ADVENT BOOK BLOG Mar-2018 (1) – Low Lake #crimefiction @joffebooks

Day 5 of my ADVENT BOOK BLOG is dedicated to LOW LAKE by the critically acclaimed Gretta Mulrooney.  This is book 5 in the Tyrone Swift Detective series and is a gripping read full of twists and turns.

LOw lake 2 cover jpg.jpgLOW LAKE (Tyrone Swift #5)

Available from Amazon  UK    US    AU   CA

An old house by a lake. A suspicious drowning. A suspect that the police let go.

What really happened at Low Lake?

Detective Tyrone Swift is hired to investigate the death of Kim Woodville. The young woman drowned in the lake by her family house, two years ago. But there was bruising on her arms, and the prime suspect was let go because of police errors.

Tyrone Swift takes the cases that other people have given up on. But the beautiful historic house by the lake doesn’t give up its secrets easily.

It turns out that there are many people who might have wanted Kim dead.

And then another body turns up close to home and Swift realises his own life may be danger.

Can Detective Tyrone Swift get to the bottom of this tangled web of dark family secrets?

LOW LAKE is a beautifully written mystery that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, P.D. James, or Ruth Rendell.

THE DETECTIVE
Tyrone Swift is an ex-police detective who now works privately. He’s survived a stabbing and his fiancée running off with another man. Swift’s personal life is complicated, to say the least.

THE AUTHOR
Gretta is a critically acclaimed author of best-selling fiction.

‘Mulrooney has a real gift for dialogue, the words and phrases ring true and make her characters wonderfully real . . . A tenderly funny and genuinely moving piece. I loved it.’ Fiona Morrow, Time Out (about ARABY)

‘A beautifully observed study of reconciliation, Araby makes astute points about conflict and shifting values between generations.’ James Eve, The Times

THE TYRONE SWIFT DETECTIVE SERIES
BOOK 1: THE LADY VANISHED
BOOK 2: BLOOD SECRETS
BOOK 3: TWO LOVERS, SIX DEATHS
BOOK 4: WATCHING YOU
BOOK 5: LOW LAKE


My Review

This is Book 5 in the Tyrone Swift series but the books work perfectly as stand-alone.

A young woman, Kim, with a lifetime fear of water is found drowned.  The verdict is accidental death as she suffered from epilepsy and had suffered a seizure.  Swift is employed by Kim’s friend to find out what happened as he doesn’t believe she would go near the water.  Kim had a violent start to life and was brought up by a strange woman with an unusual vision on education and guiding young people to adulthood.

The book moves along at a steady pace and gains momentum as it progresses.  There are many twists and turns along the way as the reader is caught up in the intrigue and suspense towards a real jawdropping shocker of an ending nobody will see coming.

I like Swift.  He is a complex character that develops well into a well rounded realistic character.  His girlfriend, Nora, I don’t like so much.  I think she is high maintenance and not a good match for Swift.  Bella, on the other hand, I do like she is compassionate and caring and would make a good fit for Swift so I will be watching for further books to see how his relationships pan out.

This is a gripping story and one I easily bought in to.  It is unique and interesting and has the ability to keep the adrenaline pumping.


Gretta Mulrooney Author PhotoAuthor Bio

I was born and educated in London, of Irish parents. I studied for a degree in English Literature at the University of Ulster, Magee college in Derry. I have worked in education and social care.

I started writing in my thirties and I published four books for children and teenagers with Poolbeg Press, Dublin; A Can of WormsA Nest of VipersA Den of Thieves and I Love You-Te Quiero. These books are available on Amazon.

I have published five literary fiction novels.

LINKS

Website:  http://www.grettamulrooney.com

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/gmulrooneyauthor

Amazon Author page:   http://www.amazon.co.uk

Goodreads:   http://www.goodreads.com/”>http://www.goodreads.com


You may also be interested in:

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Jan-2018 (1) – The Shoeless Child

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Jan-2018 (2) – Dark Angel

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Feb-2018 (1) – Flashpoint

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Feb-2018 (2) – Ruthless

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.