Blog Tour – THE DIVIDE by STEWART GILES: Some things are best left buried. #bookreview #horror @stewartgiles

My stop on the Blog Tour for THE DIVIDE a horror story by the brilliant Stewart Giles.  I am very pleased to be sharing my review of this brilliant book that will have you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last.

THE DIVIDE – some things are best left buried  AMAZON GOODREADS

Author – Stewart Giles

Publisher – STILL Books

Genre – Horror

Publication Date – 18th May 2020

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a macabre horror story that will linger in the mind long after the final page.

Five teenagers head into Dartmoor’s bleak National Park for a final adventure together before they all go their separate ways after the summer.

These lifelong friends have no idea what terrible secrets this place holds.

One by one they start to realise something is not quite right about this moor. Something is lurking there – some malevolent and ominously primeval force is buried deep beneath this ground waiting to emerge.

The locals know the truth about what lies beneath this land but the five friends are met with a sinister silence everywhere they turn.

Then the Divide is split in two.

What is unleashed is hell itself and the friends know they need to find a way out before it’s too late. Lured into an ancient forest that appears on no maps, the friends’ fight for survival begins.

But who is the little girl in the white dress? With her hideously disfigured face and transfixing voice, why has she suddenly taken a keen interest in these teenagers?

The Divide is the chilling tale of five friends’ fight for survival against an evil beyond comprehension.

My Review

This is a change of genre for Stewart Giles but I have read and loved all his other books so was looking forward to this one and I wasn’t disappointed.

Steve, Jack, Quinn. Hannah and Louise have been friends since primary school. They recently finished 6th form and set off on a final fling/adventure but the adventure would turn out to be something neither of them could have anticipated.

Arriving on Dartmoor they stop for a break and that turns out to be the worst decision either of them ever made.

The 5 are typical teenagers each with their own issues and dealing with events and situations that shaped them into the people they are.  They are a mix of personalities and agree and disagree on topics as we would expect.  We learn more about each of them as the story progresses.

This is a very interesting story the roots of which go back many years to the Druids and their rituals that resulted in a tragedy that would haunt an area of Dartmoor forever.  5 innocent young people would be drawn into this horror just by being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Horror is something I do read occasionally and I really enjoyed this book which is a unique story that grabs the reader’s interest from the beginning and doesn’t let go.

Another great read by one of my favourite authors.

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. This was followed by the sequel Mistress in 2019.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow and there are now 13 books including the introduction: Phobia. Book 12: Deadeye will be published in February 2020.


Twitter: @stewartgiles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *