HARLEQUIN (DS Jason Smith #5) by Stewart Giles

Harlequin (DS Jason Smith #5) 

Available from AMAZON UK  US   AU

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series.

The circus comes to town and children start to disappear.

Detective Sergeant Jason Smith is persuaded to return to work after three weeks of a marijuana induced haze. Forced to endure the leadership of a new DI, the fulsome Bryony Brownhill, Smith is faced with the most difficult investigation of his colourful career.

When the children who vanished are found murdered in various parts of the city, all clues lead to the circus grounds, but Smith and his team are met with a sinister silence everywhere they turn.

Smith digs deeper and discovers the cause of this silence; the chain of events that led up to the vile murders that have shattered the hearts of the people of York.
This is an edge-of-your-seat thriller with an ending that you won’t expect.

If you like Police Procedurals, then this is a series you won’t want to miss.


What the readers are saying

Black Books Blog

This book is a lot more intense than the previous ones as it involves the kidnapping and murder of children, and also what appears to be unrelated murders to start with, until Smith has investigated and finally found the link.  Read more here

Turn The Page Blog 

Another brilliant installment from DS Jason Smith! I absolutely love these books and cannot wait for the next one!  Read more here

Ginger Book Geek 

For me, ‘Harlequin’ is simply unputdownable.  Mind you that has been the case for me with all of the books of the DS Smith series so far.  The author’s writing style is such that you can’t help but be drawn into the story and Stewart reels you in like a fisherman would reel in a fish.  Read more here

Joanna Larum’s Reviews 

I love the Jason Smith books. Having read the series from the beginning, I feel as though I have travelled the writing journey along with the author and I feel proud of the quality of the novels he is producing. I’m also amazed at the twists and turns in the plot and feel so satisfied when it all comes together at the end. I would recommend to all lovers of police/crime fiction.  Read more here

Donna’s Book Blog 

I am really enjoying this series so couldn’t wait to start this one and I certainly wasn’t disappointed, I think it is probably the best book in the series so far. I was gripped right from the start and read the book the same day I started it.  Read more here

Linda Strong Book Reviews 

This is an action-packed page turner with some twists and turns along the way leading to a very surprising ending. Read more here

On the Shelf Reviews 

Like all the Smith books, there’s plenty of action packed into it’s pages and never a dull moment. This one stands out a little from the rest as I found it a little disturbing and after reading it, I’ll probably never look at clowns the same way again (a bit like when I watched IT earlier in the year).  Read more here


Creepy circus, jugglers, clowns and kids going missing. Sounds like my own nightmares in book form. A firm favourite this time, and better yet I’m off to York this month, so I’ll be wandering the town imagining the characters and locations Asni do so. Great one to get me in the Halloween mood. Creepy page turner.  Read more here

Book Worm 

York is a historic walled city in North Yorkshire, England.
At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.

DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things and that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures.

DS Thompson is of the same rank as Jason, but he doesn’t have the same support or success. He and Jason have a love/hate relationship which brings a bit of humour to the series. Thompson is old school and thinks his age should give him respect and privileges, but life doesn’t work that way for him.

DC Erica Witton is Jason’s preferred partner they work well together and share a bond. She isn’t always appreciated by Jason, but they care about each other and that brings a different dimension to the series.


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy

Book 1 – The Beekeeper
Book 2 – The Perfect Murder
Book 3 – The Backpacker

My thoughts


Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

After Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor Cornwall series. The Beekeeper hit the shelves and hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. The third in the series, The Backpacker I have self-published and is now available.


Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33
You can join the Stewart Giles reader club by completing this form https://mailchi.mp/a64f6de4c541/sgreadersclub


  1. Way cool! Einige sehr extrem gültige Punkte!
    Icch schätze Siie Penning Diese Artikel plus Resst der Webgseite sehr wirklich gut.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *