BLOG TOUR: Innocent Lies by Chris Collett

INNOCENT LIES by Chris Collett

There are many twists and turns as the story progresses and the teams put the clues together to reach a conclusion that nobody is expecting.

Available from: Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon Canada Amazon Australia Amazon Germany Amazon France

Cover jpg.jpgINNOCENT LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Do you like police procedurals with great characters and real grit?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

Two teenagers go missing on the same day. Just a coincidence?

The two young people are from very different backgrounds: Yasmin is the talented, grammar-school-educated daughter of devout Muslim professionals. Ricky disappears after storming out of his council house after an argument with his mum’s latest boyfriend.

DI Mariner knows Ricky’s mother from his days in uniform. He is furious when his superiors take him off Ricky’s case and reassign him to the more politically sensitive investigation. The press — and his bosses — are convinced that Yasmin’s disappearance is a racially motivated abduction. The Akrams have been the target of a far right group.

But Mariner soon discovers that Yasmin is far from the innocent victim her parents think she is. Can he get to the bottom of a perplexing case where no one is what they seem?

Find out the answers in this crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the second book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD OF THE INNOCENTS.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
More coming soon!

PRAISE FOR MARINER
I really couldn’t put it down’ Raw Edge Magazine

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character. This is a fitting follow-up to her debut and reassures the crime fan that the police procedural is in safe hands. More, please’ Yorkshire Post


My Review

This is book 2 in the DI Mariner series that is being republished by Joffe Books.  Some advances have been made since this book was written so I am starting my review with the Author’s note:

This is the second mystery featuring Tom Mariner. It is set in the early 2000s, when the internet was in its infancy, mobile phones had yet to evolve into smart phones, and people still read print newspapers.

The story begins with 2 separate cases of missing teenagers.  One is known to Tom Mariner and comes from a difficult background the other case is a an asian girl from an affluent background.  Tom has a ‘new’ superior officer for this book and we immediately pick up on the bad vibes between the 2 men.  Fiske is after brownie points and immediately orders Tom to concentrate on the Asian girl and passes the other case to another team.

As the book progresses at a steady pace the intrigue builds as many different pieces of the jigsaw are uncovered.  Interlaced with the case are the personal issues affecting some members of the team.

Tom Mariner is a very ‘human’ character and cares about his team and their happiness.  He is developing well over the series and I like him, and the other members of the team, very much.  I am a little unsure about the relationship Tom has with Anna.

There are many twists and turns as the story progresses and the teams put the clues together to reach a conclusion that nobody is expecting.

A very good read and I am looking forward to book 3.


Chris Collett - author picAuthor Bio

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter:  @CrimeCrow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s