DEADLY LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Available from www.amazon.co.uk   www.amazon.co.uk

‘The book starts at a steady pace and picks up speed as the adrenaline starts pumping and we are taken on a rocky ride through a fast paced story full of twists and turns and an ending that will leave the reader in total shock. ‘

#ditommariner #deadlylies #blogtour @joffebooks @crime_crow

CoverBook Description

Discover a new detective in a tough city. DI Tom Mariner thinks he’s seen it all, but now he faces an investigation which will push him to his limits.

Journalist Eddie Barham is found dead in his home. A syringe in his arm and a note by his side reading, ‘No More.’

Open and shut case of suicide? Not for DI Mariner. Hours before, he saw Barham picking up a prostitute in a bar. Mariner discovers Barham’s younger brother, Jamie, hiding in a cupboard under the stairs.

Jamie must have witnessed his brother’s death, but his severe autism makes communication almost impossible. Mariner is determined to connect with Jamie and get to the truth. And is the journalist’s death related to his investigation of a local crime kingpin?

What other dark secrets does Jamie hold the key to and can Mariner keep his relationship professional with Barham’s attractive sister, Anna?

In a nail-biting conclusion Mariner races against time to prevent more lives being lost.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the first book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVES

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

Police Constable Tony Knox has recently transferred to the West Midlands force and finds himself back in uniform following an undisclosed transgression. A scouser with the gift of the gab, and an irrepressible ladies’ man, Knox is initially wary of the inscrutable DI Mariner, but, when a need arises, is grateful for his unquestioning support and the lack of curiosity about his personal life.

PRAISE FOR MARINER
I really couldn’t put it down’ Raw Edge Magazine

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character. This is a fitting follow-up to her debut and reassures the crime fan that the police procedural is in safe hands. More, please’ Yorkshire Post


My Review

This is book 1 in the DI Mariner series and has been republished. Some advances have been made since this book was written which should be taken into account.

The story begins with DI Tom Mariner witnessing a disagreement between a Bikey and a young woman. By sheer coincidence he later sees the same vehicle outside a house with a door that it slightly ajar. The investigative side sends him to have a closer look and there he finds a dead body with all the markings of an overdose by a druggie. This brings him to meet Knox and there begins a strange relationship as Tom offers the constable a port in a storm in the shape of his spare room.

As the duo begin investigating the death they become entangled in the lives of Anna and Jamie. Jamie is autistic and was cared for by Eddie (the dead bikey). It soon becomes clear that the death was murder rather than suicide and this sets in motion a sequence of events which sees Mariner and Knox frantically searching for clues among the tangled web of lies and deceit.

Tom Mariner is an interesting character and builds in depth gradually through the course of the book to a well defined man with issues to work through. I love his character. Knox is a bit brash and insensitive but he works well against the more refined and compassionate character of Mariner.

Anna has her life turned upside down as she becomes the carer for autistic Jamie following the death of her brother. This changes her priorities and by default costs her her relationship and career as she learns how demanding Jamie is. I love how her character develops as she learns to love Jamie and this causes a softening of her personality.

I loved this book it has a lot of issues to think about and is full of twists and turns all the way through as the investigation uncovers the reasons behind Eddie’s murder this causes Anna and Jamie to come under threat as a cover up starts to become unveiled.

The book starts at a steady pace and picks up speed as the adrenaline starts pumping and we are taken on a rocky ride through a fast paced story full of twists and turns and an ending that will leave the reader in total shock. Awesome book I cant wait for more. Well worth the 5 stars.


Chris Collett - author picAuthor Bio:

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

One thought on “BLOG TOUR – Deadly Lies by Chris Collett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s