ADVENT BOOK BLOG 21 – Nov-2018 (1) – Missing Lies BY CHRIS COLLETT. @JOFFEBOOKS @CRIME_CROW #CRIMEFICTION #DETECTIVE

Advent Book Blog 21 and today it is MISSING LIES in the spotlight.  This is book 7 in the brilliant DI Mariner series by Chris Collett and is another adrenaline pumping addition to an awesome series.

Missing Lies (DI Tom Mariner book 7)

Available from Amazon UK   US   AU   CA

18-year-old Grace Clifton vanishes on her way home from work. Amazingly, not a single witness comes forward. But Detective Tom Mariner suspects that she ran away from her overbearing, rich father.

A PACKAGE ARRIVES AT THE POLICE STATION. IT CONTAINS GRACE’S CLOTHES, NEATLY FOLDED AND CLEANED.

Then another woman disappears. And a disturbing pattern begins to emerge.

WHO IS TAKING THEM?

Detective Mariner must track down a suspected serial killer in his toughest, and strangest, case yet, with a conclusion that will have you gasping.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the seventh book in the DI MARINER SERIES.


My Review

This is Book 7 in the DI Mariner series and I have read and loved every book.  It does work very well as stand alone but I think you will probably want to read them all as they are very addictive.

Mariner is feeling a little out of sorts.  His partner, Tony Knox has been seconded to a special operations project. Vicky Jesson is fairly knew and Charlie Glover is not really a colleague Mariner could confide in.  That said, disjointed though the team may be, they all get along and look out for each other.

To add to Mariners problems he recently lost his girlfriend and ended up with guardianship of Jamie, her severely autistic brother.  So with caring responsibilities to add to the stresses of his position he is pulled many ways and his new relationship with Suzy is suffering as a result.

When a young woman goes missing the initial thoughts are she had run away and with no body and no clues the team don’t really have much to go on.  When more young women go missing the links are made and the race is on to find the abductor before he takes anyone else.

This is a real emotional roller coaster ride of a book with twists and turns all the way through and the people I had marked as possible bad guys – well I couldn’t have been more wrong.  The characters still have more to reveal about themselves and continue to develop.

Another adrenaline pumping addition to a brilliant series.  5 Golden stars from me.


What the bloggers thought:

Linda Strong Book Reviews

This is an action-packed page turner, full of suspects with twists and turns that had me reading until the wee hours of night. The ending was surprising in a way I never saw coming.  Read more here

Musings of a tired mummy 

There are several strands to this book and it is not clear until right at the end how they link together. Millie and her new baby meet a troubled mum with a charming but possibly criminal husband. The new woman on Tom’s team is struggling to deal with the death of her police partner.  Read more here

Nicki’s Book Blog 

The art of a good writer- to get you on side with their characters- or not in some cases (the villains that is!). A wonderfully comfortable read that transports you to a different plane and in the heart of the investigation.  Read more here

Nicki`s Life of Crime 

Missing Lies is a gripping page-turner, packed with twists and turns and keeps the reader guessing throughout. It also contains are moral message which is that some people in different professions might be heroes but that doesn’t mean everyone is.   Read more here

Joanna Larum’s Reviews 

The writing kept me glued to the page and the ending left me wanting more and more. I would recommend to all lovers of police procedurals. Read more here

Ginger Book Geek

I was definitely hooked on this book and reading it became an addiction.  I was like an addict in desperate need of her next fix.  I couldn’t bear to be parted from the book and I took it everywhere with me.    Read more here

Sassy Redhead Book Reviews

I am a big fan of DC Tom Mariner and love to read this series. This story did not disappoint. It drew me in from the beginning and threw me for a loop at the end.  Read more here

Akamatra 

Missing lies by Chris Collett is an edge of your seat thriller that will keep you entertained till the last page. I loved the introduction of the new characters and the brilliant connection to the old ones.   Read more here

Jen Meds Book Reviews 

Overall this is a really great read and I am going to try to find the time to read the rest in the series that I have missed.  Read more here

Black Books Blog 

Overall the book was a brilliant read, which kept me guessing throughout, although I did have an inkling about who the murderer was.  Read more here


THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “DEAD OF NIGHT.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7: Missing Lies


You may also be interested in:

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 1 – Jan-2018 (1) – The Shoeless Child

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 2 – Jan-2018 (2) – Dark Angel

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 3 – Feb-2018 (1) – Flashpoint

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 4 – Feb-2018 (2) – Ruthless

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 5 – Mar-2018 (1) – Low Lake

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 6 – Mar-2018 (2) – Unworthy

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 7 – Apr-2018 (1) – Black Soul

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 8 – Apr-2018 (2) – Murder at Work

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 10 – May-2018 (2) – Married Lies

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 9 – May-2018 (1) – Dead Bad

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 12 – Jun-2018 (2) – Dirty Secrets

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 11 – Jun-2018 (1) – Their Last Words

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 13 – Jul-2018 (1) – Her Last Breath

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 14 –  Jul-2018 (2) – To Snare a Witch

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 15 –  Aug-2018 (1) – The Backpacker

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 16 –  Aug-2018 (2) – The Other Victim

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 17 – Sep-2018 (1) – Ladybird

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 18 – Sep-2018 (2) – Buried Lies

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 19 – Oct-2018 (1) – The Stolen Boys

ADVENT BOOK BLOG 20 – Oct-2018 (2) – Before I trust you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.