BLOG TOUR – Ladybird (DS Smith #2) by Stewart Giles #detectivebook #policeprocedural #crimefiction #DSSmith @stewartgiles

Today it is my stop on the Blog Tour for LADYBIRD by Stewart Giles. This is book 3 in the very gripping DS Smith series. I absolutely love this series and very pleased to be helping with the relaunch of the digitally remastered version.

CoverLadybird (DS Jason Smith #3) by Stewart Giles

Ladybird (DS Jason Smith #3) by Stewart Giles

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series.

The Goul is arrested for Murder and Jason Smith is on sick leave.

Detective Sergeant Jason Smith is days away from the end of his sick leave after a case that almost cost him his life when he gets a call from an old friend. His friend has been arrested for the murder of a student. He wants Smith to investigate the murder and prove his innocence. Smith is persuaded return to work. The student was killed with a bread knife. Ladybirds were scattered on his dead body.

When another man is found dead with ladybirds on his body, Smith enlists the help of an insect doctor, the enigmatic DR Karen Wood, to try and understand the significance of the ladybirds. As Smith gets drawn closer to this mysterious woman and more and more men wind up dead with ladybirds on their bodies Smith quickly realises that Dr Wood is not who she seems to be.

Smith and his team unearth a terrible secret from twenty years earlier; somebody wants justice and, as more and more men die, Smith realises he is running out of time to find out who.
This is a fast-paced page-turner with twists and turns all the way to an ending you wont see coming.

If you like Police Procedurals, then this is a series you won’t want to miss.

York is a historic walled city in North Yorkshire, England.
At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.

DS Jason Smith is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things and that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures.
DS Thompson is of the same rank as Jason, but he doesn’t have the same support or success. He and Jason have a love/hate relationship which brings a bit of humour to the series. Thompson is old school and thinks his age should give him respect and privileges, but life doesn’t work that way for him.
DC Erica Witton is Jason’s preferred partner they work well together and share a bond. She isn’t always appreciated by Jason, but they care about each other and that brings a different dimension to the series.

What readers are saying about Ladybird:
‘This book was gripping from the first page to the last. The characters are all well written, believable and sympathetic.’ – Mrs Christine H Clark

‘Superb book left you guessing to the end.Sends you up so many alleys and you still can’t see the outcome.’ – Mike

‘A well paced story that will have you hooked very quickly and then drag you along for the ride in such a way as to not want to stop reading..’ – Hisboss

‘Another gripping book by this Author well written lots going on could not put this book down.’ – Kindle Customer

‘What a good book had you wandering all the time would read his books again I haven’t read his before.’ – Dora Gibbons

My Review

Ladybird is book 2 in the DS Smith series but they do work brilliantly as stand alone.

The story starts with The Goul, a pathologist, being accused of murder.  He begs Smith for help at a time when Jason is struggling through his grief at the death of his girlfriend, guilt and many other issues.  Will he put aside the bottle to help his old friend or walk away from everything?

I think everyone who has read the previous books will know the answer to that one.  Before Smith has chance to prove The Goul innocent another body is found.  Who is killing young men?

Now I have read books that are full of twists, turns and shockers. Lots of them.  But I can hold my hand up and say that I have never read anything like this one.  The unsub is a totally unique character and definitely throws into the abyss everything I thought I knew about serial killers.  There is plenty of evidence but nothing to match it to.  The ladybirds is an awesome idea and how Stewart thought that one up I really don’t know.

As the bodies stack up the team are running out of ideas and the red herrings and twists and turns are enough to make you dizzy.

The only possibility for the murderer doesn’t quite fit and that adds to the intrigue and suspense.

A totally gripping page-turner with complex characters that build well in depth throughout the story.  A brilliant read and well worth 5 stars.

I am now downloading Occam’s Razor.

SG Author photo (4)Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live. After Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later. 3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor Cornwall series. The Beekeeper hit the shelves and hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. The third in the series, The Backpacker I have self-published and is now available.

Twitter: @stewartgiles

You can join the Stewart Giles reader club by completing this form


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy

Book 1 – The Beekeeper
Book 2 – The Perfect Murder
Book 3 – The Backpacker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *