BLOG TOUR – MISSING LIES by Chris Collett @crime_crow @joffebooks #TeamJoffeBooks #crimefiction

A few days late, unfortunately, but I am sharing my review of the latest release in the DI Mariner series: MISSING LIES. As always Chris Collett has pulled out the stops and released another stunning novel.

Missing Lies (DI Tom Mariner book 7)

Available from Amazon UK   US   AU   CA

18-year-old Grace Clifton vanishes on her way home from work. Amazingly, not a single witness comes forward. But Detective Tom Mariner suspects that she ran away from her overbearing, rich father.

A PACKAGE ARRIVES AT THE POLICE STATION. IT CONTAINS GRACE’S CLOTHES, NEATLY FOLDED AND CLEANED.

Then another woman disappears. And a disturbing pattern begins to emerge.

WHO IS TAKING THEM?

Detective Mariner must track down a suspected serial killer in his toughest, and strangest, case yet, with a conclusion that will have you gasping.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the seventh book in the DI MARINER SERIES.

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7: Missing Lies


My Review

This is Book 7 in the DI Mariner series and I have read and loved every book. It does work very well as stand alone but I think you will probably want to read them all as they are very addictive.

Mariner is feeling a little out of sorts. His partner, Tony Knox has been seconded to a special operations project. Vicky Jesson is fairly knew and Charlie Glover is not really a colleague Mariner could confide in. That said, disjointed though the team may be, they all get along and look out for each other.

To add to Mariners problems he recently lost his girlfriend and ended up with guardianship of Jamie, her severely autistic brother. So with caring responsibilities to add to the stresses of his position he is pulled many ways and his new relationship with Suzy is suffering as a result.

When a young woman goes missing the initial thoughts are she had run away and with no body and no clues the team don’t really have much to go on. When more young women go missing the links are made and the race is on to find the abductor before he takes anyone else.

This is a real emotional roller coaster ride of a book with twists and turns all the way through and the people I had marked as possible bad guys – well I couldn’t have been more wrong. The characters still have more to reveal about themselves and continue to develop.

Another adrenaline pumping addition to a brilliant series. 5 Golden stars from me.

CHRIS COLLETT – AUTHOR BIO

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.
Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.
Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

LINKS
Website: http://www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477
Twitter: @crime_crow

2 comments

  1. hallo! Ich liebe sehr sehr! Prozent Kommunikation mehr über Ihree Post auf AOL?
    I erforderlich Experte über diese Bereich zu entwirren mein Problem.
    Vielleicht das ist Sie! Ein Blick vorr schauen Sie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.