Blog Tour – A Prayer for the Broken by Mark Tilbury #Aprayerforthebroken #crimefiction @booksnall2020

A Prayer for the Broken

Format – Kindle
Publisher – Tilbury Publishing
Publication Date – 5th October 2020
Genre – Crime Fiction
Author – Mark Tilbury

Buy from AMAZON
Read more on GOODREADS

They promised the boy he’d be safe – they lied!

When eleven-year-old John McCormack’s mother is murdered, he is placed in the care of Pastor Ian Stone and his family. Clearwater House is a far cry from the squalid flats he’s been used to, but John soon learns that Pastor Stone’s perverted form of religion is anything but compassionate. As Stone attempts to purify John’s soul of “dangerous levels of toxicity”, it becomes increasingly clear he’s at the mercy of a madman.

Who can John talk to when no one wants to listen?
Who can he trust when all he knows is betrayal?

A Prayer for the Broken is the story of one child’s desperate fight to escape a sadistic killer who has complete control over him.

The perfect book for fans of Chris Carter and M W Craven.


My Review

I do love Mark Tilburys books and this one did not disappoint.  Not an easy read I have to admit but one that kept the pages turning.

Children always amaze me with their resilience and ability to cope with things that would see an adult hiding away forever.

This is the story of 2 boys who didn’t know each other both were traumatised by the death of the mother they loved.  John found his mother dead and Brendan was witness to his mother’s murder.  Alone in the world they are put in long term foster care with Pastor Stone.  He is a religious man so the boys will be well cared for – or will they?

Brendan has been in the ‘care’ of the Stone’s for a while when John arrives and knows far too much about the goings on at Clearwater House.

I love the characters.  Brendan and John are typical boys who although loved by their Mother were also used to a hard life where money was scarce but the violence not so much.  They are resourceful and determined not to be beaten.  Although different personalities they form a bond – blood brothers – and determine to stick together to the end.

A pastor with a very warped idea of doing God’s will and Timothy who is evilness personified is there anyone able to help the boys?

A hard read but a very gripping one and I did really enjoy reading this story.  I especially loved the way Key to Death’s Door made a little appearance (that is another absolutely brilliant book if you haven’t read it I highly recommend it).

I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good adrenaline pumping thriller.  5 stars from me.

Many thanks to the author for the advance digital copy.  This is my unbiased review.


 

Leave a Reply