#newrelease VENOM (DS Jason Smith #9) by Stewart Giles #crimefiction #venom #detective @stewartgiles

We are very excited to inform you that VENOM, book 9 in the brilliant DS Jason Smith series by Stewart Giles is now available to purchase from Amazon.  The early reviews are very positive and all agree that this is the BEST Stewart Giles yet.  99p/99c for launch.


Why not pop in to the Facebook Launch Party on

Wednesday 10th July 6pm to 8pm UK time?

Click on the image:



VENOM, Detective Jason Smith book 9

Available from Amazon

From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles comes a new addition to the popular Detective Jason Smith series. 

Still recovering from an accident, DS Jason Smith receives a strange phone call: ‘I want to live.’  The number is unknown, and Jason puts it down to a hoax call.  While doing a favour for DCI Chalmers the phone call suddenly begins to make sense and Jason is once again on the trail of a psychopath.

Can Smith stop this maniac before more people die?  Who is it and why does he have Smith’s number?  As the team struggle to find some kind of a lead Jason realises that it may not be his own life in danger this time but he is in danger of losing someone else he cares about.

This is a unique story that has a steadily increasing pace that continues to deliver all the way to the very last page.

At the confluence of the River Ouse and Foss, York is the traditional county town of the historic county of Yorkshire. York Minster and a variety of cultural and sporting activities make it a popular tourist destination.

DS Jason Smith
is an Australian who was sent to York to live with his Grandmother when his sister disappeared from a beach. He has suffered many losses in his short life and is now a dedicated detective. He is a bit of a loose cannon he has his own way of doing things that doesn’t always mean following orders and procedures.  However, he does get results.

What readers are saying about Venom

‘This author’s style of writing is phenomenal to the end.  He never fails me.  All of his books that I have read have pushed all my buttons.  The only thing I can say I didn’t like was THE END!  NO! I want more of DS Jason Smith.  So looking forward to the next one.’ – Booklover Bev

‘What an amazing book, I read it in one sitting as I couldn’t wait to see what Stewart put Jason Smith through next.’ – Simon @ Black Books Blog

‘WOW! Just when I think that Stewart Giles cannot get any better, he goes ahead and proves me wrong. I absolutely LOVED Venom. The action is tight and fast paced. The tension keeps mounting until you feel that you physically can’t sit still any more. The plot is well thought out, with plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very end.’ – Heather Opperman



Book 0.5-Phobia read more here
Book 1-Smith  read more here
Book 2-Boomerang  read more here
Book 3-Ladybird  read more here
Book 4-Occam’s Razor  read more here
Book 5-Harlequin  read more here
Book 6-Selene  read more here
Book 7-Horsemen  read more here
Book 8-Unworthy  read more here
Book 9 – Venom

Book 1-The Beekeeper  read more here
Book 2-The Perfect Murder  read more here
Book 3-The Backpacker  read more here

Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3 read more here

Book 1 – The Enigma  read more here
Book 2 – Dropzone


Miranda  read more here
Miranda sequel coming soon

My Review

Once again Stewart Giles has absolutely nailed it.  A unique story full of twists and turns that starts the adrenaline pumping at the first page and continues in an ever increasing stream all the way to the last page.  Another brilliant read.

As I have come to expect from this series there is a vein of humour running through the story and characters that offers a contrast that adds to the enjoyment.

Smith has lost a lot in his life.  People he love seem to die around him.  His sister disappeared while in his care when she  was just 8 years old and his mother held  Smith responsible and packed him off to the UK.  Years later he found out Laura had been abducted by Boronov and Smiths run-ins with Boronov have featured in several books but Boronov was killed by Smith’s wife so Smith should be home and dry.  So why are people ringing Smith’s number and saying ‘I want to live’ only to be found dead?

As Smith and the team try to find clues to what appear to be ‘perfect murders’ it becomes obvious that someone wants Smith to suffer.  Is Smith about to lose another loved one (or ones) from his life or can he uncover the clues and stop the murders?

A very unique storyline and it is obvious the author has done a lot of research for this book and that makes for a very believable and realistic story.  The characters we know and love are back and continue to develop although Smith is definitely the main character in this book.  It was good to meet Whitton’s parents and where Whitton’s characteristics come from.

An absolutely gripping book that you wont be able to put down.  I loved every page and can’t wait for more.

One of Stewart’s biggest fans, Simon, warned him not to harm Whitton or his daughter.  He didn’t listen. You will have to read the book to make sense of that ha ha.

A big thank you to the author for the opportunity to read a digital ARC of this fantastic book.  All thoughts and opinions are my own and not biased in any way.

Stewart Giles – Author Bio

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.

In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor Cornwall series.

The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.

I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.

After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.

Dropzone, book 2 in the Smith/Harriet series is now available and Venom, book 9 in the Smith series will be released in July 2019. I have plenty more books planned to include, by popular request, a sequel to Miranda.



Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.