Blog Tour – WRONG VICTIM (Detective Rachel King #3) by H. H. Durrant #crimefiction #policeprocedural #detective #netgalley #WrongVictim #bookreview #newrelease @joffebooks @hhdurrant

Today I am thrilled to be kicking off the Blog Tour for WRONG VICTIM with my #bookreview of this awesome addition to the Detective Rachel King series by one of my favourite authors: Helen H Durrant. Fast paced, full of twists and turns this is an absolutely gripping page-turner that is a must read for any crime fiction fans.

Wrong Victim

Author: Helen H Durrant Published by Joffe Books Publication Date: 5th December 2019 Genre: Crime Fiction Available from: AMAZON

A man is found dead in his bed, suffocated, covered in confetti and with his ring finger missing. Detective Rachel King informs his daughter and takes her to identify the body. But she’s never seen the man before in her life. WHAT IF YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW WHO THE KILLER REALLY WANTED TO MURDER? Then a second murder. This time a woman, Alison, also suffocated and with her finger severed and confetti strewn over her body. The team desperately search for a link before anyone else dies. Meanwhile, someone has been running a property scam, selling dream houses that will never be built. And the love of Rachel’s life has disappeared. Is he really the mastermind of a people-trafficking gang? Or does Rachel have enemies on her own team? A MYSTERY FULL OF STUNNING TWISTS AND WITH NO ONE RACHEL CAN TRUST.

My Review

This is book 3 in the brilliant Detective Rachel King series by Helen Durrant. A sick old man in a nursing home is found murdered with confetti sprinkled over him and his wedding finger missing.  Who would want to kill a man who is dying and what is the confetti all about?  These are just a few of the questions that Rachel King and her team need to find answers to but as they delve into the victim’s life they open Pandora’s box and are faced with shocks and more secrets than they ever expected. Rachel King is a character who grows on you.  She is in love with Jed but he lives on the wrong side of the law (or does he) so her feelings have to be kept locked inside.  She relies heavily on her partner Elwyn and as everyone seems to have secrets he is the only colleague she is able to trust.  In the previous book we saw her at loggerheads with Kenton, a detective from a nearby station.  This very rocky relationship is carried through to this book as Rachel is forced to work with him.  But can she trust him?  Who can she trust? Elwyn comes accross as the dependable type the voice of reason.  He is not easily ruffled and is a perfect character to offset Rachel’s lack of patience. Jonny takes a bigger role in the story as he develops his detective skills we see more of his gut instinct come to the fore as he gains the confidence to act on his hunches. The story is fast paced as I expect from Helen Durrant.  There are many twists and turns as we are taken on a journey through mistaken identity, corruption, drugs and revenge.  But knowing the why doesn’t mean the who will be revealed it is all a very tangled web that Rachel and her team have to untangle to find the right path to cracking the case.

What readers are saying about HELEN H. DURRANT

“I couldn’t put it down.” Barbara “This new series by Helen H. Durrant certainly has got off to a thrilling start.” Viv “If you want a book to get your teeth into, this is the one. A massive 5*” Greta “Another fast-paced murder mystery” Aileen “The writing wastop notch and the characters were very real.” Kat THE DETECTIVE DCI Rachel King. Thirty-nine year-old mother of two teenage daughters. Divorced from Alan. She lives in the Cheshire village of Poynton – about ten miles from central Manchester. She is good at her job, gets results but does make mistakes. One of them was getting involved with a budding villain in her teens. No one, family, friends or colleagues know anything about this. ALSO BY HELEN H. DURRANT RACHEL KING Book 1: Next Victim Book 2: Two Victims Book 3: Wrong Victim THE CALLADINE & BAYLISS MYSTERY SERIES Book 1: DEAD WRONG Book 2: DEAD SILENT Book 3: DEAD LIST Book 4: DEAD LOST Book 5: DEAD & BURIED Book 6: DEAD NASTY Book 7: DEAD JEALOUS Book 8: DEAD BAD Book 9: DEAD GUILTY THE DCI GRECO BOOKS Book 1: DARK MURDER Book 2: DARK HOUSES Book 3: DARK TRADE Book 4: DARK ANGEL MATT BRINDLE Book 1: HIS THIRD VICTIM Book 2: THE OTHER VICTIM

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *