THANK YOU BLOGGERS YOU ARE THE BEST

#BLOGGERS You are all awesome. We cant thank you enough for all your help with the #blogtour for INNOCENT LIES. You really are the best. Jill, Chris and Joffe Books
Thanks

Black Books Blog

All through the book I was trying to work out how the two cases could possibly be linked and I could only come up with two options, of which one was correct, but I couldn’t work out who and done it and how all the way through until the final reveal.  Read more here


Sassy Redhead Book Reviews

The two young people are from very different backgrounds: Yasmin is the talented, grammar-school-educated daughter of devout Muslim professionals. Ricky disappears after storming out of his council house after an argument with his mum’s latest boyfriend. Read more here


Linda Strong Book Reviews

This is second in a series and does well as a stand alone. Full of twists and turns, this crime thriller is well written and highly suspenseful. There are lots of different characters, but the author has done a bang up job of keeping them easy fit into the story.  Read more here


Short Book and Scribes

#guestpost Read more


Ginger Book Geek

In short I absolutely loved reading ‘Innocent Lies’ and I can’t wait to read more from the D.I Tom Mariner series.  In the meantime I will go and accidentally on purpose buy ‘Deadly Lies’ so I can see how the series began.  I would recommend this series to anyone.  I award this book a solid 5* out of 5*.  Read more here


Donna’s Book Blog

This is the second book in the series and I have to say that I am most definitely enjoying the series so far! The plot in the book is well thought through and the characters are developed and work really well together to make the book so good.  Read more here


On the Shelf Reviews

It felt a little weird reading a story set during a heatwave, especially as right now it’s bloody freezing! But this is a good solid police procedural. It’s not exactly edge of your seat suspense and frankly the first half of the book was a little bit slow, but the mystery kept me hooked throughout.  Read more here


Turn the Page Blog

#guestpost Read more


A Bookaholic’s Utopia

As usual well plotted story with easygoing language which is good enough to create suspense and demanding attention of the reader.  Read more here



Cover jpg.jpgINNOCENT LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Available from: Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon Canada Amazon Australia Amazon Germany Amazon France

Do you like police procedurals with great characters and real grit?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

Two teenagers go missing on the same day. Just a coincidence?

The two young people are from very different backgrounds: Yasmin is the talented, grammar-school-educated daughter of devout Muslim professionals. Ricky disappears after storming out of his council house after an argument with his mum’s latest boyfriend.

DI Mariner knows Ricky’s mother from his days in uniform. He is furious when his superiors take him off Ricky’s case and reassign him to the more politically sensitive investigation. The press — and his bosses — are convinced that Yasmin’s disappearance is a racially motivated abduction. The Akrams have been the target of a far right group.

But Mariner soon discovers that Yasmin is far from the innocent victim her parents think she is. Can he get to the bottom of a perplexing case where no one is what they seem?

Find out the answers in this crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the second book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD OF THE INNOCENTS.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
More coming soon!

PRAISE FOR MARINER
I really couldn’t put it down’ Raw Edge Magazine

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character. This is a fitting follow-up to her debut and reassures the crime fan that the police procedural is in safe hands. More, please’ Yorkshire Post


My Review


Chris Collett - author picAuthor Bio

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter:  @CrimeCrow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s