#BlogTour: MURDER AT THE MANOR (Detective Sam Clayton #4) by Anne Penketh #bookshelf #bookstagram #Crimefiction @joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am closing down the Blog Tour for MURDER AT THE MANOR with a review post.  MURDER AT THE MANOR is book 4 in the Detective Sam Clayton mystery series and is a brilliant addition to the series.

MURDER AT THE MANOR (Detective Sam Clayton #4)

Format – Kindle
Publisher Joffe Books
Publication Date – 26th August 2021
Genre – Crime thriller, mystery and suspense
Author – Anne Penketh

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

DETECTIVE SAM CLAYTON IS BACK IN ANOTHER GRIPPING NORTH NORFOLK MYSTERY.

Has a village feud led to murder or is the killer closer to home?

It’s Rupert Iverson’s twenty-fifth birthday, and he’s celebrating with a fancy-dress party at his father’s North Norfolk manor house.

But his birthday ends with a bang — on the head — and him drowned in his swimming pool, wearing a Louis XIV costume.

Most of his party guests wanted him dead for one reason or another — as do some of the local people.

Now one of the villagers falls to her death from the nearby cliffs . . .

Detectives Sam Clayton and Julie Everett must race against time to stop anyone else paying the ultimate price.

This page-turning crime mystery set in an atmospheric part of Norfolk is perfect for fans of Michael Hambling, Matt Brolly, J.R. Ellis, J.D. Kirk and Elly Griffiths.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT ANNE PENKETH:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Five out of five stars!” Michelle K.

“Think I have found another new series to follow.” Michelle D.

“Recommended!” Anna Maria G.

“Brilliant from start to finish, it was totally gripping from the first page. It was so good I didn’t want to put it down.” Lynn G.

“Great book to read on holiday with a satisfyingly twisting storyline.” C.H.

“A real page turner.” Barb D.

“It had many twists which kept me guessing. I would never have worked out the ending.” Shamiela A.

“Riveting read.” Penny B.

“Sam Clayton is not your average hard-boiled detective. He has problems of his own as he sets out to find a serial killer.” Meg B.

THE TEAM
Detective Inspector Sam Clayton leads the investigation into the North Norfolk murders, joined the police straight from school as a beat bobby in Manchester before rising through the ranks of the CID. He was transferred to Norwich after being promoted to DI following a high-profile case investigated by Lancashire Constabulary. He struggles with anger issues and finds solace in playing classical guitar. He lives in hope of a reconciliation with his ex-wife, Claire.

Detective Sergeant Neil Pringle lives with his third wife in Norwich, where he was born. But taking care of his two sons with his wife Megan, and two other children with previous wives, has put his finances under strain. He never misses a chance to shine in hopes of securing promotion, and can’t help showing off his local knowledge to colleagues.

Detective Sergeant Julie Everett is an intuitive officer who was promoted to detective sergeant from her home town of Ipswich where she had a background in child protection. She is discreet about her personal life among colleagues, particularly about the tragedy which haunts her, but is stressed out because of her work-life balance. She has to deal with a high-pressure job while raising a six-year-old child who moved with her to Norwich.

THE SETTING
The mists sweep across the Glaveny marsh and its muddy channels on the North Norfolk coast, where the reeds rustle and the waist-high grasses whisper in the wind. It is a place, frequented by dog walkers and birdwatchers, where myth and reality collide. Locals talk about a hell hound that roams the marsh in the mist, bringing death in its wake. When the mist rolls in, it is blindingly thick in minutes. When it retreats, who knows what will be left behind?

DI SAM CLAYTON SERIES
Book 1: MURDER ON THE MARSH
Book 2: THE BAD SISTER
Book 3: PLAY DEAD
Book 4: MURDER AT THE MANOR


My Review

This is book 4 in the Sam Clayton series but it does work perfectly as stand-alone.

It is Rupert’s 25th birthday party and the fancy dress party is going well.  A good time is being had by all.  His girlfriend Cathy wakes up alone and goes in search of Rupert, what she isn’t expecting is to find his body in the pool.  There are plenty of suspects among the partygoers but none with a motive after all these were invited by Rupert, his friends, or are they?

As Sam and Julie start to investigate they find they have their work cut out.  Everyone seems to know more than they are saying and it soon becomes clear that many secrets are being kept well hidden.

As well as the case we learn more about the personal lives of Sam and his colleague Julie which humanises the characters.

This is a very enjoyable read with enough twists and turns to keep the reader interested and other cases are thrown into the mix to keep the intrigue building and the adrenaline pumping.

I highly recommend this to all readers of crime fiction.


ANNE PENKETH

Anne Penketh is originally from Lancashire, but her work as a foreign correspondent took her all over the world before she turned to writing fiction. Anne’s series of murder mysteries featuring DI Sam Clayton allowed her to return to Norfolk where her relatives live.

Anne is currently based in London, but she’s such an inveterate wanderer that she has no idea how long she’ll stay.

 

BOOKS BY ANNE PENKETH

DI SAM CLAYTON SERIES:

  • MURDER ON THE MARSH
  • THE BAD SISTER
  • PLAY DEAD
  • MURDER AT THE MANOR

FOLLOW ANNE ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS


 

I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Reviewers who would like the opportunity to review advance copies: https://mailchi.mp/269c6ce3e0d7/stewart-giles-advance-readers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.