#BlogTour: THE UNIFORM by Jodie Lawrance #Crimefiction #detective #bookreview #TheUniform@joffebooks @booksnall2020

Today I am kicking off the Blog Tour for THE UNIFORM by Jodie Lawrance.  This is the first in the Detective Helen Carter series and a very gripping read.

THE UNIFORM

Format – Kindle
Publisher – JOFFE BOOKS historical romance and sagas
Publication Date – 22nd June 2021
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Jodie Lawrance

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

SHE’S OUT OF UNIFORM BUT SHE’S STILL IN THE LINE OF FIRE.

Introducing the first in a thrilling new Scottish crime series starring Detective Helen Carter.

“A genuine page turner.” Bestselling author Alex Gray

“A brilliant debut.” Lorraine Mace

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “The Uniform is a first-rate crime thriller and a must-read for anyone interested in the genre. I would gladly recommend this to all readers of crime thrillers.” John

Helen Carter has just landed her first case as a detective: a murder in an abandoned cinema. A mysterious clock-like symbol is drawn on the wall . . . in blood.

Stranger still is what the killer left behind: the business card of an ex-cop.

Since being promoted from WPC, Helen is having trouble making her mark in the male-dominated Edinburgh CID, working under Inspector Jack Craven. He’s not happy about having a woman on his team. Witnesses won’t talk to her, her colleagues don’t take her seriously.

And now a body turns up in a sweet shop with a pocket watch shoved in his mouth.

The clock is ticking to stop a serial killer.

Fans of Ashes to AshesCaro Ramsay, Helen D. Durrant, J.D. Kirk, Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean, Val McDermid and Alex Gray will love this retro Scottish crime series set in the 1970s.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE UNIFORM:

“[Jodie Lawrance] as a writer to take note of right now. In terms of style and content it will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid and Christopher Brookmyre, but there is something else going on. With the action starting at a rapid pace from the off, and not letting up till the last page, you could read it as a straightforward crime novel and you will not be disappointed.” Scots Wae Hae magazine

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Such a great debut story. I loved it and can’t wait till the next one . . . Recommended for anyone who wants a new detective story to get into.” Michelle

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A promising start from an exciting new author. It’s a police procedural based in Scotland, set in the 1970’s. Featuring newly promoted Detective Helen Carter, its well-researched into attitudes towards women at that time. An addictive read, cleverly plotted. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.” Carol

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow! I devoured this book in literally one sitting. This was a fast-paced thriller. With amazing characters. I’m so excited to have another book to look forward to reading! I’m hoping it’s released sooner than later! Can’t wait!” Rubie

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “This is a good start to a new series and I am already looking forward to the next book in the series.” Barbara

⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I thoroughly enjoyed The Uniform which is a good start to a new series.” Elaine

MEET THE DETECTIVE
Detective Sergeant Helen Carter is used to getting a rough time of it at work. As one of the few women officers around, she has heard it all before: she’s only there as a box-ticking exercise, or she only got the job because of her father, who was a detective inspector. But she can handle it. She knows she can hold her own against any man on the force. The only thing she can’t handle, however, are the constant fights with her fiancé, Ted.

THE SETTING
Edinburgh CID in the 1970s is on the third-floor of the ugly, modern concrete lump that is the police station. On a sunny day, you can look right out to Arthur’s Seat. And on any day, you can see spotty-faced, bored teenagers coming and going from the local high school across the road. With its historic cobbled streets and fair share of deprivation, Edinburgh police are up against every type of criminal imaginable.


My Review

Helen is finding her way in the Police Force and is new to CID.  The year is 1977 when women police officers were under-rated and there was a lot of prejudice against them.  This comes across very well in the book and is an underlying theme to the story.

Random people are being killed and CID are struggling to find a link while the bodies are stacking up.  The victims were tortured before they were killed and it becomes clear that someone has an axe to grind but who is it and why?

In addition to the pressures of the case Helen has personal issues to cope with.  Her partner is drinking too much and is against her career it seems she is on the receiving end of more than her fair share of hassle.

Helen is a realistic character grieving for her father and questioning her decision to join the Police Force when everyone seems to be against it.  However she is a determined character and will continue with her chosen career.

Her boss, Jack Craven, is a typical Scottish male of that era who thinks women should be at home cooking and cleaning he is always ready to snipe at Helen but the implications are there that he is a big softie underneath.

A very enjoyable book I struggled with the Scottish language in parts and that seemed to distract me from the main story which is a shame.

Thank you to Joffe Books for the advance copy


JODIE LAWRANCE

Jodie graduated from Manchester Metropolitan University in 2018 with an MA in Creative Writing. When not writing, she is also an actress and has appeared in a variety of television, stage and film.

She’s also a contributor for BBC The Social.

BOOKS BY JODIE LAWRANCE

The Uniform

 

FOLLOW JODIE ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM


You may also like:

Book 1: The Harbour Master’s Daughter
Book 2: The River Girl
Book 3: The Gunpowder Girl – Blog Tour Post
Book 4: The Quarry Girl – Blog Tour Post
Book 5: The Railway Girl – Blog Tour Post
Book 6: The Wheelwright Girl – Blog Tour Post
Book 7: The Ambulance Girl – Blog Tour Post


I am always on the look out for bloggers and reviewers if you are interested you can sign up via the links below:

Bloggers or reviewers interested in joining Blog tours: https://mailchi.mp/74b299fbb681/bloggersignup

Reviewers who would like the opportunity to review advance copies: https://mailchi.mp/269c6ce3e0d7/stewart-giles-advance-readers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *