BLOG TOUR – Occam’s Razor (DS Smith #4) by Stewart Giles #detective #policeprocedural #crimefiction @stewartgiles

I am thrilled that my birthday Blog Tour Post is for one of my favourite authors and for one of the best detective series’ I have read this year. Every book in the DS Smith series is better than the previous one and I highly recommend them to anyone who loves Crime Fiction. Occam’s Razor has that many twists and turns it makes you dizzy. An awesome read that kept me guessing right to the very end.

Occam’s Razor (DS Jason Smith #4) by Stewart Giles

Available from AMAZON

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series.

A football player is shot dead in front of a packed crowd of people.

DS Jason Smith is put in charge of the investigation. The murder weapon is found in a house across the road from the football ground. It is a rare Russian army issue sniper rifle. As the investigation hits dead end after dead end, two government agents arrive and take over, pushing Smith and his colleagues to the side. As more people die Smith quickly realises these agents are not who they claim to be. He is forced into the dark world of these phantoms and he finds himself at the mercy of his old nemesis; the man who kidnapped his sister years earlier..
This is a gripping thriller with twists and turns all the way to the stunning ending.

If you like Police Procedurals, then this is a series you won’t want to miss.

York is a historic walled city in North Yorkshire, England.
At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.

DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things and that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures.

DS Thompson is of the same rank as Jason, but he doesn’t have the same support or success. He and Jason have a love/hate relationship which brings a bit of humour to the series. Thompson is old school and thinks his age should give him respect and privileges, but life doesn’t work that way for him.
DC Erica Witton is Jason’s preferred partner they work well together and share a bond. She isn’t always appreciated by Jason, but they care about each other and that brings a different dimension to the series.

My Review

Well the awesome Stewart Giles has done it again! Another absolutely gripping page turner to add to the very addictive DS Smith series. This review is for the newly updated digital version.

A footballer is killed after saving a penalty. 38000 witnesses and no motive! The team is struggling until Smith returns to work.

This is a very twisty turny read as Smith deals with yet another tragedy in his life and his past comes back to haunt him.

Be careful who you trust is the message behind this story and all the way through I kept changing my mind and bouncing around suspects and thoughts only to find out how wrong I was. People are messing with Smith’s head and his life is in danger. It is a roller coaster ride through the dark twisted minds of some evil people and they are happy to use whoever they can to achieve their goal.

It is difficult to review this book without spoilers so all I can really say is clear some time buy the book and settle down for an awesome page-turner that you will never forget.

I am loving this series the books get better and better If you like a good detective read with a unique story line and even more unique, complex characters then this is definitely for you.

5 golden stars from me.

Also by Stewart Giles

DS Jason Smith Series

Phobia: 5 early DS Smith cases
Smith (DS Smith Book 1)
Boomerang (DS Smith Book 2)
Ladybird (DS Smith Book 3)
Occam’s Razor (DS Smith Book 4)
Harlequin (DS Smith Book 5)
Selene (DS Smith Book 6)
Horsemen (DS Smith Book 7)
Unworthy (DS Jason Smith Book 8)

DC Harriet Taylor Series

The Beekeeper (DC Harriet Taylor Book 1)
The Perfect Murder (DC Harriet Taylor Book 2)
The Backpacker (DC Harriet Taylor Book 3)

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

After Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper hit the shelves and hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. The third in the series, The Backpacker I have self-published and is now available.


Twitter: @stewartgiles

You can join the Stewart Giles reader club by completing this form

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *