Blog Tour – THESE LITTLE LIES by Gretta Mulrooney – #bookreview #crimefiction @joffebooks

Today I am sharing with you my review of THESE LITTLE LIES by Gretta Mulrooney. This is the first in a new series featuring Detective Siv Drummond. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts.

These Little Lies

An addictive crime thriller with a twist you won’t see coming

Available from AMAZON

INTRODUCING THE NEW SERIES BY BEST-SELLING, CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED AUTHOR GRETTA MULROONEY.

DETECTIVE INSPECTOR SIV DRUMMOND IS LOOKING FOR A FRESH START. WHAT SHE GETS IS TWO DEAD BODIES.

It’s Detective Inspector Siv Drummond’s first day back on the job, joining a new team in a new town. This fresh start isn’t going to be easy. Still mourning the death of her husband, she must push aside her grief to focus on her first case.

Lauren Visser and Matis Rimas are found stabbed to death in the idyllic woodland by the River Bere. Their mutilated bodies lie within feet of each other. A photograph of an unknown girl sits on Lauren’s chest.

She was an activist and wild swimmer. He was fishing illegally.

WHAT IS THEIR CONNECTION?

Siv and her team start ruling out suspects, but no one tells the truth when everyone has something to hide.

What will be dredged up by the investigation?

CAN DI SIV DRUMMOND FIGHT THE CURRENT OF LIES OR WILL SHE BE SWEPT AWAY?

Elegantly written, THESE LITTLE LIES is a masterclass in slow-burning suspense that will keep you turning the pages into the early hours.

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, Tana French, Liane Moriarty, Rachel Cain or Ruth Rendell.


My Review

A new series from one of my favourite authors is always exciting.

Siv Drummond – her husband and soul mate has died in an accident leaving her bereft and broken.  She moves to Berminster to try to move on with her life.  A new home, a new area, new colleagues, boss and everything that goes with it is a big challenge for someone who is lost but Siv is basically strong and is determined to find her way.

She is paired with Ali an overweight diabetic but one with a big heart and compassionate nature he is just what Siv needs.  Someone she can instinctively trust and rely on even if they need to get to know each other.

The story begins with a polish man finding the body of a young woman while doing a little early morning fishing.  The discovery costs him his life and there we have it, Siv Drummond thrown in the deep end with 2 dead bodies no motive and no clues.  The only clue is a photo left on the woman’s body the photo is a young child but nobody knows who she is.

This is a complex story with many false leads and unexpected twists as the team slowly unravel the clues and lies.  It appears everyone is hiding something but is that something relevant to the case?

A very intriguing story with characters who develop well.  I am looking forward to reading more in this new series.


MEET THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Siv Drummond is widowed following a tragic accident involving her husband. With everything in London reminding her of the past, she moves from a high-profile squad with the Met to a new job as DI in her old home town — sleepy, seaside Berminster. She’s still grieving and lonely, but she’s a fighter and she’s smart, which earns her the respect of her colleagues DS Ali Carlin and DC Patrick Hill, and the grudging approval of her DCI, who wants his protégé to get her job.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THESE LITTLE LIES
‘I loved this first in the DI Siv Drummond series, may there be many more to follow. I couldn’t put the book down, but tried to read slowly…didn’t want it to end. It’s great having a book that you can’t wait to get back into.’ – Hannelore C.

‘I thoroughly enjoyed These Little Lies which is a good procedural with several twists and a well concealed motive and perpetrator.’ – Elaine T.

‘Enjoyed it immensely – read it in one day, ignoring all else.’ – Aileen G.

‘The first in the series can often be a difficult thing… you’ve got to set up the scenes and the characters. This one did it well.’ – Louise T.

PREVIOUS PRAISE FOR GRETTA MULROONEY
‘A pleasure to read.’ – The Independent

‘A beautifully written book, a magnificent read.’ – Big Issue

‘A memorable tale with a shocking denouement.’ – Time Out

‘A psychological tale echoing Barbara Vine.’ – The Bookseller

‘I had plenty of guesses, all of them wrong so the novel held my attention throughout. The pacing is excellent.’ – E. Tomasso

‘The book moves along at a steady pace and gains momentum as it progresses. There are many twists and turns along the way as the reader is caught up in the intrigue and suspense towards a real jaw dropping shocker of an ending nobody will see coming.’ BOOKS n ALL

‘A thoroughly enjoyable read and extremely well thought out. Had me puzzled as an avid crime reader.’ Carole

‘A fascinating read with many twists and turns that keeps you guessing to the end. A must read.’ Greta H.


Gretta Mulrooney author bio

I was born and educated in London, of Irish parents. I studied for a degree in English Literature at the University of Ulster, Magee college in Derry. I have worked in education and social care.

I started writing in my thirties and I published four books for children and teenagers with Poolbeg Press, Dublin; A Can of WormsA Nest of VipersA Den of Thieves and I Love You-Te Quiero. These books are available on Amazon.

I have published five literary fiction novels.

Araby and Marble Heart were published by Harper Collins to critical acclaim. They have been translated into Dutch and Spanish.  These books are available on Amazon. They are being reissued in May 2016 by Fourth Estate as Kindle and paperbacks.

Fire and IceOut of The Blue and The Apple of Her Eye were published by Robert Hale. These books are available on Amazon.

Out of The Blue was published by Joffe Books as an e book and paperback in February 2016 and is available on Amazon.

Lost Child was published by Joffe Books as an e book and paperback in March 2016 and is available on Amazon. (This was previously published as Fire and Ice by Robert Hale.)

Coming of Age was published by Joffe Books as a e book and paperback in April 2016 and is available on Amazon. (This was previously published as The Apple of Her Eye by Robert Hale.)

I have always been an avid reader of crime fiction and psychological thrillers. I have started a series of crime novels featuring charismatic private detective Tyrone Swift.

The Lady Vanished was published as an e book and paperback by Joffe Books in December 2015 and is available on Amazon.

Blood Secrets, the second novel featuring private detective Tyrone Swift, was published as e book and paperback in spring 2016 and is available on Amazon.

Two Lovers, Six Deaths, the third Tyrone Swift novel, was published as an e book and paperback in December 2016 by Joffe Books and is available on Amazon.

Watching You, the fourth Tyrone Swift novel, was published as an e book and paperback in June 2017 by Joffe Books and is available on Amazon.

Low Lake, the fifth Tyrone Swift novel, was published as an e book and paperback in March 2018 by Joffe Books and is available on Amazon.

Bound By Lies is a boxset trilogy of the first three  novels in the Tyrone Swift series. It was published as an e book and paperback in June 2017 by Joffe Books and is available on Amazon.

LINKS

Website:  http://www.grettamulrooney.com

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/gmulrooneyauthor

Amazon Author page:   http://www.amazon.co.uk

Goodreads:   http://www.goodreads.com

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: