#NewRelease – The Shipping Murder (Eric Ward #6) by Roy Lewis #crimefiction @Joffebooks

Roy Lewis fans – we are very excited to release this new addition to the brilliant Eric Ward series by Roy Lewis. The Shipping Murder is book 6 in a series that keeps on giving.

The Shipping Murder

Eric Ward book 6

Available from

An addictive crime mystery full of twists

Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Eric Ward, policeman turned lawyer. This beautifully told story, from a time before smart phones and DNA testing, will have you gripped from start to finish.

Please note this book was first published as A Premium on Death.

MURDER ON THE HIGH SEAS

Eric’s wife, Anne, has followed the advice of handsome lawyer Mark Fenham and invested a small fortune in a merchant bank also involved in underwriting marine insurance. Now her company must pay out a vast insurance claim for Sea Dawn, a ship sunk in Spanish waters. Eric Ward smells fraud.

HIS WIFE COULD LOSE EVERYTHING

And then one by one, people connected to the Sea Dawn start to die. The murderous trail takes Ward to sunny Spain — where he comes face-to-face with his arch enemy.

WILL WARD UNCOVER THE TRUTH ABOUT THE SINKING OF THE SEA DAWN?

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

THE DETECTIVE
Eric Ward is forced to retire from the police when he discovers he suffers from glaucoma but qualifies as a solicitor (lawyer) and sets up his practice on the Quayside in Newcastle, where he deals with the seamier side of the law. When he marries a wealthy young woman she attempts to persuade him to settle in Northumberland and work with wealthier clients but he stubbornly refuses to give up his criminal practice in Newcastle. Although she draws him into the world of high finance he still insists on continuing at the Quayside — which causes tensions within his marriage, and leads to unintended consequences.

This fast-paced mystery will have you enthralled from the start. Set in England in the early 1980s, this is the sixth book to feature Eric Ward. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

“Roy Lewis is a writer who believes in keeping his readers on their toes with plenty of twists and surprises. He writes well, too with an admirable sense of character and place.” Daily Telegraph

Good on atmosphere.” Newcastle Journal

“A wrenching and compassionately handled tragedy that transcends the conventional mystery form.” Chicago Sun-Times

Tightly written, well-paced and relentlessly accurate.” Oxford Times

ERIC WARD BOOKS
Book 1: THE SEDLEIGH HALL MURDER
Book 2: THE FARMING MURDER
Book 3: THE QUAYSIDE MURDER
Book 4: THE DIAMOND MURDER
Book 5: THE GEORDIE MURDER
Book 6: THE SHIPPING MURDER

INSPECTOR CROW BOOKS
Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT
Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER
Book 4: MURDER FOR MONEY
Book 5: MURDER IN THE MINE
Book 6: A COTSWOLDS MURDER
Book 7: A FOX HUNTING MURDER
Book 8: A DARTMOOR MURDER

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: