BLOG TOUR – A Cold Dark Heart (Inspector Drake #8) by Stephen Puleston #crimefiction #mystery #bookstagram #bookreview @stephenpuleston #stayhome #staysafe #stopCovid-19

Today I am thrilled to be sharing my review of A COLD DARK HEART by Stephen Puleston.  This is book 8 in the Inspector Drake series and is a gripping read that is perfect for readers of Crime Fiction and Mystery.

A Cold Dark Heart (Inspector Drake #8)  AMAZON GOODREADS

Author – Stephen Puleston

Publisher – Stephen Puleston

Genre – Crime Fiction/Mystery

Publication Date – 20th March 2020

Drake’s most dangerous killer and shocking case yet…

Accident or murder…?

When eighty-nine-year-old Emyr Isaac is found dead in his home, Drake and his team initially suspect a burglary gone wrong.  Isaac was old, and his death was a tragedy, but it’s not a murder case…is it?

A grisly discovery…

Drake uncovers more suspicious deaths, all elderly victims, all seemingly innocent, but with one chilling connection.

A twisted killer…

If Drake’s suspicions are correct, they have a dangerous serial killer on the loose. Soon, the team realise that stopping this killer will require playing a dangerous game – how do you catch a murderer trusted by everyone?


My Review

This is Inspector Drake book 8 but they do work well as stand-alone.

Drake is feeling unsettled because he has a new Superintendent and he doesn’t like change it sets off his OCD which he struggles to keep under control at the best of times.  He is dragged from his bed to attend the home of an elderly man who has died.  It appears Isaac may have tackled a burglar.  Tragic accident or murder?  Drake is still unsure as he sets off to meet his new Super, Hobbs.

With Hobbs claiming the SIO position for himself Drake becomes more insecure but he buckles down to try to determine what actually happened to Issac but the deeper he delves the more sudden deaths of elderly patients are uncovered.

Drake is a very complex character he likes his routines and he doesn’t like change.  Drake’s life has to be spotlessly clean, tidy and very well organised.  I find him a little too finicky but that is just my personal opinion.

His team are all well thought out characters each with their own individuality and skills that put together make for an effective team.

The story will appeal to anyone who loves detective work as the reader is taken on an intricate journey to untangle the clues and follow leads along many dead ends before the list of suspects is narrowed down.

An enjoyable read.


Stephen Puleston – Author Bio

I write crime fiction based in Wales and about Wales. The rural landscape of north Wales provides the backdrop to the Inspector Drake novels. And Cardiff the capital of Wales provides the setting for the Inspector Marco novels set in a modern urban environment.

I love the novels of Raymond Chandler, Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, Henning Mankell, Val McDermid – the list could go on! And I enjoy watching detective series on the television the recent Hinterland series based near Aberystwyth in Wales was great. One of my favourites is the French series Spiral but The Bridge and Broadchurch and the Rebus series with Ken Stott and Kenneth Branagh in Wallander are great too.

I have been on writing courses at the Welsh Writers Centre in Llanystymdwy, North Wales tutored by Matt Whyman and Marcus Sedgwick as well as crime writing courses with Peter Robinson and Andrew Taylor at the Scottish Writers centre.

I was born in Anglesey an island off the north Wales coast and after leaving school in Holyhead I went to University in London before training as a solicitor/lawyer. I practised in a small family business doing criminal work in the magistrates and crown courts, divorce and family work.
I still live on Anglesey, North Wales near the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia.

LINKS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stephenpulestoncrimewriter/

Twitter: @stephenpuleston

Website: www.stephenpuleston.co.uk

Leave a Reply