BLOG TOUR: Lies that Poison by Amanda Fleet


About the Book

Do you love psychological thrillers? Discover a new writer who will have you gripped from start to finish. This is a novel with a stunning twist that you won’t see coming. 
When Tom Bowman moves to a pretty Yorkshire village to start a new business, he meets two women who will change his life.  
Alys is a young woman with a troubled past, including an abusive boyfriend. She says she doesn’t want another man, but a relationship soon develops between her and Tom. 
Tom’s other neighbour is Hannah, an elderly woman who is often confused between past and present. 50 years ago, her sister died tragically young. Now, she sometimes thinks that Tom is the man who was to blame. 
Hannah hates Alys, and warns Tom that he is in great danger from the woman he’s falling in love with. 
Who should he believe and who is poisoning his mind with lies? 
In a pulsating conclusion, Tom will face a heartbreaking choice with the potential to shatter everything he has built. 
Perfect for readers who love C. L. Taylor, Ruth Ware or Clare Mackintosh. 

My Review

I found this to be a different type of thriller to my usual. There is usually some investigative element either a PI or Police and I felt a bit lost without it.

Tom is recovering from a broken heart and an accident and moves to the village to build a business and a new life. His character builds throughout the book but I felt it was missing some depth.

Alys is also trying to make a new life albeit one built on lies. As Alys and Tom are drawn together they try to work their way through a difficult relationship as they each try to move past the bad decisions they have made.

Hannah is an old lady who is beginning to confuse past with present. This is made worse because Tom bears a striking resemblance to a man that caused her family a lot of pain. Out of all the characters I really loved Hannah I thought she was realistic and I built a picture in my mind.
People are inclined to think the elderly are doddery old fools but in reality that is usually far from the truth despite appearances. This character captured that perfectly.

Hannah becomes convinced Alys is responsible for several deaths and has been doing some digging but can she convince Tom she is right?

The book moves along at a steady pace and it is pretty clear (or it was to me) what the outcome was going to be. There is a good attempt at a curve ball ending but it didn’t quite work for me.

Thank you to Joffe Books and Netgalley for the advance copy.

Amanda Fleet author photoAuthor Bio

Amanda Fleet is a physiologist by training and a writer at heart. She spent 18 years teaching science and medicine undergraduates at St Andrews University, but now uses her knowledge to work out how to kill people (in her books!). She completed her first degree at St Andrews University and her doctorate at University College, London.  
She has been an inveterate stationery addict since a child, amassing a considerable stash of fountain pens, ink and notebooks during her lifetime. These have thankfully come in useful, as she tends to write rather than type, at least in the early stages of writing a book. 
During her time at St Andrews, she was involved with two Scottish Government funded projects, working with the College of Medicine in Blantyre, Malawi. While in Malawi, she learned about the plight of the many street children there and helped to set up a Community Based Organisation that works with homeless Malawian children to support them through education and training – Chimwemwe Children’s Centre. It was this experience that helped to shape the Malawian aspects in her first novel, The Wrong Kind of Clouds. 
Amanda lives in Scotland with her husband, where she can be found writing, walking and running. The Wrong Kind of Clouds is her début novel and was published by Matador in early 2016. 


One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s