BLOG TOUR WRAP UP: Baby Lies by Chris Collett

THANK YOU very much to the amazing #bloggers on the #blogtour for #babylies by Chris Collett.  You helped this book get to the top 50 on Amazon UK and that is down to you guys – you rock.

Thanks you

Black Books Blog

We are with Tom as he investigates the kidnapping and trying to work out the reasons why she was taken in the first place, along with the other storylines that are running in the background alongside this, and find out things at the same time, which makes for a very interesting and engaging read.  Read more here


Joanna Larum’s Reviews

As always, Chris Collett keeps the reader enthralled all the way through the book. There are many twists and turns in the plot which the author skilfully weaves amongst the personal storylines, never veering too far from the main story but expanding the reader’s knowledge of the whole.  Read more here


Jen Med’s Book Reviews

The team’s digging links cases from the present and the past, enabling them to close an old murder case along the way. With his personal life falling apart he still feels a sense of responsibility to one of the girls he encounters at the beginning of the book.


Linda Strong Book Reviews

The themes of child abduction, baby sales, and white slavery keep the reader glued to the pages. It’s fun to watch the police procedural play out .. one question, one clue at a time.  Read more here


Ginger Book Geek

To say that I enjoyed reading this book is a massive understatement.  The story hit the ground running and maintained the pace throughout.  Read more here


Donna’s Book Blog

I  do like the character of Tom Mariner and he bring a lot of personal baggage with him that I think makes him a more rounded character with some depth.  He works really well with the team he has and I really like their interaction.  Read more here


Nicki’s Life of Crime

I did enjoy the investigation parts of this well written thriller,I liked the sympathetic police team,there was some unexpected twists,The story kept the reader guessing and was heart breaking at times and also thought provoking.  Read more here


Beth in a Box

Chris Collett’s Baby Lies gets a 5/5 from me today.  It was a gripping story, full of twists and turns that kept me guessing until the very end.  Read more here


Mystery Thriller Week

Author Chris Collett expertly crafts a dazzling plot and delivers on every page.  Read more here


J V Baptie

A good, solid novel which delivers what it promises. I’ll look out for more from Chris Collett in the future.  Read more here


Sassy Redhead Book Reviews


baby lies cover JPG.jpg

BABY LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Six-week-old baby Jessica is abducted from a local nursery. And Detective Tom Mariner realises he’s not going to get the time-off he was hoping for.

The police get a good description of the woman who took Jessica, but the appeal to the public doesn’t generate a single lead.

Then the kidnapper calls demanding money for Jessica’s safe return . . . and a terrible discovery is made in the woods.

Can Mariner get to bottom of a complex case which involves much more than a child abduction?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fourth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD MONEY.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Books 5-7 coming soon


My Review


Chris Collett author photo jpgChris Collett – Author Bio

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s