BLOG TOUR: Baby Lies by Chris Collett

Today it is my stop on the #blogtour and I am pleased to share with you my #review of this brilliant addition to the Tom Mariner series. I couldnt put this down it is a stunningly gripping read.

What readers are saying:

“Fast paced and full of twists and turns.” Barbara
“Read in virtually one sitting it’s a must read for all crime fans.” Greta
“A really brilliant detective mystery.” Viv
“Keep the reader glued to the pages.” Linda Strong

baby lies cover JPG.jpgBABY LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Available from:  Amazon US     Amazon UK     Amazon Australia     Amazon Canada

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Six-week-old baby Jessica is abducted from a local nursery. And Detective Tom Mariner realises he’s not going to get the time-off he was hoping for.

The police get a good description of the woman who took Jessica, but the appeal to the public doesn’t generate a single lead.

Then the kidnapper calls demanding money for Jessica’s safe return . . . and a terrible discovery is made in the woods.

Can Mariner get to bottom of a complex case which involves much more than a child abduction?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fourth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD MONEY.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Books 5-7 coming soon


My Review

This is book 5 in the DI Tom Mariner series but they do work very well as stand alone.  Chris makes a brilliant job of ensuring the readers who have not read the earlier books are not at a disadvantage while not repeating great chunks of previous books to bore the readers who have.

There are several different stories running through the book as we are taken on an adrenaline pumping ride through the work of Tom and his team.  Tom Mariner is dedicated to his job and is very much a team player who leads his team without being authoritarian.  He encourages team members to follow their instincts with complete support and in return he earns complete loyalty.

The story will pull at the heart strings of any mother as the story begins with the abduction of a baby.  Who has taken the baby and why?  There appear to be no clues as the team struggle to find something to lead them forward.  There is a personal element to the lives of all the characters as we learn of their problems.

This is an excellent book that has the reader turning page after page as we try to work out what is going on and what has the death of an unidentified woman got to do with it?  Who is she and why has nobody missed her in all this time?  Will Tom and his team be able to untangle the web of lies and deceit?

This is a brilliant read that will appeal to readers of crime fiction and is well worth the  stars.  I am eagerly awaiting the next book in this brilliant series.


Chris Collett author photo jpgChris Collett – Author Bio

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s