26/05/2017: His Kidnapper’s Shoes

 

His Kidnapper's ShoesHis Kidnapper’s Shoes by Maggie James

Amazon.com Amazon.co.uk

About the Book

Daniel is my son. He has always been mine. And he always will be.

On some level deep inside, Laura Bateman knows something is wrong. That her relationship with her son is not what it should be. That it is based on lies.

But bad things have happened to Laura. Things that change a person. Forever.

For twenty-six-year-old Daniel, the discovery that his mother is not who he thought comes close to destroying him. As his world turns upside down, he searches for sanity in the madness that has become his life. Daniel is left with nothing but questions. Why did Laura do something so terrible? Can he move past the demons of his childhood?

And the biggest question of all: can he ever forgive Laura?

My Review

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a thought provoking story about how tragic events, and each persons’ way of dealing with them, can impact on the lives and actions of others.

Laura suffered more before she was an adult than most people would be able to cope with during a lifetime. When she loses the 2 most important people in her life she becomes mentally unstable causing the lines between right and wrong to become blurred resulting in Laura truly believing that fate planned for her to ‘save’ Daniel. Maggie has created a complicated but realistic character in Laura that you will love and hate at the same time. I feel her intentions were good although very misguided but you may think differently that is one of the good aspects of this book, it forces the reader to think outside the box.

Daniel is kidnapped as a 4 year old infant but despite his young age he retains memories of his Mother and Nanny and these memories stay with him through a tragic childhood which see him become a very troubled adult. A serious relationship persuades him to look into his past and he finds out that his life has been a lie. The discovery sets in motion a train of events that cannot be stopped and comes at a great personal cost.

This is a very gripping book once you start reading you have to carry on it is so difficult to put down. I don’t usually re-read books, but made an exception with this book as I was interested to see if Maggie had changed the ending or anything. I found that having read it already didn’t spoil the story for me at all it is a brilliant book that is heart-breaking and heart lifting all at the same time and will stay with you for a long time to come (if not forever).

I have never understood how a woman could steal a child knowing how much pain she is causing the parents but this book has made me understand a lot more. The title is perfect as you will realise as you read the book.

I feel the book is ‘made’ by a person who, although damaged by tragedy has the compassion and unselfishness to be able to help others. This person, to me, is a realistic character who makes up in a small way for all the evil in the world. I am not going to say too much as I am trying to write this without spoilers.

His Kidnappers Shoes is one of the best books I have ever read and will appeal to readers of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain and is every bit as good, if not better.

I recommend you read this book and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

I was provided with an ARC of this book in return for an honest review.
View all my reviews

About the Author

Maggie JamesMaggie James is a British author who lives in Bristol. She writes psychological suspense novels.

Before turning her hand to writing, Maggie worked mainly as an accountant, with a diversion into practicing as a nutritional therapist. Diet and health remain high on her list of interests, along with travel. Accountancy does not, but then it never did. The urge to pack a bag and go off travelling is always lurking in the background! When not writing, going to the gym, practicing yoga or travelling, Maggie can be found seeking new four-legged friends to pet; animals are a lifelong love!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s