*** BLOG TOUR OPPORTUNITY ***

Is anyone able to help with a stop on the Blog Tour for The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh, 2nd or 3rd October?  I would, ideally, like review stops but I do have a content stop available.

Email me at jill.burkinshaw@outlook.com if you are able to help.

Many thanks, Jill

THE BAD SISTER by Anne Penketh

Cover.jpgMURDER, LIES, AND FAMILY . . .

DI Sam Clayton is called to a murder scene in Holt, not expecting to find his estranged sister at the scene. Her husband, Henry Lambton, has been murdered. Clayton is taken off the case and DS Julie Everett continues the investigation.

Clayton focuses on a vicious arson attack in Norwich. The fire killed a Polish family in their home. It seems to be part of a series of racist attacks connected to an extremist group.

The two crimes stretch the team and both come dangerously close to home. And can Clayton forgive his sister for what happened over twenty years ago?

In a thrilling conclusion, they race against time to prevent more attacks and get justice for their loved and not so loved ones.

THE BAD SISTER is the second in a new series of page-turning crime thrillers set in an atmospheric part of Norfolk. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Mel Sherratt, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE TEAM
Detective Inspector Sam Clayton leads the investigation into the North Norfolk murders, joined the police straight from school as a beat bobby in Manchester before rising through the ranks of the CID. He was transferred to Norwich after being promoted to DI following a high-profile case investigated by Lancashire Constabulary.

Detective Sergeant Neil Pringle lives with his third wife in Norwich, where he was born. But taking care of his two sons with his wife Megan, and two other children with previous wives, has put his finances under strain. He never misses a chance to shine in hopes of securing promotion, and can’t help showing off his local knowledge to colleagues.

Detective Sergeant Julie Everett is an intuitive officer who was promoted to detective sergeant from her home town of Ipswich where she had a background in child protection. She is discreet about her personal life among colleagues, particularly about the tragedy which haunts her. She has to deal with a high-pressure job while raising her child who moved with her to Norwich.

 

BLOG TOUR: Locked Up by Gail Williams

Locked Up by Gail Williams

Available from: www.amazon.co.uk  www.amazon.com www.amazon.ca

@bloodhoundbook #lockedup #blogtour #5stars #bookreview

‘It makes for very hard reading in places and takes the reader on a journey through many emotions as we navigate the twists, turns and dead ends that is this book.’

attachmentBOOK DESCRIPTION:

A prison officer and a convicted killer must work together to solve a brutal murder and expose conspiracy inside a prison.

Ariadne Teddington is surrounded by people who lie but that is to be expected when you work in prison where every man claims to be innocent.

Charlie Bell, an ex Detective, now finds himself in that prison serving time for murder after having taken the law into his own hands.

When a fellow inmate is killed Charlie is asked to investigate the case from the inside. Soon Charlie finds himself working with Ariande but she is a guard, he is an inmate and some lines should never be crossed…

Can two people on different sides of the law come together to solve the case?

And do the answers lie closer to home than anyone ever imagined?


MY REVIEW

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars

The book begins with Charlie, an ex-detective, who has been sentenced to prison for killing somebody and is waiting for parole. At first I thought it was another ‘I am in prison because….’ book. However, it soon becomes clear that it is so much more. An inmate is brutally murdered and a guard, secretly, asks Charlie to help and so begins a bumpy journey through life, relationships and violence to a very dramatic and unexpected conclusion.

Charlie is a very likeable character who trashed his life to make the streets a little bit safer. He didn’t realise that sacrifice would come back at him in a tragic way. Teddington is a prison officer who loves her job, She is well liked by the inmates and develops an attraction to Charlie she is unable to control.

This is a very realistic picture of what real life is like inside a prison with no sugar coating. It makes for very hard reading in places and takes the reader on a journey through many emotions as we navigate the twists, turns and dead ends that is this book.

I will definitely be reading more from this author.


Gail WiliamsAUTHOR BIO:

After being made redundant in 2012, GB started taking her life-long passion for writing more seriously and looking to sell her work. Specialising in complex, fast-paced crime novels, she started writing the Locked Series in 2014, and has been working to polish and perfect since – not to mention – sell.

GB was shortlisted for the 2014 CWA Margery Allingham Short Story Competition with the story Last Shakes, now available in Last Cut Casebook. She is also a feature writer and comic book reviewer on http://www.warpedfactor.com. Crime novels are her stock in trade, but she has had success with short stories in various genres including steampunk, horror, erotica and general fiction.

With bills to pay, she’s back working as a systems architect by day, a freelance fiction editor and keen writer of an evening and weekend. GB really needs to learn to sleep.

Originally from Kent, GB moved to South Wales as a supposed first step on a year around the world. Then she met a guy. Kept the guy, kissed the travel goodbye. Knowing that the best way to travel is by book anyway, she has always read, always written. GB now has two grown-up children, the world’s most imperious cat, a house full of books and a hard drive full of manuscripts (though some will never be allowed out of a locked basement).

Twitter: @GailBWilliams

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gail-Williams/261748000603425

Blog: https://thewriteroute.wordpress.com/

Website: https://www.gailbwilliams.co.uk

Email: info@gailbwilliams.co.uk DESCRIPSION

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: