#BlogTour: FIRE ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly #13) by Stewart Giles #adgifted #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @stewartgiles @booksnall2020

Today I am closing the Blog Tour for FIRE ON THE ISLAND by Stewart Giles.  This is book 13 in the brilliant Detective Liam O’Reilly series and is available from Amazon for £1.99/$1.99


Format – Kindle
Publisher – STILL BOOKS
Publication Date – 27th June 2024
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Stewart Giles

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

FIRE ON THE ISLAND (Detective Liam O’Reilly #13) by Stewart Giles

From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Liam O’Reilly series.
In the evening of the 4th of July 2019 four dozen drones descend on Guernsey, and the peaceful island is ablaze in minutes. 48 individual bombs have caused destruction in all four corners of the island.

Detective Inspector Liam O’Reilly takes this extremely personally. He was enjoying his honeymoon in the far north of the island at the time.

As the fire on the island continues to burn, O’Reilly can’t sit back and wait for it to die down. He needs answers to why this happened on the island he now calls home.

But the truth is going to take him to hell and back.

The fire on the island is only the start: this is a case that O’Reilly may never recover from.

What readers are saying about FIRE ON THE ISLAND:

OH MY GOD, the research gone into this book is remarkable, very unstable reading, and gripped me well in. Well done! Once again this author has delivered to me another mind-blowing top read that I just could not put down reading it in a full day. Watch out for a lot of harrowing chapters. Could not fault it one bit. And yes I want more in this series. – Booklover Bev

Stewart does it every time. He produces a book that I can’t put down with twists and turns that keep the pages ever turning. There’s something really special about his writing that engages the reader right the way through. Liam is a very likeable character and has steely determination to achieve justice- sometimes in his own inimitable way, A thoroughly enjoyable read that I raced through. – Misfits Farm

Plenty of twists and turns and a lot of red herrings all contributed to make this a thrilling read. Revenge, lies, smuggling and hate all play a part and we learn more about the regular characters while being introduced to new ones which makes for a well-rounded story. – Amazon Reviewer

Liam is my favourite character but his team of DC Katie Owen, DS Will Skinner and DC Andy Stone, add so much to the mix. Another great read in this series. Plenty of humour, lots of it from Liam’s interaction with DC Andy Stone. Andy is his daughter, Assumpta’s, partner. Liam gets so riled when Andy is around. Liam doesn’t have much tolerance for some people, in this book it is DCI Urban from the Guernsey Border Agency that sets him off, and I end up reading with a smile on my face. I have loved all the books in this series, and this is no exception. – Maureen

My Review

Detective Liam O’Reilly is back in this new addition to the series.  Although book 13 it does work well as stand alone but you may enjoy it more if you have read the earlier books to understand the relationships and history of the characters.

Detective Liam O’Reilly is relaxing on honeymoon with his wife Victoria when they hear explosions.  Being Irish O’Reilly is immediately on full alert.  Then his phone starts ringing……  The honeymoon is over.

As the smoke disperses and the information drifts in the CID team are shocked that despite 48 bombs being dropped all around the Island there are only 4 deaths.  An Albanian terrorist group claims responsibility but O’Reilly doesn’t believe it.  However, it does mean that Urban, the head of Border Force is once again clashing swords with O’Reilly.

This is a very gripping story that kept the pages turning.  Mostly it is set on the Island of Herm and it was interesting to read about the unusual set up there.  The French billionaire brought more interest to the story with his unusual character and lifestyle.

Plenty of twists and turns and a lot of red herrings all contributed to make this a thrilling read.  Revenge, lies, smuggling and hate all play a part and we learn more about the regular characters while being introduced to new ones which makes for a well rounded story

Once again Stewart Giles has written book that is a must read for anyone who likes crime fiction.  Well done sir, another absolutely brilliant read.

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


Book 0.5 – Phobia
Book 1 – Smith
Book 2 – Boomerang
Book 3 – Ladybird
Book 4 – Occam’s Razor
Book 5 – Harlequin
Book 6 – Selene
Book 7 – Horsemen
Book 8 – Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 – Deadeye
Book 13 – Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow
Book 19 – The Bluesman
Book 20 – The Librarian
Book 21 – The Viaduct
Book 22 – The Twin
Book 23 – The Dogwalker
Book 24 – The Flytrap
Book 25 – The Electrician
Book 26 – The Cellar
Book 27 – The Loner
Book 28 – The Painter

Book 1 – Blood on the Island
Book 2 – Lies on the Island
Book 3 – Fear on the Island
Book 4 – Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island
Book 9 – Chaos on the Island
Book 10 – Sadness on the Island
Book 11 – Danger on the Island
Book 12 – Evil on the Island
Book 13 – Fire on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 – The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *