The Jenny Starling Series #3: The Riverboat Mystery by Faith Martin. #mystery #crimefiction @joffebooks @faith.martin_nov

Day 3 of The Jenny Starling series and book 3 is THE RIVERBOAT MYSTERY

THE RIVERBOAT MYSTERY by Faith Martin

Available from AMAZON

Discover a new series of whodunits by million-selling author Faith Martin. These charming mysteries will have you scratching your head to work out who the murderer is.

“A wonderful protagonist.” Mystery Women

Meet Jenny Starling: travelling cook and reluctant amateur detective.

Please note this book was first published as “DYING FOR A CRUISE” under Faith Martin’s pen name JOYCE CATO.

Jenny Starling has a job on a luxury paddle steamer working for a wealthy businessman. All she has to do is cook for his small number of guests. But things quickly turn sour.

Then she discovers the body of one of the passengers in the store cupboard. Who wanted him dead and why?

Jenny will have to ignore many red herrings and follow the clues to get to the bottom of a complex and intriguing murder mystery.

This is the third of a series of enjoyable murder mysteries with a great cast of characters and baffling crimes which will keep you in suspense to the final page.

Perfect for fans of classic whodunits by authors like Agatha Christie, LJ Ross, TE Kinsey, and J.R. Ellis.

JENNY STARLING
In her late twenties, Jenny Starling is an impressive woman. Physically, she stands at 6ft 1inch, and has shoulder-length black hair and blue eyes. Curvaceous and sexy, she’s a modern single woman, living the lifestyle that suits her – that of a travelling cook. Her famous (and now very rich) father, is a ‘celebrity’ cook, divorced from Jenny’s mother. Jenny drives a disreputable cherry-red van, and is happy travelling the country catering events and cooking great food. She is on a one-woman crusade to bring back ‘real’ food. And definitely doesn’t like having to divert her attention from achieving the perfect Dundee cake or creating a new sauce recipe by having to solve a murder. She finds crime very distracting, especially when there is chocolate to temper or pike to poach. Nevertheless, she is very good at reading people, and with a quick and agile brain, becomes very good at unmasking killers. And her always-undaunted sense of humour goes a long way in keeping her sane when all around her people are dropping like flies.

THE AUTHOR
FAITH MARTIN is the best-selling author of the DETECTIVE HILLARY GREENE mysteries, which have sold over 1 million copies globally in just over a year.

Book 1: THE BIRTHDAY MYSTERY
Book 2: THE WINTER MYSTERY
Book 3: THE RIVERBOAT MYSTERY
Book 4: THE CASTLE MYSTERY
Book 5: THE OXFORD MYSTERY
Book 6: THE TEATIME MYSTERY
Book 7: THE COUNTRY INN MYSTERY


What the bloggers thought

Black Books Blog

This book is very low on violence and gore, especially considering it is a murder/mystery book, but concentrates more on the mystery, making it a very cozy book to read in a couple of hours.  Read more here

Joanna Larum’s Reviews

As always with Faith Martin’s books, the story pulls you in and keeps hold of you until the murderer is revealed. A must for Faith Martin fans.  Read more here

Linda Strong Book Reviews

There are twists and turns and secrets galore. This is a well-written complex mystery with a great cast of characters. Jenny is an absolute unforgettable character .. not only for her looks but for a creative mind that misses nothing.  Read more here

Ginger Book Geek

Overall and in short, I absolutely loved reading ‘The Riverboat Mystery’ but then the book is written by the best selling and legendary Faith Martin.  I absolutely love every single one of her books.  I would definitely recommend these books and this author to other readers.  I can’t wait to read Faith’s next book.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.  Read more here

Akamatra

I will not bore you with my review this time. If you like reading (or watching) Agatha’s Cristie “Death on the Nile” then you will love this book! With a wit humor and a modern twist, Jenny becomes yet again a female Hercule Poirot to solve the death of one of the boat’s passenger.  Read more here

Nicki’s book blog

If you enjoy Agatha Christie or Death in Paradise then this could be the series for you. A captive group of people all wanting the same thing yet nothing obvious and everyone where they should be.  Until a little sparrow gets to work that is! Love this.  Read more here

Hooked From Page One

This was an engaging murder mystery, and I was interested to find out who had committed the crime. It is a fairly quick read that will keep you hooked and fascinated by the characters. If I had one criticism, it would be that I felt the second half after the body is found, was a little rushed, but overall I found it to be a very good read.  Read more here

Herding Cats

With a literal boat load of viable suspects, all with strong motives and a victim as unlikable as this one, Jenny is once again drawn into a game of ‘WhoDunIt?‘ as she uses her sharp wit, clever techniques for extracting information and astute observations to figure out who our murderer is.  Read more here


You may also like

The Jenny Starling Series #1: The Birthday Mystery

The Jenny Starling Series #2: The Winter Mystery

BlogTour – I WILL MAKE YOU PAY by Caroline Bale #Crimefiction #debut #netgalley #newrelease @joffebooks

Today, for my stop on the #BlogTour for I WILL MAKE YOU PAY I am thrilled to share with you my review of this debut thriller by a new author to the brilliant Joffe Books: CAROLINE BALE

I WILL MAKE YOU PAY by Caroline Bale

Available from AMAZON

DISCOVER THE MOST ADDICTIVE NEW CRIME FICTION WRITER THIS YEAR

Meet Detective Ellen McClure as she takes on a vicious killer who loves playing games.

He is watching Connie Taylor in the café. He has befriended the waitress over the previous months and gained her confidence. Her coarseness disgusts him and he muses to himself about pouring acid on her face. He is going to torture Connie that evening to get the final information he needs and then he will kill her.

Connie Taylor’s head is found on the doorstep of a house in upmarket Heworth Green in York.

DI Ellen McClure finds herself embroiled in a complicated murder investigation that pits her against colleagues and family. Her boss thinks that ex-prostitute Connie was killed by one of her former clients, but Ellen thinks there is more to it.

Vicky is on the run with her five-year-old daughter, Kallie. Her life is in danger.

ELLEN MUST FIND HER BEFORE HE DOES.

Desperate to save Vicky, Ellen drags her own young daughter Zoe into the path of a deadly psychopath who will stop at nothing on his murderous rampage.

A RACE AGAINST TIME TO STOP A PSYCHOPATH ON A MISSION

An absolutely gripping mystery with a massive twist. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

THE DETECTIVE
DI Ellen McClure is a 38-year-old detective with an outstanding record who will stop at nothing to protect the innocent. She has recently left her cheating husband, Anthony, and is making a new start for her and her 13 year old daughter Zoe in York, the city she grew up in. She is arriving at her new posting on the North Yorkshire Serious Crimes Team under a cloud having given evidence against a superior in her previous posting. Her tenacious approach and confrontational style often work against her, pitting her against colleagues and family. In contrast, her DC, Sarika Kaur is an empathic, thoughtful officer, who tries, often without success, to be the voice of reason.

THE SETTING
York has been occupied by everyone from the Romans to the Vikings which shows in the city’s cobblestone streets, half timbered houses and 18th-century flat-fronted townhouses. Diagon Alley where Harry Potter buys his wand was inspired by the Shambles, a medieval butcher’s street visited by the film’s set designers and which is now thronged with tourists. Six hundred years ago, bloody hunks of meat hung on shopfronts, dripping into the gutter that still runs along the middle of the lane. Then, of course, there is the magnificent York Minster, Europe’s largest gothic cathedral which looms over a warren of streets running down to the River Ouse with its many colourful barges and tour boats. The river cuts the city in two and flows eastwards into majestic countryside and onwards towards the North Sea.


My Review

This is a debut by a new author to me but I do love to find new authors there is always a bitter sweet moment: ‘will I like it or not?’

The book begins steadily but it is worth bearing with it as we learn the background to a very complex story.

Ellie is a feisty character willing to be outcast by her colleagues in her quest to see justice done.  She has moved to York and is trying to put the pieces of her life back together after the breakdown of her marriage and the aftermath of a very difficult case.  She is trying to juggle a demanding job with being a single parent when the call comes in that makes her life a whole lot worse.

Although there are several other characters it is Ellie that the story focuses on as the reader is taken on a journey through a story with corruption, abuse, psychopaths, lies, jealousy and murder that is not for the faint hearted.  This is an intriguing story that builds in pace gradually all the way to an ending I certainly didn’t see coming.

The story begins way back with 2 girls who are groomed by a rich businessman.  This sets in motion a string of events that sees a woman running for her life and begs the question: ‘what wouldn’t you do to save your child?’

I am looking forward to more from Caroline.


 

The Author

Caroline Bale is a practicing psychotherapist who draws on her work to create believable plots and complex characters. She believes the draw in books like hers is that they allow us to address our worst fears from the safety of our own bedrooms. The heart-pounding terror of walking down a deserted street alone at night or the inability to go to sleep until a beloved teenager has finally arrived home. She is interested in what motivates a person to torture or kill another human being, what psychotherapists call the shadow side of human nature. Her books are full of complex, often charming characters with personality disorders and disturbed histories. The psychopaths amongst us with the killer smiles.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: