BLOG TOUR WRAP UP – Murder in the Mine (Inspector Crow #5) by Roy Lewis. #crimefiction #detective #policeprocedural #TeamJoffeBooks @joffebooks

Roy, Joffe Books and I would like to thank all the bloggers who helped with the Blog Tour for MURDER IN THE MINE by Roy Lewis. This is book 5 in the gripping Inspector Crow series.

What the bloggers thought:

Black Books Blog 

The story has loads of twists and surprises throughout, which makes it a great read, although it is definitely showing it’s age with some of the comments and generalisations. These don’t take away from the story as long as you remember it is set, and was written, back in the 1970’s.  Read more here

Joanna Larum’s Reviews

It is a really good story and without the usual over-indulgence in the process of law and so is much more interesting. Even though I had guessed the real reason for the murder before the end, it was still a thrilling ride and I enjoyed it immensely. I am looking forward to the sixth one!  Read more here

Ginger Book Geek 

In short, I loved reading this book and for me, ‘Murder In The Mine’ is easily the best book of the series so far.  The DCI John Crow series just keeps getting better and better.  I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.  Read more here

Linda Strong Book Reviews

There is plenty of intrigue, a few unexpected twists, and several suspects. Crow is finely drawn and it’s really fun seeing him crime solving .. especially as this story takes place well before DNA, smart phones, and Crow has nothing but instinct and a great mind to go on.  Read more here

Turn The Page Blog 

#GuestPost

Books n All

My review

Musings of a tired mummy 

I loved the twist in the middle of the book as the investigation changes direction and momentum. I found it quite refreshing to have the main focus not be on a dysfunctional detective so that the plot developments are allowed to drive the book.  Read more here

Kirsty Through The Looking Glass

MURDER IN THE MINE (Inspector Crow #5) 

Available from AMAZON

Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

THIS BOOK WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS “A QUESTION OF DEGREE.”

“Roy Lewis can always be counted on for precise, original, interesting environment…yet his characters and settings always interact.” Financial Times

A hunt for a missing dog leads to a gruesome discovery down a mineshaft.

Not just the injured dog, but a valuable piece of jewellery . . . and the decaying corpse of a woman.

Detective John Crow is called in to run the investigation in this South Wales mining community. He discovers flaws in the dog owner’s account and a visit to the north east of England reveals the dead woman’s identity.

Then there is a surprise confession. But the skeletal Inspector Crow is not convinced, and he pursues the investigation into the dead woman’s complicated life. New suspects emerge.

But as Crow closes in on the killer, complicated questions remain. Full of intrigue, this mystery will have the reader guessing until the very end.

Set in England in the late early 70s, this is the fifth book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

“Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero” Times Literary Supplement

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE
Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

INSPECTOR CROW BOOKS
Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT
Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER
Book 4: MURDER FOR MONEY
Book 5: MURDER IN THE MINE
MORE COMING SOON!


Roy Lewis Author Bio

Roy Lewis is a well-established crime writer with 60 novels to his name. He lives in the north of England where he sets many of his books. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools who now runs business training programmes and has business interests in Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He has three children – all of them lawyers.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: