BLOG TOUR WRAP UP – Buried Lies #DIMariner #Policeprocedural #detective #crimebook #blogtour @crime_crow @joffebooks

An ENORMOUS THANK YOU to all the brilliant #Bloggers on the #BlogTour for BURIED LIES by Chris Collett. Currently #4 on Amazon Australia – that is AWESOME and thanks to all the readers, bloggers and supporters out there who helped the book on its way. You really are the best: THANK YOU from Chris, Joffe Books and myself x

Read what the bloggers thought:

Ginger Book Geek

Chris Collett has done it again.  ‘Buried Lies’ is brilliantly written and I was gripped by the story from the moment I picked up the book to the moment I put it down having finished  reading it. Read more here


Linda Strong Book Reviews

Once again, this author has put together another exciting and suspenseful adventure of Tom Mariner. And once again, it was hard to put down for any length of time. Read more here


Sassy Redhead Book Reviews

I highly recommend all the books in the DI Mariner series, they are full of twists and always have me surprised by who the murderer is as well as the reason behind the crimes.  Read more here


Akamatra

When Tom is caught up in the middle of a murder (or two) things gets complicated and he becomes a suspect. Will he be able to find the real killer and free himself of the accusations? Read the book and find out!  Read more here


Joanna Larum’s Reviews

I found it a refreshing change and it left me with a huge appetite for the next one in the series which will be out soon. Personally, I cannot wait because I love Chris Collett’s gripping dramas, even though I never manage to work out ‘who dunnit’!  Read more here


Beth in a Box

If you love a quick action packed fast paced crime fiction novel, this is for you.  Read more here


On The Shelf Reviews

Buried Lies is an atmospheric and complex police procedural that draws you in and won’t let you go.  Read more here


Black Books Blog

The book did start a bit slower than usual and concentrated more on Mariner, but once the action picked up it didn’t slow down until the end.

This story was brilliant and I can’t wait to read the next one in the series.  Read more here


Musings of a tired mummy

The Quiet Geordie

Kelly’s. Thoughts On Things

Jade’s Journey


BURIED LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Available from Amazon UK Amazon US Amazon Australia

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner goes to the beautiful  Welsh countryside to recover. But he finds himself caught up in a murder investigation . . . with him as the prime suspect.

Grieving the death of his former lover, all Mariner wants is some peace and quiet. But his walking holiday is ruined by the discovery of a body in the woods.

The remote stone farmhouses of this beautiful valley hide many buried secrets.

As more bodies are discovered, can Mariner clear his name and avoid becoming the next victim?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery with an action-packed conclusion.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the sixth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD AND STONE.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7 coming soon


Author Bio

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Links

Website:  www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter: @crime_crow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

 

BLOG TOUR: Almost an Author

Almost an Author by Susan Tarr 

Available from AMAZON

When a chance meeting with a local publisher outside a small bookshop results in all three of her manuscripts being signed, Ruby Wright thinks she has it made. Already she sees images of herself wearing dark glasses, being mobbed by fans clamouring for her latest blockbuster… Little does Ruby know, but her ditsy publisher is a charlatan who has no more idea about publishing than Ruby does. Pretty soon Ruby is broke. She has no IT experience so depends heavily on her nerdy flatmate, Hunter, whenever her computer fails her. He has enough of his own issues to deal with—he is studying for his final law exams. She bribes him with a dog she found on the side of the road, then Panforte, which chips his tooth, and a couple of Axolotls until he finally gives in and helps her. But Ruby’s life is filled with disaster… What follows is excitement, disappointment, heartache, love and loss as we follow Ruby’s hilarious struggles to maintain her trust and focus in the ever-shifting publishing industry and in people in general.

My Review

Ruby is an author trying to make her way in the minefield that is publishing. She meets up with Barbara by chance outside a bookshop. I haven’t decided if Barbara is a wannabe agent or a con woman out to rip off struggling authors. Either way what follows is a rocky road of twists and turns, laughter and tears. Ruby is a likeable character although very scatty and her life is a car crash as she pings from one thing to another to try to make ends meet while still finding time to write. She rents a room to Hunter to help with the bills. Hunter is very nerdy and unreliable and tends to go AWOL with no notice. During one of Hunter’s absenses Ruby moves next door to James. Enter another weirdo to make up the threesome (oops I forgot the strange dog that fell off the back of a lorry). This is an amusing book that keeps the reader turning the pages. It is marketed as romantic comedy but if you are looking for steamy sex scenes and lovey dovey you will be disappointed. This is more loving friendship and learning to live with each others quirky behaviour. A really good read to cuddle up in bed with
 

 

 

Author Bio

 Susan Tarr has been writing for 25 years, drawing on her international travels, work within the NZ tourism industry, and her work in various psychiatric hospitals within New Zealand. She lived in Kenya, East Africa, for some years where she began her family. Although she writes from personal experience, she also uses anecdotal information from conversations and other peoples’ stories, resulting in her characters taking on a life of their own and becoming larger than life. She enjoys a wide variety of personalities. Susan says, “As I write their stories, my characters will often lead me to places I couldn’t imagine. So I relax and let them form as they will. I am passionate about my writing and I usually have three books on the go at any one time.”
 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: