#BookReview: His Kidnappers Shoes by Maggie James #psychologicalthriller #crimefiction

His Kidnapper's ShoesHis Kidnapper’s Shoes by Maggie James

Buy from Amazon

Daniel is my son. He has always been mine. And he always will be.

On some level deep inside, Laura Bateman knows something is wrong. That her relationship with her son is not what it should be. That it is based on lies.

But bad things have happened to Laura. Things that change a person. Forever.

For twenty-six-year-old Daniel, the discovery that his mother is not who he thought comes close to destroying him. As his world turns upside down, he searches for sanity in the madness that has become his life. Daniel is left with nothing but questions. Why did Laura do something so terrible? Can he move past the demons of his childhood?

And the biggest question of all: can he ever forgive Laura?

Revised edition: This edition of His Kidnapper’s Shoes includes editorial revisions.


My Review

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a thought provoking story about how tragic events, and each persons’ way of dealing with them, can impact on the lives and actions of others.

Laura suffered more before she was an adult than most people would be able to cope with during a lifetime. When she loses the 2 most important people in her life she becomes mentally unstable causing the lines between right and wrong to become blurred resulting in Laura truly believing that fate planned for her to ‘save’ Daniel. Maggie has created a complicated but realistic character in Laura that you will love and hate at the same time. I feel her intentions were good although very misguided but you may think differently that is one of the good aspects of this book, it forces the reader to think outside the box.

Daniel is kidnapped as a 4 year old infant but despite his young age he retains memories of his Mother and Nanny and these memories stay with him through a tragic childhood which see him become a very troubled adult. A serious relationship persuades him to look into his past and he finds out that his life has been a lie. The discovery sets in motion a train of events that cannot be stopped and comes at a great personal cost.

This is a very gripping book once you start reading you have to carry on it is so difficult to put down. I don’t usually re-read books, but made an exception with this book as I was interested to see if Maggie had changed the ending or anything. I found that having read it already didn’t spoil the story for me at all it is a brilliant book that is heart-breaking and heart lifting all at the same time and will stay with you for a long time to come (if not forever).

I have never understood how a woman could steal a child knowing how much pain she is causing the parents but this book has made me understand a lot more. The title is perfect as you will realise as you read the book.

I feel the book is ‘made’ by a person who, although damaged by tragedy has the compassion and unselfishness to be able to help others. This person, to me, is a realistic character who makes up in a small way for all the evil in the world. I am not going to say too much as I am trying to write this without spoilers.

His Kidnappers Shoes is one of the best books I have ever read and will appeal to readers of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain and is every bit as good, if not better.

I recommend you read this book and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

I was provided with an ARC of this book in return for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

recipeandaread.wordpress.com/

Come for the read. Stay for the food.

Brooklyn.the.bookworm

Book Reviews :)

Bookish Kimberly

anything bookish and coffee-ish

HayleyReviews10

There’s no such thing as too many books.

twirling pages

a literary + lifestyle blog

jillwrites

Author of Dual Visions & Vashla's World, also co-author of Fan-tas-tic-al Tales and Mystery, Mayhem & Magic as one of The Ten Penners, I write book reviews, articles and other interesting prose.

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

gemsbooknook

Bringing Book Reviews to the Readers of the World...

Awordseeker

Train of Thoughts

The Romance Corner

A Romance Book Blog

Books in My Baggage

A Book Blog | Start the habit of reading and realize what you can Learn from within ❤️

Mrsreadsbooks

For The Love of Books

The Reading Zone

I am a reader, a teacher, a writer, a thinker, a reviewer, and a dreamer of dreams.

Drew Martin Writes

I write. I create. It's that simple, yet so much more complex. Poetry, fiction, non-fiction, reviews.

Bee Books Beauty

Sharing my passions - books, wellness, beauty & nature

Reading Books With Coffee

Where My Love Of Coffee And My Love Of YA Intersect

Book Lover Kate

Kate; lover of books

The Book Lover's Boudoir

Inside the world of a bibliophile...

Oh Book It!

Book reviews and other bits and bobs

kitty marie's reading corner

book blogger & reviewer

Loisreadsbooks

Book reviews and more

Writerly Bookish Stuff

Avid tea drinker. Author. Book Reviewer.

Lili's Blissful Pages

I Read, I Watch, I Write

Romance Book Binge

A Blog About Romance Books

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Lucinda is reading...

Reviews, challenges and bookish nerdiness.

Book Jotter

Reviews, news, features and all things books for passionate readers

This Writer's Life

Tips and Advice About Writing and Self-Publishing

Ashes Books & Bobs

Plenty of Books & a Few Bobs!

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Pat Adams-Wright Author

The power of the word never fails!

Hooked From Page One

Find your next crime fiction read here . . .

Jessica Belmont

Writer, Book Blogger & Chronic Pain Warrior

HERDING CATS

General ramblings of a busy person

Social Media Book Promotion

#blogtours #authorservices #launchparties #socialmedia

MEDICINE FOR ALL

medicine for all

inspire

Life is short to be wasted, write what you feel because regression is the worst feeling than fear

Thrills, Spills, and just a dash of Romance

One writer's experiences, and battles with words

DENTAL IMPLANTS CARE

Nepean Dental Implants, Australia

Adventure Travel Nepal

Nepal tour operator and trekking agent

Video Games Guide - PS Vita, PS3, Xbox , Wii - BestVideoGames.site

Video Games Guide - PS Vita, PS3, Xbox , Wii

Brian Gottesman

PUBLIC RELATIONS EXECUTIVE

%d bloggers like this: