ADVENT BOOK BLOG Feb-2018 (2) – Ruthless @gloriouscharlie @joffebooks #crimefiction

Today it is the turn of Ruthless by Charlie Gallagher on my ADVENT BOOK BLOG. This is a brilliant stand-alone story with a young female lead which makes it uniquely different. I loved this one.

Ruthless Cover jpg.jpgRUTHLESS by CHARLIE GALLAGHER

Available from: Amazon UK    Amazon US    Amazon Australia    Amazon Canada

What would you do to survive in a world of ruthless criminals and drug dealers? Decide for yourself in this gripping and gritty thriller. Written by a best-selling serving police detective.

This is Rhiannon’s story. She thinks she’s a good person but to stay alive in a very violent world she will be tested to the limit.

Will Dryden wakes to discover his girlfriend Janey is dead from an overdose. Without his friend and partner in crime, he has nothing left to lose.

Meanwhile, police are called to the scene of a car accident – date night gone tragically wrong for Melissa Cooper – and left to break the news to Mel’s teenage niece, Rhiannon. For Rhiannon, it’s a devastating loss. Now she’s on her own.

Will and Rhiannon’s paths cross. Rhiannon gets sucked into the world of the drug dealers and falls into the sights of Aaron – the gang leader. He has a point to prove and is unhappy that he isn’t getting the respect he wants. Aaron takes brutal revenge when the police start to close in on him.

Can Rhiannon stay alive and save herself and Will from the murderous Aaron? Who is ruthless enough to survive?

This pulsating crime thriller takes you on an adrenaline-packed ride with a shocking end.

Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

THE AUTHOR
Charlie Gallagher has been a serving UK police officer for ten years. During that time he has had many roles, starting as a front-line response officer, then a member of a specialist tactical team and is currently a detective investigating serious offences.

ALSO BY CHARLIE GALLAGHER
MISSING

LANGTHORNE POLICE SERIES
Book 1: BODILY HARM
Book 2: PANIC BUTTON
Book 3: BLOOD MONEY
Book 4: END GAME


My Review

I am a big fan of Charlie Gallagher and was looking forward to reading this stand-alone book.  I wasn’t disappointed and I have to say this book is very unique.  The story revolves around a 16 year old girl who has already dealt with a load of back luck and other problems that fate has thrown at her.   She is living with an Aunt, after escaping her alcoholic mother, when her aunt is killed in an RTA.  Alone again she is under the care of Social Services so she is perfectly safe right?

I absolutely love Rhiannon’s character.  She is a very believable character that builds depth throughout the book.  Instead of folding under all the misfortune that comes her way this feisty kid refuses to be cowed and determined to do the right thing she picks herself up dusts down and prepares to take down a drug ring.  A massive challenge for an adult but for a 16 year old you would think it is near on impossible.  Meet Rhiannon – 16 going on 36 brilliance personified.

Charlie has created a 16 year old that is exactly what a 16year old is from the language and actions to reactions.  He has perfectly found how to describe the mannerisms and personality I would expect of a girl that age who has seen far too much of the reality of alcohol addiction.

She becomes entangled in the lives of Drug dealers who are trying to take over the village where she is temporarily homed.  She is determined to save the alcoholic William and he in turn tries to save her they form a friendship but if Rhi is to save William she has a massive job on her hands without the help of the Drug dealers who think he shopped them to the police.

It is a fast paced thriller that keeps the pages turning as we are taken on a roller coaster ride with twists and turns a many and I didn’t have a clue how it was going to turn out.  If I thought it was fast paced at the beginning from about 75% the pace picks up and the adrenaline pumps as we are treated to a mind blowing conclusion you will not forsee.

One of the best books I have read this year and is definitely on my ‘Picks of 2018’ list.  Definitely worth the 5 stars and more.


ABOUT CHARLIE GALLAGHER

Charlie Gallagher has been a serving UK police officer for ten years. During that time he has had many roles, starting as a front-line response officer, then a member of a specialist tactical team and is currently a detective investigating serious offences.

www.writercharliegallagher.com/


You might also be interested in:

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Jan-2018 (1) – The Shoeless Child

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Jan-2018 (2) – Dark Angel

ADVENT BOOK BLOG Feb-2018 (1) – Flashpoint

Tomorrow it will be the turn of Low Lake by Gretta Mulrooney

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

recipeandaread.wordpress.com/

Come for the read. Stay for the food.

Brooklyn.the.bookworm

Book Reviews :)

Bookish Kimberly

anything bookish and coffee-ish

HayleyReviews10

There’s no such thing as too many books.

twirling pages

a literary + lifestyle blog

jillwrites

Author of Dual Visions & Vashla's World, also co-author of Fan-tas-tic-al Tales and Mystery, Mayhem & Magic as one of The Ten Penners, I write book reviews, articles and other interesting prose.

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

gemsbooknook

Bringing Book Reviews to the Readers of the World...

Awordseeker

Train of Thoughts

The Romance Corner

A Romance Book Blog

Books in My Baggage

A Book Blog | Start the habit of reading and realize what you can Learn from within ❤️

Mrsreadsbooks

For The Love of Books

The Reading Zone

I am a reader, a teacher, a writer, a thinker, a reviewer, and a dreamer of dreams.

Drew Martin Writes

I write. I create. It's that simple, yet so much more complex. Poetry, fiction, non-fiction, reviews.

Bee Books Beauty

Sharing my passions - books, wellness, beauty & nature

Reading Books With Coffee

Where My Love Of Coffee And My Love Of YA Intersect

Book Lover Kate

Kate; lover of books

The Book Lover's Boudoir

Inside the world of a bibliophile...

Oh Book It!

Book reviews and other bits and bobs

Kitty Marie's Reading Corner

book blogger & reviewer

Loisreadsbooks

Book reviews and more

Writerly Bookish Stuff

Avid tea drinker. Author. Book Reviewer.

Lili's Blissful Pages

I Read, I Watch, I Write

Romance Book Binge

A Blog About Romance Books

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Book Jotter

Reviews, news, features and all things books for passionate readers

This Writer's Life

Tips and Advice About Writing and Self-Publishing

Ashes Books & Bobs

Plenty of Books & a Few Bobs!

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Pat Adams-Wright Author

The power of the word never fails!

Hooked From Page One

Find your next crime fiction read here . . .

Jessica Belmont

Writer, Book Blogger & Chronic Pain Warrior

HERDING CATS

General ramblings of a busy person

Social Media Book Promotion

#blogtours #authorservices #launchparties #socialmedia

MEDICINE FOR ALL

medicine for all

inspire

Life is short to be wasted, write what you feel because regression is the worst feeling than fear

Thrills, Spills, and just a dash of Romance

One writer's experiences, and battles with words

DENTAL IMPLANTS CARE

Nepean Dental Implants, Australia

Adventure Travel Nepal

Nepal tour operator and trekking agent

Video Games Guide - PS Vita, PS3, Xbox , Wii - BestVideoGames.site

Video Games Guide - PS Vita, PS3, Xbox , Wii

Brian Gottesman

PUBLIC RELATIONS EXECUTIVE

%d bloggers like this: