THE LOST CHILDREN (Ray Paterson #2) by Steve Parker @mrparkerspen @joffebooks #crimefiction #detective

Book 3 in the brilliant Ray Paterson series is due to be released on Friday 7th December so look out for THE BURNING MEN this is another great addition to the series. In the meantime I thought I would remind you what you may have missed with the earlier books. It will increase your enjoyment of book 3 if you have read books 1 and 2 so today I am sharing THE LOST CHILDREN (book 2).

Escape
THE LOST CHILDREN by Steve Parker

Available from AMAZON
Discover a crime thriller full of shocking twists by one of the most exciting new authors you’ll read this year.
A MAN IS SHOT DEAD IN THE STREET. BUT WHAT THE POLICE FIND NEARBY IS FAR WORSE.
An elderly African man is found dead in the street, shot through the head. The killing has the hallmark of a professional assassin. Dumped in a waste bin next to the dead man is the dismembered torso of a child.
On his first day back at work, disgraced Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson finds himself teamed up again with newly promoted Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks.
They must hunt down a ruthless killer with connections that go far beyond anything they’ve ever come across before.
Within days they know who committed the murders and why, but are left reeling when they are ordered by the government to release the child’s killers.

FINDING THE KILLERS WASN’T THE HARD PART. BRINGING THEM TO JUSTICE IS.

This is the second in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth.

Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Martina Cole.

TWO DETECTIVES WHO HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT EACH OTHER MUST WORK TOGETHER.

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he’s weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a ‘climber’.
Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can.

THE AUTHOR
Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads.

THE SETTING
Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

DETECTIVE RAY PATERSON

Book 1: THEIR LAST WORDS
Book 2: THE LOST CHILDREN

What the readers are saying:

Black Books Blog

If you have read book 1 then you will know Steve isn’t afraid to use bad language and include graphic scenes in his books, and this one is no different so be warned the is bad language, I counted over 10 swear words in the prologue alone, but they fit perfectly within the situations they are used, plus swearing in books has never bothered me.  Read more here


Linda Strong Book Reviews

The characters are solid, well-written. The differences between the two detectives works so well .. they are so much alike … but yet are miles apart in others. They are terrific crime solvers and will do most anything to bring justice to the victims and their families.  Read more here


Joanna Larum’s Reviews

Well written, as was his first novel, Steve Parker takes the reader to new heights of depravity and one is left wondering just how evil mankind can be, but don’t let that put you off – this novel is a blockbuster which no-one will want to put down.  Read more here


Ginger Book Geek

The Lost Children’ starts with a bang (literally) and in a way that is going to remain fresh in my memory for a long time to come.     Read more here


Beth in a Box

The Lost Children hit me for six if I am to be completely honest. I expected it to be hard to read, but it played on my emotions. I Sat reading some parts with tears in my eyes.  Read more here


The Bookworm Drinketh

Just as the last novel I read by Steve Parker, this one is absolutely amazing. It’s real, it’s crass.. And, it’s superbly writen!  Read more here


My Review

Wow!  I am not really sure where to start with this one. I love adrenaline pumping thrillers, the more explicit the better and the first book in this series ticked every box so I was very excited to read this one.   It is heart rending in parts, shockingly so but unfortunately it is also very realistic and I truly believe this does happen even in today’s ‘modern society’ so on with the book……

What we have here is a complex story with many strands and the reader is taken on a rocky road trip to watch all the strands become entangled with Paterson and Clocks working their way through the spaghetti to find out what is actually going on.

Corruption, witchcraft, cover ups and money laundering are just a few we can add politics and culture into the mix and sprinkle a vigilante soldier on top and you can be assured you have one hell of a wonderful read.

Then on top of a totally shocking twisty turny, breathtaking story we have the detectives: Paterson and Clocks, what a duo.  In book one there was a lack of common ground between the two, in this book they have got over that and are now united in their quest to get the bad guys and the humour interlaced brings a brilliant dimension to the book.

That is all I am going to say.  Go and grab a copy and get reading this is what Crime Fiction should be.  An unforgettable read and I loved every page.  I just hope book 3 is on the way.

My one regret in this book is that the synopsis contains a massive spoiler and that did affect my enjoyment of the book but still a well earned 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.