumping and full of red herrings but also there are the personal lives of our favourite characters playing out in the background to add interest and soften what could be a very dark read.

As the story unfolds and we approach the ending I was on the edge of my seat in shock as the truth was revealed.

An absolutely brilliant read.  Definitely 5 stars from me.

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow
Book 19 – The Bluesman
Book 20 – The Librarian
Book 21 – The Viaduct
Book 22 – The Twin
Book 23 – The Dogwalker
Book 24 – The Flytrap
Book 25 – The Electrician
Book 26 – The Cellar

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island
Book 3 – Fear on the Island
Book 4 – Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island
Book 9 – Chaos on the Island
Book 10 – Sadness on the Island
Book 11 – Danger on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *